Short trip to see autumn leaves in US and Canada

steveluv

You should drop by A&W, grab some of their mugs...

Or go into a shop and get some "Pain" haha - it's French...

When we arrived in Montreal we headed straight for late lunch at Chinatown as we were looking for spicy food

5PIzyPd.jpg

The restaurant
0sDSW1I.jpg

kcGMG6V.jpg

Beer
bdAyR06.jpg

Spicy stir fry pork belly 
YfkXH7b.jpg

Beef
jJDX39z.jpg

Long beans
iKqNJ2U.jpg

Mapu tofu
GhelpeW.jpg

0xkqE50.jpg

Montreal do have an Old Montreal like Quebec went there nothing much to see really.

My hotel is walking distance to Chinatown so I went there for Vietnamnese Pho on the second night

8b6Ml1X.jpg

Yz9ISkx.jpg

hL0sxqm.jpg

Its the eve of China's national day so some commies were there to decorate

hL0sxqm.jpg

1Lzdiw7.jpg

Crowded restanrant
t8w3Jlo.jpg

LBuhV2e.jpg

Have to say its pretty authentic
C90nscA.jpg

Took Uber from Manhattan to JFK, costs US$124 with tips I paid US$137
gLc2EEd.jpg

Checking in
ZPjItvf.jpg

The lounge in JFK is hmmmmmmmmm . . . . . . such sorry lounge

Anyway I will post the rest of the photos later

29 minutes ago, steveluv said:

gLc2EEd.jpg

Checking in
ZPjItvf.jpg

So you are going home liao?

22 minutes ago, 13177 said:

So you are going home liao?

Miss my dogs badly. Looking forward to spicy food in Bangkok. Glad to be going home.

RYIlRWx.jpg

A6evMjU.jpg

21 hours ago, steveluv said:

525904563_USACANADAPost.thumb.jpg.ef85023512608e54a1f0a0283dbb66fe.jpg

Yeah lor... 18 days leh... but seems like you move about quite a bit... I see a number of one day stays... a bit stressful if you ask me... hehehe...

21 hours ago, steveluv said:

So it was our first time in Canada and Quebec of course, kind of strange for us to see everything in French like we're in Europe hahahaha

Nice experience in McDonalds (in french)

If9VWPG.jpg

ro163gq.jpg

vDqxug2.jpg

McGriddles never seen this before

K6OcdTD.jpg

Hai.... their Mac's seems like much better standard that ours... our Mac's used to be some sorry looking mush of a burger... this is especially so now for the regular burgers and not the premium ones...

8 hours ago, steveluv said:

gLc2EEd.jpg

Checking in
ZPjItvf.jpg

All US airports are in such sorry state... they simply can't get their act together to spend their billions to make them more pleasant... whatever I suppose...

This is one very good Chinese restaurant in Toronto
BOWRrSV.jpg

Very crowded so must be very popular
NQ36TUx.jpg

EUICZU3.jpg

XAnnstq.jpg

Cantonese soup
dehs2yP.jpg

Lobster noodle (ee mee) is so so delicious 
PEf5kA2.jpg

mOtoi2X.jpg

YTRAkXy.jpg

There were 2 lobsters in this dish
a9HIXrt.jpg

Clams
DZZTOwl.jpg

Long beans
TI0Zhg5.jpg

Dinner
FbnCTka.jpg

Green beans dessert
4WHPak7.jpg

We love this restaurant so much that we went again the second night 

HpC6Shg.jpg

Boiled chicken
Qx4He4O.jpg

Fish porridge
zZZ5MYG.jpg

Chunky fish is very fresh
cSkzd5f.jpg

Guangzhou noodle
LBmv0aV.jpg

Chicken tofu
YlyzH7V.jpg

Ginger crab
2llHUlz.jpg

Dinner
7oGsg7l.jpg

39 minutes ago, steveluv said:

This is one very good Chinese restaurant in Toronto
BOWRrSV.jpg

Very crowded so must be very popular
NQ36TUx.jpg

EUICZU3.jpg

XAnnstq.jpg

Cantonese soup
dehs2yP.jpg

Lobster noodle (ee mee) is so so delicious 
PEf5kA2.jpg

mOtoi2X.jpg

YTRAkXy.jpg

There were 2 lobsters in this dish
a9HIXrt.jpg

Clams
DZZTOwl.jpg

Long beans
TI0Zhg5.jpg

Dinner
FbnCTka.jpg

Green beans dessert
4WHPak7.jpg

Oooo... lobster noodles seems to be a thing with the Chinese diaspora in ang mo country... my parents had this also in Adelaide some years back... was a treat by my relatives... $300 one plate... what was your damage?

2 hours ago, teomingern said:

Oooo... lobster noodles seems to be a thing with the Chinese diaspora in ang mo country... my parents had this also in Adelaide some years back... was a treat by my relatives... $300 one plate... what was your damage?

As I mentioned it’s 2 lobsters in that noodle - Canadian $45 for that plate I was shocked. That meal with a bottle of red wine costs only CAD 135 before tips.  Cheap even for Singapore standard I guess.

6 hours ago, steveluv said:

As I mentioned it’s 2 lobsters in that noodle - Canadian $45 for that plate I was shocked. That meal with a bottle of red wine costs only CAD 135 before tips.  Cheap even for Singapore standard I guess.

By any standard that is cheap...