MrHomely Clutched December 2, 2023 Share December 2, 2023 Long story cut short, went to look at a car at ubi. Seller ok to send to vicom/sta nearby, but because I got a personal workshop at tuas so ask whether can send there which was declined by seller, citing reasons that the insurance for the car does not cover such long distance away from the shop at ubi. Personally I don't mind reimburse the petrol for the distance la, but just wondering really got such thing as insurance for the pre-owned car does not cover such long distance away from the shop? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Twincharged December 2, 2023 Share December 2, 2023 (edited) Then don’t buy lor. dealer has their own rules. Either accept or walk. No need to ask so many questions. Edited December 2, 2023 by Mkl22 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tayv 1st Gear December 2, 2023 Share December 2, 2023 (edited) Wow I would have rejected this business if I am the used car dealer. Drive from Ubi to Tuas, just for a car inspection without concluding a deal. What a request! Edited December 2, 2023 by Tayv 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MrHomely Clutched December 2, 2023 Author Share December 2, 2023 (edited) @Tayv Bobian mah, not like tuas area got something like AML like that.. but i understand their concern also la, just that curious whether really got such thing whereby the insurance of the car comes with distance limitation in covering.. Edited December 2, 2023 by MrHomely Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic December 2, 2023 Share December 2, 2023 ask your mechanic from tuas to go ubi and use eye power first ? for sending car for inspection, general practice is to place deposit also. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged December 2, 2023 Share December 2, 2023 What I did for my previous car was offer to pay a small reimbursement (like $50). The dealer was ok with it. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MrHomely Clutched December 2, 2023 Author Share December 2, 2023 On 12/2/2023 at 9:31 PM, Benarsenal said: What I did for my previous car was offer to pay a small reimbursement (like $50). The dealer was ok with it. This idea came to my mind at the moment(it came only when i left the premises) so I didn't get to suggest this nor suggested by the salesperson. However he mentioned abt the limitation of distance for the insurance coverage, so i'm curious got such thing or not? Wonder if this small token of reimbursement for the distance and trouble in the form of time wasted, will it be sufficient to convince them to let me take the car to tuas for check Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MrHomely Clutched December 2, 2023 Author Share December 2, 2023 On 12/2/2023 at 9:29 PM, Blueray said: ask your mechanic from tuas to go ubi and use eye power first ? for sending car for inspection, general practice is to place deposit also. eye power able to check thoroughly mah? I thought need to connect to some handheld workshop computer for more comprehensive check? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic December 2, 2023 Share December 2, 2023 On 12/2/2023 at 9:44 PM, MrHomely said: eye power able to check thoroughly mah? I thought need to connect to some handheld workshop computer for more comprehensive check? if you wanna take car out of the yard without placing deposit, I would also tell you no deal. so alternative is eye power first then if generally ok then place deposit and take car out for inspection. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic December 2, 2023 Share December 2, 2023 Willing seller, willing buyer. If dealer say no, no need to give you any reason, so there is no such thing as "got such thing?" In the first place. Every WS has a "outside" fee, where the most lao jiao there or the 2nd man will go with you to the dealer to check the car for you. This service of course only check for accident, engine, main frame, undercarriage and major issues, and let you know if is worth buying. The thing is most ppl doesn't want to pay this fee because not cheap, and may need to pay a few times to see a few cars. End of the day, is all money talks. Want a perfect car? Buy a new one! 4 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic December 2, 2023 Share December 2, 2023 On 12/2/2023 at 9:59 PM, Blueray said: if you wanna take car out of the yard without placing deposit, I would also tell you no deal. so alternative is eye power first then if generally ok then place deposit and take car out for inspection. If the car kena accident during the trip, how? