Adulting 101: How losing 5 friends to sudden deaths from cardiac arrest led me to an existential crisis

Windwaver

On 3/20/2023 at 1:58 PM, Etnt said:

actually most sg hawker food are not healthy imo. just eat in moderation and enjoy what you eat.

being happy is also an impt factor.

Yes, moderation. Don't overdo it like eat char kuay tiao everyday lah.

On 3/20/2023 at 2:24 PM, 13177 said:

Some people eat at hawker centre/outside food for all their meals, 365 days. Don't know if this is consider eat in moderation or not. 😅

I am one. 90% of the meals is outside. Cai png for life.

• Haha! 7

On 3/20/2023 at 2:38 PM, Benarsenal said:

Yes, moderation. Don't overdo it like eat char kuay tiao everyday lah.

no no, now is once every 2 weeks. I tried to tell wifey that once a week is ok, just like cai png stall morning fried beehoon mee. Got deathstare.

On 3/20/2023 at 3:47 PM, Etnt said:

no no, now is once every 2 weeks. I tried to tell wifey that once a week is ok, just like cai png stall morning fried beehoon mee. Got deathstare.

some people interpret once per week as follows:

1 x chicken rice per week

1 x ckt per week

1 x fried hokkien mee per week

1 x oyster omelette per week

1 x roast pork per week

1 x pig trotters per week

1 x satay per week

1 x deep fried chicken/whatever meat per week

1 x nasi lemak per week

1 x cake per week

1 x add on what you think should be restricted here

lol. 

Edited by Kxbc
  • Haha! 9

On 3/20/2023 at 3:51 PM, Kxbc said:

1 x ckt per week

1 x roast pork per week

1 x satay per week

1 x nasi lemak per week

1 x cake per week

lol. 

I really 

1 x ckt per week

for breakfast

1 x ckt per week

1 x roast pork per week

1 x satay per week

1 x nasi lemak per week

1 x cake per week

lol. 

Like that copy hospital menu sure very healthy one. Living a long life and living a meaningful one has a difference lah. 

My favourite sinful food is mamak kambing curry from a place I shall keep secret. 4 pieces and slurp the curry. All of it.

Sure die lor.

I dream about it. I write about it, but its an annual diet after physical and bloods. 😁

Once mean once. 

On 3/20/2023 at 9:10 AM, kobayashiGT said:

I tot we are growing fitter and can live longer? 

I think we can't totally correlate fitness with health; I know some people who externally look all muscles and tones but very susceptible to cold, flu, mildly bad food, etc.

I think health is more causally linked to diet intake and living behaviour as health is more organ-related; although some forms of exercises can definitely contribute to better food digestion and good functioning of body organs.

Of course both fitness and health are both important for total wellness of a person. Just that some people concentrated overwhelmingly on workout but overlook other lifestyle factors. 

On 3/20/2023 at 4:02 PM, Mustank said:

Want to experience what in life just go and experience 

Checher ...... can U teach me ?? :grin:........ what experience?? share share lah  

Can pm me where?

I promise not to go and eat myself.

I will just take MIL once a week.

It's also her favorite.

She loves it so much she will be happy to die for it.

On 3/20/2023 at 5:14 PM, Datsun366 said:

My favourite sinful food is mamak kambing curry from a place I shall keep secret. 4 pieces and slurp the curry. All of it.

Sure die lor.

I dream about it. I write about it, but its an annual diet after physical and bloods. 😁

Once mean once. 

1 x ckt per week

1 x roast pork per week

1 x satay per week

1 x nasi lemak per week

1 x cake per week

lol. 

My MIL because I always drive her to her favorite foods.

Edited by Jamesc

On 3/19/2023 at 12:17 PM, inlinesix said:

I exercise hard to eat unhealthy food.

😂

😂我运动是为了喝更多的酒

On 3/20/2023 at 11:20 AM, Jamesc said:

Why this guy all his friends start dying so young?

Reminds me of the story at a funeral a girl meets a boy she likes and wants to see again.

So a few weeks later she meets him again at another funeral.

How did she know she will meet him again at another funeral?

Like me, if you remember some year back, I mentioned some of my friends die young. But I never meet the girl leh. Only once I met my ex. Haha

On 3/20/2023 at 1:24 PM, 13177 said:

Some people eat at hawker centre/outside food for all their meals, 365 days. Don't know if this is consider eat in moderation or not. 😅

For some people, if they eat less home cook food and they eat little. Maybe live longer due to not over eat.

On 3/20/2023 at 1:34 PM, Throttle2 said:

I personally experienced one case super fit person. Barely 30, just went like that.  Very sad

This is the case where the guy meet up with the Cow Head and Horse Face lah. I have one friend came out in the newspaper before - 猛男踢球,倒地不起,just collapse and bye bye

On 3/20/2023 at 2:34 PM, Throttle2 said:

I personally experienced one case super fit person. Barely 30, just went like that.  Very sad

my camp. last time, only mid 20s yr old, ippt gold etc... just one day at home, at the table, suddenly shut down. gone at the table just like that😟l

but i guess it could have been much worse.... imagine at 20s, become permanent vegetable. very hard lor

Edited by Playtime

On 3/21/2023 at 11:18 AM, Playtime said:

my camp. last time, only mid 20s yr old, ippt gold etc... just one day at home, at the table, suddenly shut down. gone at the table just like that😟l

but i guess it could have been much worse.... imagine at 20s, become permanent vegetable. very hard lor

quite common even healthy fit people with no heart problem, the heart can still suddenly switch off n collapse. If no one around then gone case.