Reflections: Life lessons at 30

SiLangKia

On 3/29/2023 at 9:31 AM, Playtime said:

Since many oldies here. 

Some mysteries of life I'd like to clear if wiser ones would help...

Kopi tiam . Wth does " siew tai" come from? Hokkien , canto,  mandrine,  teochew all not leh ?

Why nurse also called " b c"... what does that mean?

I can only guess siew tai is from Cantonese. Or maybe Haianese since coffeeshops were mostly opened by them.

Mi See is probably from Missus/Miss.

On 3/29/2023 at 9:44 AM, BanCoe said:

Must always learn from U Laoban 🤣🤣

Go to polyclinic together to get subsidised appointments...then ask missy nicely to book same day similar time slot at hospital or specialist clinic...then let doctor see see ook look you all...then go foodcourt see see look look chio lokun and missy...if the attending doc is chio, more topic to talk about during the la kopi session...😁

On 3/29/2023 at 8:53 AM, mersaylee said:

@Jamesc bro have you today finally taken the correct medication or has forgotten to take the wrong medication...? 😁

I think MIL at casino the whole day. 😂

On 3/29/2023 at 10:20 AM, Abracadabra said:

I think MIL at casino the whole day. 😂

I’m quite sure he hopes that she’ll bet her life on the gambling table…life sometimes is a gamble anyway 😁

On 3/29/2023 at 9:47 AM, BanCoe said:

Ah Boy oni 30 ……. Now all “ cannot tahan” Unkers falling in like becoming Retirement Thread 🤣🤣

he is a strawberry [laugh]

Since many oldies here. 

Kopi tiam . Wth does " siew tai" come from? Hokkien , canto,  mandrine,  teochew all not leh ?

Not bc, is missy.

Every life is different and these is no good life and there is no bad life.

Human conditioning deludes us to what is good and what is bad but its all delusion.

Long life good short life bad? I call BS to that because you can live a lifetime in a day and lived a hundred years and never really lived or learnt anything.

Healthy life good sick life bad? I call BS to that because people that got cancer always say "why me? why this? why now?"

But people with cancer also say - "this is the best thing that ever happened to me?"

Doctor giving you the bad news you got cancer is a death sentence right? But its also life sentence. So many people after hearing they got cancer for the first time in their life stopped and starting to think and reflect on their life.

And they realise wealth and success are baubles and trinkets. The important things is relationships, friends and family and just a simple coffee and a chat, a kind word or deed. 

Success and failure. I call BS to that because of I was I wrote above and because your mind defines success and failure based on what society says and that is a value system that is meaningless.

Good name, bad name, criminal? The criminal is the luckiest person in the world that has a mother that comes out and say he is a good boy!

Good people bad criminals all have a place in society and a mother that loves you regardless wow that's unconditional love and is the only true love.

Anyway criminals provide jobs for policeman. That's a service to the community. 

I met a 75 year old nun in a convent recently and she is a mother superior and she said this.

Everyone is born, grows old, gets sick and dies.

The rich people with more money will give all their money to doctors so they can live a bit longer

and the poor with no money will die a bit earlier.

All this nun does is care for old people that cannot look after themselves and after years of so much care and love she got so much wisdom and it was summarised so beautifully in those words. 

On 3/29/2023 at 10:11 AM, Volvobrick said:

I can only guess siew tai is from Cantonese. Or maybe Haianese since coffeeshops were mostly opened by them.

Mi See is probably from Missus/Miss.

cantonese… siew/ga is less/more

dai is bottom.  condensed milk is always at the bottom.  so siew dai is less bottom meaning less sweet

google one… i only 28 yo still cannot reflect yet

🤣

On 3/29/2023 at 10:41 AM, Ender said:

Not bc, is missy.

i hear older folks always call BC mah....

dunno.... if now i call a syt nurse missy... will get mistaken for tiko or not. 😅

On 3/29/2023 at 10:48 AM, Enye said:

dai is bottom.  condensed milk is always at the bottom.  so siew dai is less bottom meaning less sweet

🤣

20 (or 30) yrs ago you also claim 28 yo lor [rolleyes]

I came back from the convent with a different view of life.

I now only invest in hospital stocks!

People work so hard and save every last penny just to give it all to doctors until they have no more money and then die!

On 3/29/2023 at 10:48 AM, Enye said:

🤣

honestly thats the most convincing explanation ive heard so far.

come to think of it... i used to always order teh peng. can be 3, 4 cups a day.

until i noticed the height of condensed milk they put at the bottom of the cups ... multiply by 4 cups a day... thats like about 1/3 cup daily. Multiply by 1 week.... i could be drinking a whole tin of condensed milk weekly 😨.... so i stopped teh peng.😅

better for health too la.

1s suck thumb study

10s billiards skating tea dance 

20s sian charbo buy branded chiong everywhere song song kao jurong

30s chiong to the fullest ATB sing song hang flower massage

40s slowly standing down partly C19 and many chiong friends uplorry eat careful drive cautious live firing attentive etc

50s dun noe yet not that old 🙊🙉🙈

at 30 years old, my ex gf kept pushing me to get married... what are u waiting for.. u are already 30... she was 29 then.

the only thing i rem... the day we broke up.. i went partying with my brothers... probably one of the happiest day of my life. Finally out of the miserable r/s.... dont get me wrong... i was partially at fault as well... but i really disliked having to "report" to her and all her suspicions.... "what are u doing now".... 

My advice which i think is gold... "dont be afraid to move out of a relationship or marriage... when you are with a wrong person... u are just simply wasting your life away. Dont be afraid of being alone. You rather be alone and happy , rather than stuck in a shitty r/s. 

Edited by Estrangable

Since many oldies here. 

Kopi tiam is the Hainanese who pioneered it. Early Hainanese settlers worked for the Britsh in the kitchen during the colonial rule. They settled early here at the Middle Rd, Purvis St and Seah St previously known as Hainan 1st 2nd and 3rd Jie or street. It is near the Raffles hotel where they work in the kitchen. Some of the chicken rice shops and coffeeshop are still there. Weekend is packed if you know where to go. They created the kopi shop culture(other than hot drinks, soft boil egg & kaya toast), western food in HC, stronger flavour chicken rice compared to Hainan island.

"Mi see" came from early women settlers from Guangdong, they are cantonese. They work as hong tou jin aka construction workers, ma jie aka maid or nurse(mi-see). 

On 3/29/2023 at 12:17 PM, Watwheels said:

"Mi see" came from early women settlers from Guangdong, they are cantonese. They work as hong tou jin aka construction workers, ma jie aka maid or nurse(mi-see). 

My mother don't like hong tou jin. She says they tend to be belligerent lol (maybe cos the need to work with men...). 

On 3/29/2023 at 9:47 AM, BanCoe said:

Ah Boy oni 30 ……. Now all “ cannot tahan” Unkers falling in like becoming Retirement Thread 🤣🤣

MCF maciam Clarkson, Hammond & May. All unkers common love for cars but don't necessarily everytime gotta talk this that workshop, snake oil mods, group buy, who jiak evo.......