Boy won hearts for sheltering bus passengers from rain

SGMCF328

I am proud of the boy and his parents.ย ๐Ÿ‘

His kind act must has warms the cocklesย of many heart.๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’–

Moral of the story: Always carry an umbrella with you and offer helps when situation arises.

ย 

โ€˜I did not want them to fall sickโ€™: Boy who won hearts for sheltering bus passengers from rain

Source:ย https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/i-did-not-want-them-to-fall-sick-boy-who-won-hearts-for-sheltering-bus-passengers-from-rain

rrkindness2311.jpg

SINGAPORE โ€“ It was pouring heavily as passengers hurriedly alighted from their buses and were greeted by a bespectacled boy in uniform sheltering them from the storm with an umbrella.

Thirteen-year-old Soon Hwee Tze continued to help strangers from five other buses at the bus stop before Punggol Road along Tampines Expressway until his bus came.

The Springfield Secondary School studentโ€™s kind act in September won over the Internet when a passer-by uploaded a video to the โ€œsgfollowsallโ€ Instagram account.

He alsoย caught the attention of Mr Baey Yam Keng, who is Senior Parliamentary Secretary for Transport, as well as for Sustainability and the Environment.

Theย Tampinesย GRCย MP invited Hwee Tze to join him at a networking session at the Caring Carnival on Nov 4, where he presented the boy with a commendation letter.

The event kicked off the annual Caring Commuter Week, launched to promote a more caring commuter culture.

When The Straits Times met Hwee Tze on Nov 22 and asked what motivated him that day, he replied simply: โ€œI did not want them to get wet and fall sick.โ€

Although he himself got drenched, he stayed in the pink of health.

Hwee Tze said: โ€œMany of the passengers thanked me for the gesture, which made me quite happy.โ€

A few days after his kind gesture, the Secondary 1 student from the Normal (Academic) stream sheltered two Yusof Ishak Secondary School students from their school to Waterway Point in Punggol.

โ€œIt was raining, and I saw them walking towards the mall without an umbrella,โ€ said Hwee Tze.

โ€œI had a small umbrella and those students were about the same height as me, so I went up to shelter them. I was drenched after that, but luckily my bag is waterproof.

โ€œThe students thanked me, and said that they recognised me as the boy who helped alighting passengers.โ€

Some readers were so moved by Hwee Tzeโ€™s story that they came forward to offer tokens of appreciation for the boy.

A donor who wished to remain anonymous gifted Hwee Tze an assortment of goodies and FairPrice vouchers, while an ST reader rewarded him with a $300 cash gift.

Hwee Tzeโ€™s father Soon Joon Teng, 49, told ST that he did not teach his son anything special.

Instead, he believes Hwee Tzeโ€™s alma mater, Punggol View Primary School, instilled good values in his son.

โ€œThe parenting is usually done by my wife as Iโ€™m mostly working, but I feel that this act of kindness comes from Hwee Tze himself,โ€ said the kitchen assistant, who realised that it was his older son in the viral clip only after his wife told him about it. The father of two has a younger son, aged 12.

โ€œIt was his own personality that led him to help others who are in need,โ€ Mr Soon said. โ€œBut Iโ€™m very proud of him. Both myself and my wife praised him for his kind act, and weโ€™re glad that the Government recognises such acts by ordinary citizens like us.โ€

Hwee Tzeโ€™s big-hearted act in the Instagram video was commended by Springfield Secondaryโ€™s principal during assembly the following day, said his form teacher Siti Nurโ€™Aliah Ghazali, 29, and the schoolโ€™s lower secondary year head Eddie Chong, 37.

โ€œWe didnโ€™t expect the principal to commend him. Later, it was very heart-warming to hear that Mr Baey also wanted to commend him,โ€ said Ms Aliah, adding that she had multiple students, including those from upper secondary, sharing the clip with her.

โ€œI thought it was a teaching point for the other students as well. I shared with them that they can also be like Hwee Tze (when they see others in need). I hope that this act will inspire Springfield students and other youth out there.โ€

Mr Chong added that a Sec 2 student had gone up to Hwee Tze and told him that he wanted to be like him.

โ€œIn a way, (that comment) gave Hwee Tze the encouragement that he had made a positive impact on his peers, that there is this intention to do good acts not for the cameras, not for the lights, but purely from the heart,โ€ he added.

Mr Soon added that his younger son had also displayed acts of kindness, such as buying food for his classmate when the friend forgot to bring pocket money to school and protecting a girl who was bullied at the playground.

While oneโ€™s academic results are important, said Mr Soon, he valued character building more than anything else.

โ€œWhen one becomes successful, it doesnโ€™t mean that he or she is holding a good position. It is how one deals with the people around them that will gain them respect,โ€ he said.