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MrHomely Clutched December 2, 2023 Author Share December 2, 2023 On 12/2/2023 at 10:19 PM, Tianmo said: If the car kena accident during the trip, how? Yup I can't rule out the possibility of this so like I said I also understand their concern if this is what they worried about, but having said that... even if within the vicinity of the shop also doesn't mean wouldn't kenna accident mah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 2, 2023 Share December 2, 2023 On 12/2/2023 at 10:16 PM, Tianmo said: Willing seller, willing buyer. If dealer say no, no need to give you any reason, so there is no such thing as "got such thing?" In the first place. Every WS has a "outside" fee, where the most lao jiao there or the 2nd man will go with you to the dealer to check the car for you. This service of course only check for accident, engine, main frame, undercarriage and major issues, and let you know if is worth buying. The thing is most ppl doesn't want to pay this fee because not cheap, and may need to pay a few times to see a few cars. End of the day, is all money talks. Want a perfect car? Buy a new one! New one also no guaranteed would be a perfect car hor. You no hear new one can be a lemon. 😅 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Twincharged December 2, 2023 Share December 2, 2023 (edited) On 12/2/2023 at 11:07 PM, MrHomely said: Yup I can't rule out the possibility of this so like I said I also understand their concern if this is what they worried about, but having said that... even if within the vicinity of the shop also doesn't mean wouldn't kenna accident mah. Bottom line to used car dealer is want to buy just buy, ngeow Chee ngeow lan, they will tell you f**k off. They rather wait for another lamb….. 😂 when I buy a used car I trust my own eyes to see. I even carry a car jack and crawl under with a torch. If I’m happy with the car then talk price. If price not good I walk. No need to discuss smlj. No need their workshop whatever warranty. I ask for discount. whatever workshop you bring to also largely use eye and ear power. Have owned and driven enough cars to know what the heck I look out for. Edited December 2, 2023 by Mkl22 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MrHomely Clutched December 2, 2023 Author Share December 2, 2023 On 12/3/2023 at 12:08 AM, Mkl22 said: Bottom line to used car dealer is want to buy just buy, ngeow Chee ngeow lan, they will tell you f**k off. They rather wait for another lamb….. 😂 when I buy a used car I trust my own eyes to see. I even carry a car jack and crawl under with a torch. If I’m happy with the car then talk price. If price not good I walk. No need to discuss smlj. No need their workshop whatever warranty. I ask for discount. whatever workshop you bring to also largely use eye and ear power. Have owned and driven enough cars to know what the heck I look out for. That is why buying pre-owned is a headache process. We as buyer need to guard ourselves against cb unethical seller, then seller need to guard themselves against eat too full backside itchy niao ji niao lan buyer, in the end no trust at all, make worse with the rising cost of car ownership that worsen the need to be wary of a bad deal.. headache ah headache. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged December 2, 2023 Share December 2, 2023 On 12/2/2023 at 11:07 PM, MrHomely said: Yup I can't rule out the possibility of this so like I said I also understand their concern if this is what they worried about, but having said that... even if within the vicinity of the shop also doesn't mean wouldn't kenna accident mah. The longer the drive the greater the chance of accident. The likelihood of accident isn't based on per trip but time the car has to travel to the workshop, and then back. There's so many workshops between Ubi and Tuas... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged December 2, 2023 Share December 2, 2023 On 12/3/2023 at 12:25 AM, MrHomely said: That is why buying pre-owned is a headache process. We as buyer need to guard ourselves against cb unethical seller, then seller need to guard themselves against eat too full backside itchy niao ji niao lan buyer, in the end no trust at all, make worse with the rising cost of car ownership that worsen the need to be wary of a bad deal.. headache ah headache. Buy from @Jamesc,drive to JB for Inspection,come back,got Problems & don't buy,still no problem...Where got Headache.? 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged December 2, 2023 Share December 2, 2023 (edited) On 12/2/2023 at 10:16 PM, Tianmo said: Willing seller, willing buyer. If dealer say no, no need to give you any reason, so there is no such thing as "got such thing?" In the first place. Every WS has a "outside" fee, where the most lao jiao there or the 2nd man will go with you to the dealer to check the car for you. This service of course only check for accident, engine, main frame, undercarriage and major issues, and let you know if is worth buying. The thing is most ppl doesn't want to pay this fee because not cheap, and may need to pay a few times to see a few cars. End of the day, is all money talks. Want a perfect car? Buy a new one! New car not necessary purrfect, ask BM. Personal experience. Toyota Lexus good butto…second hand car dealers can tell you horrible smelly stories. see people eat. not necessary used car dealer unethical, export to hide lawsuit. Edited December 2, 2023 by Datsun366 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...