Johor man, 44, wins S$9.83 million M'sia lottery but plans to continue working in S'pore

Fitvip

36 minutes ago, Arogab said:

He intend to continue to work here cos he knows he will need to put the money in SGD and keep here. Later 1:4, he will have more money😂

He will have send out like small amounts to SG , Bank Negara will ask a lot of questions one if I remember correctly; even legit transactions    

3 minutes ago, BanCoe said:

He will have send out like small amounts to SG , Bank Negara will ask a lot of questions one if I remember correctly; even legit transactions    

Normal to ask a lot.  Part of KYC process ma.

But money into Malaysia will be difficult to get out.

16 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Normal to ask a lot.  Part of KYC process ma.

But money into Malaysia will be difficult to get out.

i remember it was something like Rm10K ......... so he has to definetely use money changers method to "alibaba" 

1 hour ago, Ct3833 said:

I dont know, I have low expectation in life,  if I won $9mil, I will retire and enjoy life. Simi buy properties collect rent,  open business and hire people to run. For what? money never enough.  😄😄

Ok enough yadaing, now get back to work to earn my lunch😅😅

No la, even won $9 mil, i will still continue to work, but take it easy lo. Esp if working in office job, sure can continue to work. No work is bad for health, stay at home is lagi bad for health. Go work still can gossip gossip with colleagues, and can see xmm and OL outside. Lol.

22 minutes ago, BanCoe said:

if i remember correctly you can send or take ringgit out of malaysia but if it is 10000 then you have to fill in forms or declarations .. so this guy can take out 9900 every day .. 

oh wait .. maybe thats why he wants to continue working .. to travel out of malaysia every day ..

just put 5m in fixed D

now fixed D rate about 2.5%

that's 125k interest per year

or 10k per mth

more than enough to live comfy liao... no need collect rental also can lah 😁

33 minutes ago, Scion said:

just put 5m in fixed D

or 10k per mth

No wonder many people grow their money thru fixed D.

1 hour ago, Wt_know said:

i agree one should be prudence but at age 44 liao and got almost $10M 

no need to stretch so much la ...

still travel jb <> sg daily to work .... bike?

sekali kena accident and up lorry ... for what?

the logic is to leave even more money for the kids....😁

7 minutes ago, 13177 said:

No wonder many people grow their money thru fixed D.

but ... must put 5M leh ...

$50K ... give 10% interest also cannot survive

as saying goes ... first pot of gold ... the first $1M is the toughest ... 

then money can make money ... sup sup water .... :grin:

2 hours ago, Wt_know said:

i agree one should be prudence but at age 44 liao and got almost $10M 

no need to stretch so much la ...

still travel jb <> sg daily to work .... bike?

sekali kena accident and up lorry ... for what?

Yeah, s$10mil for this chap must mean a lot.  He definitely can stop work, improve his lifestyle moderately and fully retire in Malaysia.

1 hour ago, Scion said:

just put 5m in fixed D

or 10k per mth

$10k per month?

🤦🏻‍♂️

cannot lah.  Unless single. Not married no kids

Edited by Throttle2

2 hours ago, BanCoe said:

That's why he need to work in SG, everyday on his motorbike carry 1 stack out😂

2 hours ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

I will buy the company i work in😆

Small company value around $9.8 million.... [sly]

A 30 m/sq Singapore Pool Booth selling TOTO, 4-D, Football betting and Big Sweep. :XD:

Edited by Picnic06-Biante15

Happy for this guy and glad to hear that he has a plan for his wealth. Actually not easy for everyday salaryman to handle a sudden big windfall. Takes alot of discipline and planning to sustain or even grow the wealth. I've seen ppl natural instinct is to spend lavishly and only realise too late that they're back to square one 😵

Edited by Jellandross

47 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

but ... must put 5M leh ...

$50K ... give 10% interest also cannot survive

as saying goes ... first pot of gold ... the first $1M is the toughest ... 

then money can make money ... sup sup water .... :grin:

To get first $1M, think the person must be very high salary, has extra source of income and also investment. If not how to achieve it? By saving from paycheck difficult la.

12 minutes ago, Jellandross said:

Happy for this guy and glad to hear that he has a plan for his wealth. Actually not easy for everyday salaryman to handle a sudden big windfall. Takes alot of discipline and planning to sustain or even grow the wealth. I've seen ppl natural instinct is to spend lavishly and only realise too late that they're back to square one 😵

I remember that MY Indian lady janitor who was knocked down at Changi Airport. Donations came in for her and she collected the money and returned to Johore. 

Throw money here & there and even lend to brother to start up transport business. In less than 6 months, she was broke and came back to SG taking on the sympatry of Singaporeans, begging for more donations........ :pissed-off:

• Angry 1

43 minutes ago, Jellandross said:

Correct,  they usually dont know how to manage even a smaller sum.  Bigger sum would be worse.