Used car dealer ok to send shortlisted vehicles to sta/vicom nearby for pre-purchase check but not ok to send to buyer's workshop(located faraway), got such thing?

MrHomely

On 12/3/2023 at 10:31 AM, inlinesix said:

These cars usually don’t have insurance.

It is supposed to be covered with car insurance similar to test drive car.

Past one page and no one answered the TS' question - whether there is such an insurance clause limiting the distance [laugh]

That's all he is asking and by knowing the answer he can assess whether the dealer is an honest person.

My thinking is the same as yours. When the car is still with the dealer where got insurance one? Insurance is only arranged when the buyer takes possession of the car.

On 12/2/2023 at 10:00 PM, MrHomely said:

Long story cut short, went to look at a car at ubi.

Seller ok to send to vicom/sta nearby, but because I got a personal workshop at tuas so ask whether can send there which was declined by seller, citing reasons that the insurance for the car does not cover such long distance away from the shop at ubi.

Personally I don't mind reimburse the petrol for the distance la, but just wondering really got such thing as insurance for the pre-owned car does not cover such long distance away from the shop?

Possible why not? New car got a few fixed test drive route, out of route insurance dun cover 

On 12/3/2023 at 1:21 PM, Meanmachine said:

Laughable- I dare say I'm one of those who take care of cars . . . by the time I upgrade to another car, I would do the following change  of parts what needs to be changed / upgrade . . . maintain regular servicing (  Receipts of past 24 months minor repairs / maintenance )

Always manage to sell my own car with reasonable asking price and satisfied buyers/ dealers

I am honest to myself and look after car my own way, most times in good condition. 

I dare to say my car are well taken care of 😎 always follow service’s schedule by AD and always get parts change under warranty period! Best is sometimes I didn’t ask to change AD change themself for me 👍🏼. Currently ride less than 3 years old received extended warranty to 6 years by AD due to loyalty program.

jamesc cannot sell to you as likely sell back to agent before warranty up when change new car hahaha

On 12/3/2023 at 11:41 PM, Soya said:

Trusted workshop?....sounds like an oxymoron 

Or maybe u mean maciam honest used car dealer?....lol

Have lah...not many left...prices also not cheap anymore...used to have 3 options of decent WS to go to...now left with one AC specialist I know of that's still trustworthy...accessories wise, South East tyre is still there...

So far, I've only met one honest used car dealer and he's not our resident dealer who also specialise in massage, jippun tour, how to kill the beloved mil etc 😁

Used car dealer ok to send shortlisted vehicles to sta/vicom nearby for pre-purchase check but not ok to send to buyer's workshop(located faraway), got such thing?

Isn't it so obvious?

Car cannot drive far lah.

Sure breakdown on the way!

Aiyoh and TS die die want to buy.

On 12/3/2023 at 9:49 PM, Mkl22 said:

Unless the workshop is an accident repair workshop, they also might not be able to tell accident repairs. I have seen proper repairs done according to the manufacturer by Borneo appointed workshop. The quality of the work was very good. Very tough to tell that the front support bumper brace was torn off and replaced. Even the panel seals were done as per factory. 
I saw it done midway and the final product. I was impressed. 
unless you know where to look. It was very difficult to spot, especially once the engine bay and supports gets dusty with use.

Agree but as i said ," major " accidents, minor bang and repair not so much a concern.

On 12/2/2023 at 9:59 PM, Blueray said:

if you wanna take car out of the yard without placing deposit, I would also tell you no deal.

so alternative is eye power first then if generally ok then place deposit and take car out for inspection.

But even if the car is driven to Tuas, most would the pre-purchase checks are also done visually without using any tools. 

Anyway, its a second hand car. One has to be realistic.

On 12/3/2023 at 8:32 AM, Jamesc said:

Who will sell a car and service before selling

and fix everything swee swee before selling?

And polish and anti bacteria the interior!

Who who who?

Only jamesc and wheeler dealer.

image.png.08d79451efc63534a75a72f5da04278b.png

Me lah. But I not selling yet hor. Wait......

On 12/4/2023 at 4:56 PM, Arogab said:

Me lah. But I not selling yet hor. Wait......

When you ready to sell I will be the first one at your door!

On 12/4/2023 at 4:18 PM, Jamesc said:

When you ready to sell I will be the first one at your door!

Again, my boss wanna buy for me in Thailand to drive it. Haha