All About Bak Kwa

Carbon82

7 hours ago, PSP415 said:

You may want to read this article, iirc, still works this way :

https://www.todayonline.com/8days/eatanddrink/newsandopening/shorter-queue-kim-peng-hiang-bak-kwa-pay-collect-separate-days

😂 Happy queuing....twice. 

Stay safe 

Small case compared to sang hock guan. 

Sang hock guan u order like one month plus in advance. Then on the day, they only give u the day to collect. After going down and waiting for 1hr plus. I had to ask the person to call me cos she said need another 3 plus hours (which she was very reluctant to do...) . I drove down to collect at 1030pm.

• Shocked 2

37 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

I'm kinda surprised quite a few people like xiang Wei. 

I only tried during cny where it tastes terrible. Like below average. 

Maybe I buy off season and try again. 

Fragrance bak kwa is soft so easier on the gums.

Taste is quite ok too. Another plus point is they have branches at the places I go for groceries.

20 minutes ago, Blueray said:

Taste is quite ok too. Another plus point is they have branches at the places I go for groceries.

Yeah indeed fragrance is more tender than say bch, that is 1 tough mutherfocker... to me as long the bk is soft, well bbq with a nice charcoalist taste, not so sweet and lastly reasonable price, i'm sold.

I have not buy any bak kwa for the past few years. 

Han chin boh hoh, cannot any how spend. Need to feed the 2 girls in school.

1 hour ago, Lala81 said:

I  concur. Never liked Fragrance after trying it once. 

Really up to one's tastebuds and texture etc. 

58 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

Small case compared to sang hock guan. 

Sang hock guan u order like one month plus in advance. Then on the day, they only give u the day to collect. After going down and waiting for 1hr plus. I had to ask the person to call me cos she said need another 3 plus hours (which she was very reluctant to do...) . I drove down to collect at 1030pm.

This one I unaware and not eaten before. Worth the wait? 

😅

10 hours ago, 13177 said:

Say until so good, if i remember, during normal days maybe find one day go buy few slices to try and see how good this pineapple bak kwa is. 

i have thinking to try for many years, but every year once CNY over, totally forgot about it. 😄

Frangrance once eaten i will turn blue. The so called sliced piece is no different from minced type and damn geely while trying to swallow.

Apple wood bak gua is good imo but OC finds it a bit tough.

3 hours ago, Lala81 said:

I never like xiang wei as it is too sweet. But I bought a 500g pack for $13 during off season to try again. Eat by itself still sweeter than other brands but if you kiap it with bread, it is actually quite good. It's thick enough for that chew. And it is very vfm especially when they have the occasional sale. 

11 minutes ago, Hamburger said:

Frangrance once eaten i will turn blue. The so called sliced piece is no different from minced type and damn geely while trying to swallow.

Apple wood bak gua is good imo but OC finds it a bit tough.

If u referring to bch apple wood bk then yeah it's really quite tough but i find most of their bk quite tough, anyway all of us got own taste, like what buy what lor..

3 hours ago, Blueray said:

yes, we also prefer Fragrance for its soft texture, better than the bee cheng hiang. 

4 hours ago, PSP415 said:

I  concur. Never liked Fragrance after trying it once. 

Really up to one's tastebuds and texture etc. 

This one I unaware and not eaten before. Worth the wait? 

😅

Buy during off peak lor. Cny really not worth it. 

My mum ban it cos of the char. She doesn't like char. Which is true lah. The char is carcinogenic. 

1 hour ago, Jman888 said:

yes, we also prefer Fragrance for its soft texture, better than the bee cheng hiang. 

Looks like many middle aged men's favorite. Lol. 

• Sad 1

4 hours ago, Beanoyip said:

My mother bought this, but honestly taste like any other  type of BK..

image.png.b29bc68fc062446a7690b3f3797f54ff.png

Really Three Hundred twenty eight SIN Dollar for 600g ?? of $32.8 for 600g? 

4 hours ago, Beanoyip said:

My mother bought this, but honestly taste like any other  type of BK..

image.png.b29bc68fc062446a7690b3f3797f54ff.png

this is really some high ses orh ti bak. 

Simi marble after peng gang all gone.