Blueray

Starting a thread for Oppo mobile phone users to share :

- purchase experience

- user experience (hardware / software)

- what exceeded expectations

- what disappointed

- general Oppo, Android and Color OS knowledge

etc, etc ...

To kick start, mine is the Reno3 which was purchased from Oppo Official Store on Shopee just before last year's 11.11

Preloaded with Android 10 and has since been upgraded to Android 11 and recently to Android 12. Believe I have used up the 2 Android updates typical for Reno series mobile phones. 

Was attracted by the quad cam set up, Amoled display, Dolby Atmos, 3.5mm jack, and even the front cam was 44mp (!)

Have to live with the somewhat outdated teardrop notch though.

Not into gaming so did not need a top end processor and mega battery. Have also set phone for +5GB RAM expansion. 

Am into photography so the quad cam set up was useful. However, auto pictures tend to be a bit on the "bright" side so I do manual tweak.

For my usage pattern, full charge can last till the evening.

Box came with a fast charger, cable, wired earphones, plastic back cover. 

IMG20221114204557.jpg

• Praise 10

My phone is new. 2 months old. 

Since it's a previous flagship, not much to complain. 

But I would say that minor issues for me are, 

1. The screen tends to be too dim too often. I have to manually adjust it more than my Samsung.

2. my Brave tabs for MCF keeps randomly hanging on changing between portrait to landscape and also when I sleep the phone or do something else. Then the tab becomes dead and I have to close it and open another one again. It probably has something to do with the memory management which oppo is known to have some problems with compared to iOs or even Samsung/Xiaomi. 

7 hours ago, Inlinefour said:

my tiongkok small rice 2 years uplorry 

apple 5 years still strong only change battery 

Is Apple only 2.5 times the price? 
anyway I still only buy Apple. 

7 hours ago, Inlinefour said:

my tiongkok small rice 2 years uplorry 

apple 5 years still strong only change battery 

My wife small rice 4.5 years Liao leh. I want to buy her pixel 7 she say no need first... 

But apple is the most reliable definitely. 

26 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

Is Apple only 2.5 times the price? 
anyway I still only buy Apple. 

11 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

My wife small rice 4.5 years Liao leh. I want to buy her pixel 7 she say no need first... 

But apple is the most reliable definitely. 

100% agree 👍 

My MacBook Pro also win all my other laptops

But price wise really ex for Ping Guo 🙈🙊🙉

I am using Reno 5, over 2 years still working perfectly fine. My wife Xiaomi more than 4 years still working fine. So, in general most phones today are quite good. My last Samsung 9+ didn't last the 2 years. So Abit of luck also.

15 minutes ago, Ender said:

Don't like their proprietary fast charge protocol. Have an old R15 pro, cannot take advantage of my generic quick charger.

am using a fast charger which came with Poco M3, no issues.

25 minutes ago, Ender said:

Don't like their proprietary fast charge protocol. Have an old R15 pro, cannot take advantage of my generic quick charger.

I use my pre existing qc 3.0 charger. I don't want to charge too fast. Don't want battery thermals to be compromised. 

Can fast charge good enough for my needs but I'm not in a rush anyway.  

52 minutes ago, Inlinefour said:

100% agree 👍 

My MacBook Pro also win all my other laptops

But price wise really ex for Ping Guo 🙈🙊🙉

My wife's MBA is still working but got two lines across the screen. 

Think 11-12 years already. 

2 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

I use my pre existing qc 3.0 charger. I don't want to charge too fast. Don't want battery thermals to be compromised. 

yeah, makers keep saying new super duper fast chargers does not hurt batteries.

I'm kinda skeptical so I'll just stick to my slower fast charger. [:p]

30 minutes ago, Blueray said:

am using a fast charger which came with Poco M3, no issues.

But oppo only support their own proprietary fast charge.  So it only normal charging in other brand charger.

48 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

Most of the time don't need fast charge. But it's those rushing time like you have have low batt and only 30 minutes to charge before you head out that fast charging is useful. So I would like to have that option available when needed.

As for whether fast charging is harmful, an still unsure, but they say it's the heat generated that degrades the batt, and nowadays temp monitoring is standard on a newer phone.

Besides all modern notebook that comes with 60w charger and above are all doing fast charging, include macbook with PD port.

Edited by Ender

3 minutes ago, Ender said:

But oppo only support their own proprietary fast charge.  So it only normal charging in other brand charger.

oic, my Oppo comes with 30W fast charger but I am using a Poco 22.5W fast charger.

also can lah, 30 mins of charging and I can take it with me and leave the house already.

maybe mine is lower tech so not proprietary. [laugh]

37 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

My son's mac book pro for school. Changed keyboard or is it screen at 3rd year. Lucky the school got some kind of extended warranty or insurance.

Still workable at it's 7th year, but battery not lasting. 

42 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

Really good and durable

Screen replacement quite ex 

Just bear with it first 👍

4 minutes ago, Ender said:

My son's mac book pro for school. Changed keyboard or is it screen at 3rd year. Lucky the school got some kind of extended warranty or insurance.

Still workable at it's 7th year, but battery not lasting. 

My wife's MBA lightly used after we got a laptop. We still use it from time to time like my son do Koolbits or what. But can work very good liao.