Michelle Yeoh makes history as first Asian to win Best Actress Oscar

Fitvip

https://mothership.sg/2023/03/malaysia-preacher-michelle-yeoh-oscar-win/

Being proud of Michelle Yeoh’s Oscar win goes against religion, says M'sia preacher

malaysia-preacher-slams-michelle-yeoh.jp

A preacher in Malaysia, known for his hardliner views, has hit out at actress Michelle Yeoh's historic Best Actress Oscar win.

Celebrity Muslim preacher PU Syed Mohd Bakri Syed Ishak said it is wrong to be proud of Yeoh’s victory, and he is not walking back his words.

He asked on Instagram: “How is winning an Oscar something to be proud of?”

“How does it make Malaysia proud? What’s to be proud of?"

“We cannot be proud of something that doesn’t benefit the faith,” he added.

“Leave it to the faithless.”

Rebuttals

As Yeoh is the first Malaysian and Asian to be awarded the honour, her win is not taken lightly.

The preacher's comments were met with swift rebuttals and backlash.

“Syed, can you just shut up for a bit,” one commenter said.

“Your endless preaching is making those from other religions hate you, you know that?”

Another commenter retorted: “What’s your problem? You jealous she got an Oscar?”

One commenter told him to live elsewhere: “I think you’re well-suited to a life in Afghanistan — living there will calm you down.”

Background

PU Syed's comments on pop culture are not new.

He took to Facebook on March 3, 2023, to criticise Blackpink for hosting their concert amid serious floods that have hit the country.

In 2019, he slammed K-pop boyband BTS as demonic and said their music would only lead Malaysians astray.

On 3/15/2023 at 6:12 PM, Windwaver said:

Being proud of Michelle Yeoh’s Oscar win goes against religion, says M'sia preacher

A preacher in Malaysia, known for his hardliner views, has hit out at actress Michelle Yeoh's historic Best Actress Oscar win.

Celebrity Muslim preacher PU Syed Mohd Bakri Syed Ishak said it is wrong to be proud of Yeoh’s victory, and he is not walking back his words.

Rebuttals

As Yeoh is the first Malaysian and Asian to be awarded the honour, her win is not taken lightly.

“Your endless preaching is making those from other religions hate you, you know that?”

Another commenter retorted: “What’s your problem? You jealous she got an Oscar?”

One commenter told him to live elsewhere: “I think you’re well-suited to a life in Afghanistan — living there will calm you down.”

Background

He took to Facebook on March 3, 2023, to criticise Blackpink for hosting their concert amid serious floods that have hit the country.

In 2019, he slammed K-pop boyband BTS as demonic and said their music would only lead Malaysians astray.

Clown. Should live in Afghanistan.

On 3/15/2023 at 3:15 PM, inlinesix said:

HK call her HKer. Maybe she is HK Resident.

American call her Asian American. Maybe she has Green Card.

Go all the way to Granduncle really 🤦🏻‍♀️

:nosebleed:I love Commonwealth Girls...sad but true now taken over by SiamBu TiongBu VietBu :inlove:

On 3/15/2023 at 6:12 PM, Windwaver said:

Rebuttals

Background

Like winning lottery and suddenly many friends and relatives that never see before one all appear.

not to mention also got those green eyed that will spew nonsensical bile

Michelle Yeoh winning is great , but such a “big deal” globally by media, show many in society subconsciously still have the AMDK syndrome. 

When Ang Moh win golden horse award , global media definitely won make such a big deal out of it.

On 3/15/2023 at 6:55 PM, Jman888 said:

why is he using Instagram n fb ?

Should not use mobile phone too, can only rely on messengers riding camels [laugh]

On 3/17/2023 at 9:58 AM, D3badge said:

Michelle Yeoh winning is great , but such a “big deal” globally by media, show many in society subconsciously still have the AMDK syndrome. 

When Ang Moh win golden horse award , global media definitely won make such a big deal out of it.

It's not amdk. It's industry reality. 

Regardless of one's taste,  there is a full spectrum of creativity, cinematography , actors,  script genres and technical excellence in Hollywood that hk cinema totally cannot match. Prc cinema is basically ccp vetted. Bollywood is made fun of for good reasons. 

On 3/15/2023 at 6:25 PM, Fcw75 said:

Clown. Should live in Afghanistan.

None of these clowns ever want to go live in those places ... but yet, desperately want to recreate those places wherever they go 🤔...🤣

On 3/15/2023 at 9:13 AM, Ender said:

Like that also can claim credit? Not Gong Li leh, how to relate Michelle to China?

Just wait... the moment she stars in a non ccp approved theme ... they'll kpkb to destroy her.

On 3/15/2023 at 2:10 PM, Ender said:

Like that our Parliament will do standing ovation for her or not?

Mai lah... skally president want to invite her to coffee , share story about how woman must struggle for success...

Might be an insult.... for Michelle to come🤣

On 3/18/2023 at 8:47 AM, Playtime said:

Just wait... the moment she stars in a non ccp approved theme ... they'll kpkb to destroy her.

I think she is quite savvy to avoid controversies or inadvertently take sides in this pro china or taiwan/hk issues. Notice that despite all these accolades lately; hk, sg, malaysia, china claim credit, she just keeps silent and let these jokers stumble over each other [laugh]