The NYPD is handing out free AirTags to combat car theft (and why you should get one too)

image.thumb.png.f815af8059578c11681e1b79fc888d6c.png

Source: https://appleinsider.com/articles/23/05/01/new-york-hands-out-500-airtags-in-car-theft-crackdown

The NYPD is handing out free AirTags to residents in the city, in a bid to try and cut down the amount of stolen cars in some neighborhoods.

Crime overall is down in New York, but in one particular instance, the figures have shot up. Vehicle thefts have increased 13% year-on-year in the city, with close to 4,500 thefts reported over the year.

On Sunday, the NYPD and Mayor Eric Adams revealed that 500 AirTags would be provided to people in the 43 Precinct, due to it having the highest level of grand larceny auto cases at more than 200, reports ABC7NY. The AirTags are being donated by nonprofit Association for a Better New York.

"Your phone will be alerted. You know someone's in your car who's not supposed to be, and/or it's stolen. You call 911 as fast as you can. You tell the officers involved 'I have an AirTag, 'and they will immediately with citywide apprehension apparatus will start putting that tag citywide," said NYPD Chief of Patrol John Chell.

Residents wanting an AirTag can contact their local precinct to request one, though it is unclear if an effort is made to help Android device owners in the same way.

The move is accompanied by a warning to owners of Hyundai and Kia vehicles to take advantage of a free software update. So far in 2023, 966 such vehicles have been taken.

A TikTok video explaining to thieves how to steal cars from those brands has been blamed for the uptick in thefts.

AirTag has been useful in tracking down stolen vehicles and other property, but it is always advised to provide details to police rather than for car owners to interfere.

In Texas in April, a truck theft resulted in the suspected thief being shot in the vehicle by the owner. In August 2022, a New York man found his stolen motorbike, but ended up with a broken nose after being beaten by thieves.

This airtag seems good!

My daughter bought for me a gadget similar to this but close range one, for locating the car in big car park. I never used.

hmm... i tot it works by having other Apple phone users nearby (within Bluetooth range)

if the car is stolen and kept in secluded areas, then this method won't work liao

guess GPS tracker still better

On 5/2/2023 at 2:54 PM, Inlinefour said:

sillypore boleh cos erp2.0 can track kereta:slow: 

ERP 2.0 is like immarsat satelite.

It knows where you had been to.

But it will have problem locating your car especially when it is stored underground.

😂

Here cannot give out free AirTag lah......... raiding the reserves, you know. Where the money going to come from?

On 5/2/2023 at 2:55 PM, inlinesix said:

ERP 2.0 is like immarsat satelite.

It knows where you had been to.

But it will have problem locating your car especially when it is stored underground.

😂

lta might ask bmw incorporate connectedrive inside theres no way to hide 🤐🤐🤐that’s why delay the platinum goose 🤑🤑🤑I guess 

On 5/2/2023 at 2:58 PM, Sosaria said:

Here cannot give out free AirTag lah......... raiding the reserves, you know. Where the money going to come from?

Reactivate the trace together token. On the road I scan you...u scan me...😁

suspected thief being shot in the vehicle by the owner. In August 2022, a New York man found his stolen motorbike, but ended up with a broken nose after being beaten by thieves?

Carry a gun!

On 5/2/2023 at 2:30 PM, Fitvip said:

This airtag seems good!

My daughter bought for me a gadget similar to this but close range one, for locating the car in big car park. I never used.

hahahahha. She buy liao, you must effort use abit mah. 

Bought a pack of 4 as it was more worth but didn't know where to put them.

So in the end put 2 in my car (2 separate locations), 1 in my laptop bag and 1 in my luggage.

The one in the luggage really helps. After disembarking from plane, I'll just casually stroll to clear immigrations. Check Find My app, oh luggage still inside airport. Go DFS shop a bit. Check Find My app. Oh luggage moving to carousel. And I don't need to go jostle to the front of the carousel and crane my neck to find my black luggage in a sea of black luggage. Use Find My app and watch the distance countdown to less than 2m and I see my luggage Liao.

The ones in the car quite interesting. 1 is in the glove compartment and the other is in a rather deep and hard to reach spot, but there are times I only get reading on the hidden airtag instead of the one in the glove compartment.

Waiting for Google to come out with their version of airtag.

Maybe they should issue free 'handgun' to the residents instead .... [sly]

Shoot at the would be thieves .... :a-shoot:

Afterall, US citizen have the most guns in the World. Even those underage carries them to schools. :wut:

:XD:

On 5/3/2023 at 9:13 AM, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

Maybe they should issue free 'handgun' to the residents instead .... [sly]

Shoot at the would be thieves .... :a-shoot:

Afterall, US citizen have the most guns in the World. Even those underage carries them to schools. :wut:

:XD:

You think these residents don’t have gun meh

😜

On 5/3/2023 at 9:14 AM, inlinesix said:

You think these residents don’t have gun meh

😜

Issue free, take lar .... 🧐

The more the merrier ... [smash]

i bought pack of 4 samsung smart tag, i put 1 inside my dotter luggage and stalk her whenever she travel overseas [laugh]