My EV journey to the i4

As requested by @Volvobrick

Started even before I got the GLC Coupe.  Was already looking at the Tesla for that first bite in EV, BUT a few things were not in order: 1. Infra, 2. Nascent stage and tech on all fronts, 3. Limited models to compare

2 years later, after much shopping and research, with the infra much improved, I went for it.  These were the contendors:

1.  Tesla

Would have settled for it save for it being commonplace like the Rolla and not having a dedicated showroom (now have) put me off.  Also, the feel and overall façade of the T3 was a put off.  Literally an iPad on wheels

2. Ionic 5

This was also on the radar but there were limited units on the road and somehow, the design and cues just did not fit in.  I could see how it had an appealing design, but was quickly taken off the list.

Then, I went upmarket and here were the contendors:

3. Taycan

Loved it at first sight, test and what was given. It had that oomph and all and was close to making the cut, but then my senses got to me…to pay $600/$700 plus k for that……into the bin.

4. EQC 400

Sure getter for me.  Loved the design cues, overall feel, and with the GLC, it had the same feel as I was used to.  Almost plonked for a used on, with 14k on the odo, but someone beat me to it.  Fate, I guess.........

5. EQE 400

Went down a couple of times to have a look, but unit was not homologated as yet, and no test units avail, and then when the price was revealed, too hefty a tag for me.  This would be my go to in future

Then, the GLC got grumpy and I had the tyre blowout🤑..bitch…that was a sign.  Car was already listed for sale, and had a few offers, but then this particular dealer (deals with EV only) sent me a msg.

I did not reply, but 2 weeks later, I did reply and then voila:

6. i4 EV40

There was a unit avail for me to take, but was beaten to it.  Not disheartened, I waited and then just after the blowout, dealer called me that he had the Portimac Blue unit and was to come in later.  COE went up (105k) and I thought, there goes the price.  Lo and behold, price maintained.  Did a visit, and he allowed a test, and I placed my deposit on the spot. Car only has 1.4k on odo.  Used for mgt to test, I was told

Collected the car after my Iceland trip, and there was a poignant note to this,  as when I was in Iceland, I truly saw the effects of global warming.  Right before my eyes, I saw a breakoff of an iceberg from the Glacier and to me,  Global warming is real… so that kinda edged me on.  May be a mall part, but still a part, although some may say EV is another MotherEarthFUGGER ahhahaha:grin:

So to end it all, those going on this journey, these would be your considerations on the EV choice:

1. Price – this is clear.  Has to fit the pocket.  Savings downstream are massive, but capital costs upfront.  Look at BYD, they are promising

2. Charging – study the charging infra around your area.  My area has no shortage of charging at all and suits my lifestyle

3.  Range anxiety: This WILL be an issue, but will be gone after a week or so.  Car can go to low 20% and still have range of 100km.  Same as ICE

4. Savings: Somewhat negated by road tax BUT still save abt $3k/annually as monthly charging is around $150 vs Petrol previously $500...ccb PAP

That’s all I have to say for now, but as and when I do have any inputs, I will add on. 

Others, please feel free to chime in.

For charging and sites lobang, go here: 

• Praise 31

On 5/5/2023 at 7:14 AM, Daniu82 said:

1st reply! Congrats boss on the new purchase! 

hope no itch till i retire lah....

Anyway my EV has been reserved for next buyer aldy…. Stress😂😂

On 5/5/2023 at 7:50 AM, Volvobrick said:

Fat hope.... 

nbz:grin:

On 5/5/2023 at 8:10 AM, Voodooman said:

Thanks for sharing.  

dun waste my effort hor...when change???:grin:

On 5/5/2023 at 8:10 AM, Voodooman said:

Thanks for sharing.  The list is longer than I expect. 😀

these were the few I saw aldy ......but notice, BYD not der......nor is MG

@RadX Boss, next is to show us some photos and talk about the car performance and features. Things you like and don't like about the car. 

I thought the story would be the tire blowout, narrowly missed a tree, you would have the yolo experience and went for the Taycan. Chey...

Heng lo, if your last and final image had been a tree we'll be burning a paper made Taycan/i4/EQC/BlueSG for a fellow called RadX.

Wah, it looks like in the history of MCF, this piece looks like a thesis!

Ya, I have read the whole piece, despite I am not into a EV!

On 5/5/2023 at 9:04 AM, kobayashiGT said:

Meet up Meet up meet up!!! I wanna sit in your car! hahahah. 

You can only take the back seat...his Mrs oredi relegated to the second seat with this electrifying new love of his...😁

On 5/5/2023 at 8:38 AM, mersaylee said:

I thot you were into porn...no test drive the pornstar meh? 😁

eh thanks for reminding me...

yes, i did try the recharge and pornstar but i remember @Soya and ptsd so that was struck off quite early