โ€œIโ€™m a kitchen helper, but I also help whoever that needs help. There shouldnโ€™t be any motive in helping another person, whether he or she is a friend or not.โ€

HES5756_4.JPG

โ†ก Advertisement
  • Praise 20

Indeedย proud of the boy and his parents.ย [thumbsup]

Many people don't have the habit of carrying umbrella de, good that this boy carry an umbrella and offer helps.

On 11/23/2023 at 4:39 PM, Benarsenal said:

Good. We need more like him.

Nowadays people more and more selfish. Hope the next generation can reverse this trend.

Cannot say people now more selfish, i think people now like to live in their own world and insensitive to their surrounding. They only interested in gluing their eyes in their hp.ย 

On 11/23/2023 at 4:59 PM, Soya said:

DSA to Hwa Chong!ย 

ย 

Not istana meh? Got ever precedent whereby our past presidents held umbrella for the people ornot? World first is what we always apsire anyway...๐Ÿ˜

On 11/23/2023 at 6:16 PM, mersaylee said:

Not istana meh? Got ever precedent whereby our past presidents held umbrella for the people ornot? World first is what we always apsire anyway...๐Ÿ˜

One step at a time la

First DSA to Hwa Chongย 

Then get SAF scholarshipย 

Then join MIW

Then run for prez. Party symbol is umbrellaย 

Kapish?ย 

ย 

On 11/23/2023 at 5:42 PM, 13177 said:

Cannot say people now more selfish, i think people now like to live in their own world and insensitive to their surrounding. They only interested in gluing their eyes in their hp.ย 

No, I say selfish. Self-centered. Rude.

Just need to go to Jurong East MRT during rush hour and see all the idiots rushing and pushing (like really, physically use force pushing). All the courtesy campaign and whatnot all ignored and gone to waste.

Edited by Benarsenal
  • Sad 1

On 11/23/2023 at 8:20 PM, Benarsenal said:

No, I say selfish. Self-centered. Rude.

Just need to go to Jurong East MRT during rush hour and see all the idiots rushing and pushing (like really, physically use force pushing). All the courtesy campaign and whatnot all ignored and gone to waste.

Guess selfish is human nature. Human only think for themselves.

• Sad 1

On 11/24/2023 at 8:38 AM, Watwheels said:

Good to see children from not so well to do background can have such good upbringing. The parents must feel proud of their son.

Exactly! His father is just a kitchen helper, and according to the news article, he will also extend his help to others. Likewise for his younger brother, who buy food for his classmate when his friend forgot to bring pocket money. Like father like son.ย ๐Ÿ‘

I am a firm believer that parents are life mirror for their kids, and this is the best example strengthening my belief.

Once again, kudos to the boy and his family. They should be nominated forย The Straits Times Singaporean of the Year award and such.

On 11/24/2023 at 9:00 AM, SGMCF328 said:

Exactly! His father is just a kitchen helper, and according to the news article, he will also extend his help to others. Likewise for his younger brother, who buy food for his classmate when his friend forgot to bring pocket money. Like father like son.ย ๐Ÿ‘

I am a firm believer that parents are life mirror for their kids, and this is the best example strengthening my belief.

Once again, kudos to the boy and his family. They should be nominated forย The Straits Times Singaporean of the Year award and such.

Is just. Oh my.

come back to him in thirty years, then talk.

Famous Amos.ย 

he get used by journalist/ photo op to buy their condo/ further social cause.

there are two types of people, those who use people and those who get used.

exactly, if my child I will use this opportunity to teach him,ย 

ไบบๆ€•ๅ‡บๅ๏ผŒ็Œชๆ€•่‚ฅใ€‚

you know that guy send people to kill people. So scary.

leave the kids alone. You scar them for your benefit.

Is just. Oh my.

come back to him in thirty years, then talk.

Famous Amos.ย 

he get used by journalist/ photo op to buy their condo/ further social cause.

there are two types of people, those who use people and those who get used.

exactly, if my child I will use this opportunity to teach him,ย 

ไบบๆ€•ๅ‡บๅ๏ผŒ็Œชๆ€•่‚ฅใ€‚

you know that guy send people to kill people. So scary.

leave the kids alone. You scar them for your benefit.

On 11/24/2023 at 8:50 AM, 13177 said:

Guess selfish is human nature. Human only think for themselves.

who would think for me?

the guy who bids me to do his thinking for his/her decided benefit?

The more humble the background, the more likely they'll help

Look at our banglas, when there's a nearby accident, u hear of them helping instead of juz whipping out the camera, drive off, post it on social media then kpkb how come no one came to help.....

ย 

On 11/24/2023 at 3:56 PM, kobayashiGT said:

can be an influencer liao. Got eyeballs le.ย ๐Ÿคฃ

heng you never say onlyF*nsย :ninja:

ย 

ย 

โ†ก Advertisement