So is MSG good or bad for health?

SGMCF328

24 minutes ago, Kb27 said:

She can't explain, but she had found out how to deal with accidentally ingesting msg. All of us at the table witness the on/off effect. 😁

haha i think it's nocebo + placebo. Not that she has a fake reaction. But it's a chain of events based on a presumed stimulus...

We have many ang mo living in Singapore, Japan, China and various SEA countries where Msg is very much used. 

You personally heard of any of them being allergic to Msg? I have not. 

Many ang mo are fxxking loud mouth and want to blow up any issue. The Msg issue is probably overblown by some of them many years ago. 

Edited by Kxbc

32 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

When you ask ppl to suck you, you will ask to suck in moderation one meh? :grin:

Suck money ah. Don't think too far. hahahaha 

errr…actually I always instruct the other party to do it slow and steady at a moderated pace 

too fast no good

my friend taught me one 🤫

PS me dun suck…me love lick 👅 LOL 😂 

Edited by Inlinefour

41 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

"chin chai eat" advice also can also be a specialist meh? lol

Most tai tai are none the wiser...ai swee, ai san, ai forever u-kee...money is a non issue 😁

4 minutes ago, mersaylee said:

Most tai tai are none the wiser...ai swee, ai san, ai forever u-kee...money is a non issue 😁

ai swee ai pib ai dua liap nee 🤣🤣🤣

Actually I donch understand why peep suffering from insomnia need sleeping pill...I'd eat instant noodle if I can't sleep...straight into the bed (after brushing teeth) and snore away in a jiffy...😁

2 minutes ago, Inlinefour said:

ai swee ai pib ai dua liap nee 🤣🤣🤣

No no no...tai tai won't want any thing cheap...they don't believe in cheap and good...only expensive and good...more expensive must be more betterer...😁

55 minutes ago, Kxbc said:

I am not sure how many of you watch the cna video on msg. I watched it around 2 months ago and this is what I remember. 

Commercial Msg is made from casava, a kind of tuber. You can find many SEA desserts made from casava. 

Msg has approx 20% of sodium compared to the same quantity of table salt. Together with other umami components in msg, it lifts the flavour of food so you can actually replace some of the salt with msg. If you do that, your overall sodium consumption reduces which is a good thing because most of us consume too much sodium and thus, leads to high blood pressure and heart issues.

Note: Don't mix up sodium with table salt. Sodium is a component of salt. I believe recommended daily consumption is 2000mg which is the equivalent of 1 teaspoon of ordinary table salt. 

And umami exists in various foods, eg cheese, tomatoes, mushrooms, sea weed. 

casava just a fanciful name for tapioca

1 hour ago, Lala81 said:

"chin chai eat" advice also can also be a specialist meh? lol

can can. 青菜eat will be taken as good advice

on topic of MSG ... i think for consumers locally there is the popular Ajinomoto and Vetsin; Is there any difference?? Some say Vetsin is Vegetarian whilst Ajinomoto is chemically using animal products?? ........ maybe @Fitvip nows better    

1 hour ago, BanCoe said:

on topic of MSG ... i think for consumers locally there is the popular Ajinomoto and Vetsin; Is there any difference?? Some say Vetsin is Vegetarian whilst Ajinomoto is chemically using animal products?? ........ maybe @Fitvip nows better    

Hahaha, I have not knowledge of such product.

What I can tell you is my mother used Vetsin all along, but, just a small pinch each time she cooked.

Since I set up my own family, there has been no msg in my kitchen.

7 hours ago, Lala81 said:

Lol so can she explain how does the coke relieve the symptoms?

Yeah, I'm also interested to know.

Maybe the minute amount of caffeine in the drink helps?

Edited by Windwaver

7 hours ago, Lala81 said:

haha i think it's nocebo + placebo. Not that she has a fake reaction. But it's a chain of events based on a presumed stimulus...

Like those with gluten intolerance.

11 hours ago, Macrosszero said:

Yet the Japanese are the longest-lived nation.

Either it’s the atomic bombs

the MSG

the sashimi

or the adult educational movies!

There was a documentary about people in Okinawa and people in Jeju common diet is plenty of seaweed and kelp.

Makes then live longer and lower cancer incidence.

Bit not sure if it's scientifically proven.

35 minutes ago, Atonchia said:

There was a documentary about people in Okinawa and people in Jeju common diet is plenty of seaweed and kelp.

Makes then live longer and lower cancer incidence.

Bit not sure if it's scientifically proven.

Yes I heard about the Okinawan Diet ….. most are centenarians….. lots of tofu too and they are traditionally farmers ….. but that’s the old Gen …. Dunno how the next gens will make it with all this American fast food/ lifestyle influences 

I am waiting for some researchers, scientists, environmentalists, etc. to say that driving is the healthier choice for environment... :D:D

Any advice that goes along the lines of "eat more of something, don't eat something or else" should be taken with liberal pinch of salt (or MSG). Everyone has a different microbiome and different degrees of reaction to what they eat. To give advice assuming it will apply the same to every person is BS. 

54 minutes ago, Ganwb79 said:

Any advice that goes along the lines of "eat more of something, don't eat something or else" should be taken with liberal pinch of salt (or MSG). Everyone has a different microbiome and different degrees of reaction to what they eat. To give advice assuming it will apply the same to every person is BS. 

agreed.

many people are just too lazy to pay attention what works and what doesn't work for themselves.

years ago I was at a food seminar and a lady attendee said she was on a gluten free diet, and when the speaker asked her why on gluten free diet, she said "my friend say its good". I was ....