Ct3833 Supersonic December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 On 12/2/2023 at 9:21 PM, MrHomely said: @Tayv Bobian mah, not like tuas area got something like AML like that.. but i understand their concern also la, just that curious whether really got such thing whereby the insurance of the car comes with distance limitation in covering.. Jurong is a bit far, though i dont think insurance have such limitation . Why not you try to suggest a nearby workshop that you or your friends are familiar with and see if they will to agree with your suggestion. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 On 12/2/2023 at 9:31 PM, Benarsenal said: What I did for my previous car was offer to pay a small reimbursement (like $50). The dealer was ok with it. offer 500 cash deposit but dealer die die reject maybe see me slippers shorts 🙈🙉🙊 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 On 12/2/2023 at 11:23 PM, 13177 said: New one also no guaranteed would be a perfect car hor. You no hear new one can be a lemon. 😅 talking about new one door ding told me just now collection customer did it Still better than my colleague Collection centre drive out Immediately the car dead on the spot Front door of collection centre 🙊🙉🙈 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 People that are selling their car won't bother servicing. They won't bother fixing anything spoilt or going to spoil. People sells when they see car something wrong! Especially something wrong that will cost a lot to repair! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 Who will sell a car and service before selling and fix everything swee swee before selling? And polish and anti bacteria the interior! Who who who? Only jamesc and wheeler dealer. 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 Why must die die buy from this kind of dealer? In SG stupid things people die die want to do. Smart thing die die refuse to do! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 My 2c... Don't rush..do invest some good months into research of a few models of interest and read up as much as possible to be knowledgeable...before even shortlist for viewing...used or new, every model has some good MY or bad MY production...negligible issue can be ignored if it can be easily rectified on your own or by a third party WS. Don't bother with simi sai warranty, guaranty, service package etc...just be thick skin and slash asking price till close to your reserved number...then take it or move on... Lust time no one teaches...i paid hefty tuition fee...sharing it for free now...😂 I'll ask for seller best price over the phone...can match then we meet to look at the car with the firmed price, promise not to haggle on the agreed price...if not why waste each other's time? Only clause I'd throw in is the car condition must be of my satisfaction then can proceed to close the deal...on top of no loan and immediate transfer...willing to let dealer earns a bit through insurance...sometimes they even can't be bothered with that since no commission on car loan front...😁 Direct deal with owner will be easier...everything is online now...lust time have to meet early at LTA, take queue number and wait for durian to drop...😅 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 If the deal is firmed, properly documented and secured by a reasonable deposit, subject only to satisfactory inspection (ie. no major accident and repairs needed, can't have too many escape clauses), don't see why dealer will walk away. But why need to send to your workshop, just pick one that is not the seller's preferred inspection center. I recommend AAS. Very independent and thorough (which some dealers generally don't like if they have no confidence in the car's condition). 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 On 12/3/2023 at 8:44 AM, Ct3833 said: Jurong is a bit far, though i dont think insurance have such limitation . Why not you try to suggest a nearby workshop that you or your friends are familiar with and see if they will to agree with your suggestion. These cars usually don’t have insurance. It is supposed to be covered with car insurance similar to test drive car. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 And another thing, don’t expect too much out of the inspection in terms of negotiation leverage or getting your deposit back based on the outcome - unless the car has major engine/gearbox/chassis issue, it is deemed wear and tear, it is a used car after all. However you are free to forfeit your deposit and walk away if the inspection turns up way too much impending repairs that it is better to cut your losses and run. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 Laughable- I dare say I'm one of those who take care of cars . . . by the time I upgrade to another car, I would do the following change of parts what needs to be changed / upgrade . . . maintain regular servicing ( Receipts of past 24 months minor repairs / maintenance ) Always manage to sell my own car with reasonable asking price and satisfied buyers/ dealers I am honest to myself and look after car my own way, most times in good condition. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 On 12/3/2023 at 12:21 PM, Meanmachine said: Laughable- I dare say I'm one of those who take care of cars . . . by the time I upgrade to another car, I would do the following change of parts what needs to be changed / upgrade . . . maintain regular servicing ( Receipts of past 24 months minor repairs / maintenance ) Always manage to sell my own car with reasonable asking price and satisfied buyers/ dealers I am honest to myself and look after car my own way, most times in good condition. Me too... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 Dunno but why own workshop is better ah? A workshop make $$ by doing repairs n all. Not inspection If used car is really perfect, where's the $$ for the workshop? If workshop say this spoil that spoil b4 buying, buyer scare n won't buy n there goes their $$ If workshop keep quiet say goot goot buy. Then later onli say this spoil that spoil, wear n tear, more $$ for them right? Unless workshop nowadays operate as charity.... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 On 12/3/2023 at 9:04 PM, Soya said: Dunno but why own workshop is better ah? A workshop make $$ by doing repairs n all. Not inspection If used car is really perfect, where's the $$ for the workshop? If workshop say this spoil that spoil b4 buying, buyer scare n won't buy n there goes their $$ If workshop keep quiet say goot goot buy. Then later onli say this spoil that spoil, wear n tear, more $$ for them right? Unless workshop nowadays operate as charity.... No lah...lust time quite many honest WS out there...protective of customers well being one...now retired oredi...so does the honesty...😂 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 (edited) On 12/3/2023 at 9:04 PM, Soya said: Dunno but why own workshop is better ah? A workshop make $$ by doing repairs n all. Not inspection If used car is really perfect, where's the $$ for the workshop? If workshop say this spoil that spoil b4 buying, buyer scare n won't buy n there goes their $$ If workshop keep quiet say goot goot buy. Then later onli say this spoil that spoil, wear n tear, more $$ for them right? Unless workshop nowadays operate as charity.... A trustworthy workshop will be able to assess if a car has had major accident before, whether if there are many telltale signs of wear and tear coming like oil leak, bush cover broken, damage lower arm, damage shocks, leak radiator etc etc , a scan of OBD will be able to single out engine problems if any. if a car is left in an unrepair or unservice state, an experience can easily pick those issues up. Not that one can ask a workshop for assurance but more of having an extra pair of experience eyes. Edited December 3, 2023 by Ct3833 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 (edited) On 12/3/2023 at 9:41 PM, Ct3833 said: A trustworthy workshop will be able to assess if a car has had major accident before, whether if there are many telltale signs of wear and tear coming like oil leak, bush cover broken, damage lower arm, damage shocks, leak radiator etc etc , a scan of OBD will be able to single out engine problems if any. if a car is left in an unrepair or unservice state, an experience can easily pick those issues up. Not that one can ask a workshop for assurance but more of having an extra pair of experience eyes. Unless the workshop is an accident repair workshop, they also might not be able to tell accident repairs. I have seen proper repairs done according to the manufacturer by Borneo appointed workshop. The quality of the work was very good. Very tough to tell that the front support bumper brace was torn off and replaced. Even the panel seals were done as per factory. I saw it done midway and the final product. I was impressed. unless you know where to look. It was very difficult to spot, especially once the engine bay and supports gets dusty with use. Edited December 3, 2023 by Mkl22 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 On 12/3/2023 at 9:49 PM, Mkl22 said: Unless the workshop is an accident repair workshop, they also might not be able to tell accident repairs. I have seen proper repairs done according to the manufacturer by Borneo appointed workshop. The quality of the work was very good. Very tough to tell that the front support bumper brace was torn off and replaced. Even the panel seals were done as per factory. I saw it done midway and the final product. I was impressed. unless you know where to look. It was very difficult to spot, especially once the engine bay and supports gets dusty with use. When I bought my 2nd car, I sent it to my trusted WS...the boss brought the car along with me and the car dealer to an accident repair specialist shop nearby...that other WS boss straight away asked his 4 workers to check on the car I was getting...4 pairs of eyes scanned the engine bay...then the whole car body for sign of accident repair...all cleared... then about a year later...that same car needed a visit to that same specialist...becos I banged into a taxi...😅 cheap repair bill for me though...less than 300 dollah...but kena loaded on premium upon renewal when I learned that the taxi coy had claimed my insurer gao gao...😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 On 12/3/2023 at 9:14 PM, mersaylee said: No lah...lust time quite many honest WS out there...protective of customers well being one...now retired oredi...so does the honesty...😂 Trusted workshop?....sounds like an oxymoron Or maybe u mean maciam honest used car dealer?....lol ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...