COE Bidding - January 2023

Carbon82

If COE drop below $30k means only 1 thing.

Very few people are buying cars.

Edited by Jamesc

COE Drop -> ppl go -> buy car -> next round COE record -> car buyer, seller, govt and banker all happy -> no recession

2 hours ago, Tianmo said:

KNN, COE drop, nobody come here and dance? <_<[:p][laugh]

Cat A seems like no more chance to cross 100k liao, so nothing to dance liao. 😅

1 hour ago, Benarsenal said:

Everyone still celebrating New Year, holiday mood...

Though this period many people would buy new car to ‘show off’ during CNY? 😂

1 hour ago, Philipkee said:

Drop 8k a few more times i might buy an EV.  Waiting for COE to drop let's say below 30k.

Wah, you sibey good life, so early can start dreaming liao. [thumbsup][laugh][laugh]

Car show no coffee or biscuits or free parking 

Confirm.  I went many times before.

So you went many times just to confirm there is no coffee and biscuits plus no free parking? 😅

8 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Cat A seems like no more chance to cross 100k liao, so nothing to dance liao. 😅

Yah, CAT A will be down until at least maybe May-June, so if any chance for a $100k CAT A COE, the dance need to move back to 2024. [:p][laugh][laugh]

Drop 8k a few more times i might buy an EV.  Waiting for COE to drop let's say below 30k.

Drop below 30k a bit hard for now le. If can drop to 50k very good liao. If want see 30k, maybe still need to wait until at least 2024/2025?

14 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Though this period many people would buy new car to ‘show off’ during CNY? 😂

Will wait for Motor Show then chiong

1 hour ago, Tkseah said:

Dropped below 50k I will be tempted to go shop shop liao..

Even drop to 50k level but only got chance to happen for Cat A. For Cat B still quite high and not much chance to drop until 60k level or below.

As many not bad cars mostly are in Cat B category. 

1 minute ago, Benarsenal said:

Will wait for Motor Show then chiong

Motor show nothing much to look forward la. Car price still about the same. Not as if there are lelong sales in motorshow. 😂

Go eat free biscuits at istana might be more achievable in the short term. 🤣

2 hours ago, Watwheels said:

https://cartriple.com/mercedes-models-with-a-renault-engine/

8 Mercedes Models Equipped With An Engine From Renault

A, B, C, CLA, GLA, GLB, Citan and Vito.

Why Does Mercedes Use Renault Engines?

The story of Mercedes using Renault engines started in 2010, when Daimler (the parent company of Mercedes-Benz) entered a ‘strategic agreement’ and acquired a stake of 3.1% in Renault and 3.1% in Nissan. (Source)

In return, the Renault-Nissan alliance got a stake of 3.1% in Daimler.

The agreement enabled sharing and co-development of petrol and diesel engines, which allowed the companies to reduce costs and increase economies of scale. It resulted in the development and sharing of the Mercedes OM607, OM608, OM622, and M282 engines.

I dont recall merc making engines with capacity less than 1.8L be it petrol or diesel before 2010. They have to work with other car makers who makes a lot of small capacity engines like Renault. The French are infamous with their small hatchbacks and small engine cars.

Hmmm, I'm not very sure if information on the cartriple.com website is reliable. 

I got my information direct from mercedes website (https://group-media.mercedes-benz.com/marsMediaSite/en/instance/ko/Drive-system-New-engines-new-transmissions.xhtml?oid=32998067)

It says "The M 282 was developed by Mercedes-Benz in cooperation with Renault. It is produced at the Kölleda plant in Thuringia, Germany and in future it will also be produced in Beijing, China. Renault supplies the components of the long block engine."

2 hours ago, Philipkee said:

Car show no coffee or biscuits or free parking 

Confirm.  I went many times before.

Some folks go car show not for free makan, but....

a0d79a3ba346c0e4a074f532306d018b

22 minutes ago, yishunite said:

Did gahmen finally shut doors to importing ultrarich "talent"?

You wait very long also won't happen. Gahment cannot live without all talents. Rich or no rich.

• Sad 1

13 hours ago, Tianmo said:

Wah, you sibey good life, so early can start dreaming liao. [thumbsup][laugh][laugh]

Not really le.  But you know la. I can dream for years.