Bill allowing police to collect DNA from more people passed as MPs sound privacy, security concerns

SGMCF328

Those who like to watch Japanese educational video, don't keep or reproduce them, else if caught, your DNA data will be collected legally liao. The same for drink and drive offender.

Source: https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/police-dna-crime-privacy-security-2933231

Parliament on Monday (Sep 12) passed a draft law that widens the scope under which police can collect DNA from people under arrest, after Members of Parliament debated the privacy and security concerns surrounding this.

Under the Bill, more crimes will be added to a list for which DNA can be collected from suspects, a move the Government had argued will improve the police’s ability to solve crimes. The current practice of restricting DNA collection to a list of registrable crimes has resulted in a smaller DNA database, said the Government.

Registrable crimes comprise more serious offences like murder, rape, and robbery as well as other offences like shop theft, molestation and cheating.

The Bill will now allow police to collect and store DNA from those arrested for "eligible" crimes like voluntarily causing hurt, drink driving and reproducing obscene films. Eligible crimes, considered more serious, are those that are imprisonable and not compoundable under any written law.

The DNA information can be used for criminal investigations, forensic comparison with other DNA information, and for criminal proceedings.

The Bill will also allow the information to be used to identify a dead individual, and for any investigations and inquiries into a death. It can also be used to identify an individual, who is otherwise unidentified or unable to identify himself.

20220801-collecting-dna.png

35 minutes ago, SGMCF328 said:

Those who like to watch Japanese educational video, don't keep or reproduce them, else if caught, your DNA data will be collected legally liao. The same for drink and drive offender.

Source: https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/police-dna-crime-privacy-security-2933231

Parliament on Monday (Sep 12) passed a draft law that widens the scope under which police can collect DNA from people under arrest, after Members of Parliament debated the privacy and security concerns surrounding this.

Under the Bill, more crimes will be added to a list for which DNA can be collected from suspects, a move the Government had argued will improve the police’s ability to solve crimes. The current practice of restricting DNA collection to a list of registrable crimes has resulted in a smaller DNA database, said the Government.

Registrable crimes comprise more serious offences like murder, rape, and robbery as well as other offences like shop theft, molestation and cheating.

The Bill will now allow police to collect and store DNA from those arrested for "eligible" crimes like voluntarily causing hurt, drink driving and reproducing obscene films. Eligible crimes, considered more serious, are those that are imprisonable and not compoundable under any written law.

The DNA information can be used for criminal investigations, forensic comparison with other DNA information, and for criminal proceedings.

The Bill will also allow the information to be used to identify a dead individual, and for any investigations and inquiries into a death. It can also be used to identify an individual, who is otherwise unidentified or unable to identify himself.

20220801-collecting-dna.png

The robbery illustration looks like he is clearing rubbish leh. This is fine right? :grin:

image.png.5a61daaf9deb9c4a48735ed1d9413efb.png

• Haha! 11

5 hours ago, Jamesc said:

How they collect? 

They put you in a small room with adult educational videos and KY jelly and a young pretty nurse to help you?

I thought DNA sample can just be collected by plucking your hair..??

6 hours ago, Blueray said:

my friend asking why the pictures are not gender neutral.

for eg, nowadays got women cheat men also tio boh ? 

The graphic shows no consideration for LGBTQ+ too, men making obscene videos of other men [laugh]

I understand that having a dna/fingerprint sample library of established criminals will help with swift identification of culprits for future crimes.

What I don't comprehend is how will the DNA/Fingerprint of someone who distributed adult educational videos be matched to another scene of crime in the future? 

Are they saying that a person who distributed adult educational videos are likely to progress to rape/robbery? 

1 hour ago, DOBIEMKZ said:

I thought DNA sample can just be collected by plucking your hair..??

Just a buccal swab will do lah.... Can you please don't sarbo bald or balding guys? You know how precious that few strands of hair are? 

Edited by Vratenza

6 hours ago, Turboflat4 said:

This is governmental overreach, plain and simple. But civil rights here are a joke so what's new? 

Gotta pass all the shitty laws plus hike gst now to ensure clean slate for 4G to pretend to be good cop mah

Next GE too late already lol

7 hours ago, Jamesc said:

Young men that watch adult educational videos produce lots of DNA.

Should be no problem collecting.

I believe some here everyday also got sample ready...😁

37 minutes ago, mersaylee said:

I believe some here everyday also got sample ready...😁

Samples are everywhere, why need to watch video neh?😅  :

"...Where Can DNA Samples Be Taken From?

DNA samples can be taken from drinking glasses, cigarette butts, food with bite marks, bite marks on the skin, and more. You can also swab commonly-touched surfaces, such as computer keyboards, door knobs, steering wheels, eyeglasses, and countertops...."

https://blog.puritanmedproducts.com/how-to-collect-dna-evidence