My EV journey to the i4

On 5/5/2023 at 6:59 AM, RadX said:

6. i4 EV40

Collected the car after my Iceland trip, and there was a poignant note to this,  as when I was in Iceland, I truly saw the effects of global warming.  Right before my eyes, I saw a breakoff of an iceberg from the Glacier and to me,  Global warming is real… so that kinda edged me on.  May be a mall part, but still a part, although some may say EV is another MotherEarthFUGGER ahhahaha:grin:

The best way to save the earth is REUSE, REDUCE and recycle. 

So ironically if u keep one fossil fuel chugging car and drive it for 20 years. U probably do more to save the environment rather than any EV ever will 😁

Ok back to reality...

On 5/5/2023 at 9:07 AM, RadX said:

eh thanks for reminding me...

yes, i did try the recharge and pornstar but i remember @Soya and ptsd so that was struck off quite early

Oh...the ever regular home cumming at the second home...for the ride at least 😅

On 5/5/2023 at 9:00 AM, Fitvip said:

Wah, it looks like in the history of MCF, this piece looks like a thesis!

Ya, I have read the whole piece, despite I am not into a EV!

well, dun wanna TLDR la....still concise for me hahaha

On 5/5/2023 at 9:09 AM, Lala81 said:

So ironically if u keep one fossil fuel chugging car and drive it for 20 years. U probably do more to save the environment rather than any EV ever will 😁

Ok back to reality...

gotta support car Companiess too la

neways the narrative changes with time, so i take the middle path

On 5/5/2023 at 9:09 AM, Lala81 said:

Ok back to reality...

It's all about the money...it's about the Deng Deng denren Deng Deng...😂

On 5/5/2023 at 8:11 AM, RadX said:

dun waste my effort hor...when change???:grin:

Wah stress.  Lol

Your list is pretty comprehensive.  Surprised to see Ionic 5 in the list but not Polestar.

A friend just sold his 7-er for a Tesla Y. Said he is loving it, so i am really tempted.  But me not immune to high COE price, so I am suppressing the itch for now. It is a matter of time now that my estate is installing EV chargers.

On 5/5/2023 at 9:14 AM, Voodooman said:

Wah stress.  Lol

Your list is pretty comprehensive.  Surprised to see Ionic 5 in the list but not Polestar.

A friend just sold his 7-er for a Tesla Y. Said he is loving it, so i am really tempted.  But me not immune to high COE price, so I am suppressing the itch for now. It is a matter of time now that my estate is installing EV chargers.

pornstar was on list, but again, psychological health

On 5/5/2023 at 8:50 AM, Soya said:

Tayar punchet.....change new car!

eh...have reputation to maintain le🤑

On 5/5/2023 at 9:23 AM, RadX said:

eh...have reputation to maintain le🤑

At least u kept the last car longer than the first fillup so big achievement liao....lol

Good to hear from a fellow I4 owner. I've had mine for close to a year now, and you're right - the road tax is ##@@ (>3k)

We're being taxed on the power even though we're helping the environment somewhat

The range/ "guessometer" issue becomes a non-issue after a short while - many new owners are initially obsessed with the number but if you're on a routine and don't travel to Malaysia, for example, it is more than enough. In Eco Pro mode, the range I get is about 460-470km on a full charge. Recommended to charge to 80% most times, and that gets 300-320km. I drive in Comfort mode mostly. The voice control/ navigation is pretty good.

Nice touch screen, and the BMW app allows you to track it/ monitor tyre pressure etc. online. There are OTA updates but quite infrequent.

I also considered the other options and honestly I agree the EQC is also attractive. Prices for EVs are quite crazy now.

On 5/5/2023 at 9:28 AM, Steelblue66 said:

Good to hear from a fellow I4 owner. I've had mine for close to a year now, and you're right - the road tax is ##@@ (>3k)

We're being taxed on the power even though we're helping the environment somewhat

The range/ "guessometer" issue becomes a non-issue after a short while - many new owners are initially obsessed with the number but if you're on a routine and don't travel to Malaysia, for example, it is more than enough. In Eco Pro mode, the range I get is about 460-470km on a full charge. Recommended to charge to 80% most times, and that gets 300-320km. I drive in Comfort mode mostly. The voice control/ navigation is pretty good.

Nice touch screen, and the BMW app allows you to track it/ monitor tyre pressure etc. online. There are OTA updates but quite infrequent.

I also considered the other options and honestly I agree the EQC is also attractive. Prices for EVs are quite crazy now.

Thanks for coming in bro.  the original i$ woner

Yes, the Guess-o-meter is a non issue and most look at the % rather than range left

you in the i4 FB grp too?  

it's the EV version of 4GC right

it's a very nice car and useful tailgate

only cons maybe difficult for elderly to get in and out

other than that all pros 👍👍👍

On 5/5/2023 at 9:32 AM, Inlinefour said:

Correct.  And based on the new CLAR-4 architecture that can accommodate and make it PHEV, ICE or BEV

It's not i8 lah...im sure Radx can easily squeeze his mass in and out ...otherwise, the i4 won't make it to his driveway...Enye may look elsewhere tho 😁

You never mentioned the driving feel of the i4 eDrive40? 😁

Instant torque and power delivery, and as silent as a church mouse. I mean any EV would have similar characteristics but these qualities are what prompted me to go the EV route. 

On 5/5/2023 at 9:53 AM, Lethalstrike said:

You never mentioned the driving feel of the i4 eDrive40? 😁

Instant torque and power delivery, and as silent as a church mouse. I mean any EV would have similar characteristics but these qualities are what prompted me to go the EV route. 

That one later la...you slowly strip a stripper rt:grin:

One other con....road tax is ard $3400!

Gotta drink alot of dino juice to break even. Very heaty sia

Edited by Soya