Million-dollar car sales fall in 2023 for second year in a row

I didn't expect to read about "some customers" and "these people" when I click on the article. Sounds like there're more rich crooks in SG than I imagined.

Dealers, who declined to be named because of the sensitivity of the matter, said some customers want to avoid the scrutiny that may come with such high-value purchases.

One dealer said: “It doesn’t matter whether they are in so-called legitimate businesses or not. These people just want to play it safe and not get into any trouble.”

Edited by Jellandross

The use of the word "so-called" is telling.  

But the decline is probably due to the higher taxes but seriously, the high car tax for supercars here will make even rich Indonesians think twice, so people who buy them (not all) really make easy money. Easy come easy go.

Economy no good lah.

No money because Middle Kingdom housing and stock market going down the toilet but don't want to say.

Excuse is don't want to draw attention?

BS lah these people love showing off.

Easy way to wash money - buy, drive around for a year or two then deregister and export. Who was the high roller who bought a Pagani and later got in trouble? Ah, Ng Yu Zhi (I googled it). Rich also don’t be too flamboyant if the sources are murky…

On 2/12/2024 at 3:28 PM, Jamesc said:

Economy no good lah.

No money because Middle Kingdom housing and stock market going down the toilet but don't want to say.

Excuse is don't want to draw attention?

BS lah these people love showing off.

I always curious

if one of the ministers is a motorhead/gearhead 

how hah?

earn so much but cannot enjoy own hobby

or they all collecting stamp sleep at 10pm type?

On 2/12/2024 at 4:07 PM, Gnahp said:

I always curious

how hah?

Have you seen a Minister driving a Supercar before.?

On 2/12/2024 at 4:23 PM, ER-3682 said:

Have you seen a Minister driving a Supercar before.?

Seriously, unless one has so much money until don't know how to spend, throwing away millions in a short time frame of less than 10 years is something only a siao lang will do. (OK I sour grape)

That's why I will never join politic. Got money also cannot spend. :D:D

PS: I dua pao only lah, I am not even qualify in the first place, and have too many victoria dark secrets liao... [:p]

• Haha! 14

I always curious

how hah?

U duno oni

i I know at least 2 and one of them is a fan of the car that @Theoldjaffa drives… and has 2

dunno if they ever met at workshop togr before😂😂😂

On 2/12/2024 at 5:23 PM, Carbon82 said:

Seriously, unless one has so much money until don't know how to spend, throwing away millions in a short time frame of less than 10 years is something only a siao lang will do. (OK I sour grape)

PS: I dua pao only lah, I am not even qualify in the first place, and have too many victoria dark secrets liao... [:p]

I always admit that poverty limits my imagination. 

On 2/12/2024 at 3:25 PM, Gnahp said:

PARF capped at $60k is the killer I guess

Agree, i think to some extent some may feel the pain though they have loads of money. But to some of others,  spending a million over a few years, whether to take back 200k parf or 60k parf does not really bother them i guess. 

On 2/12/2024 at 2:45 PM, Voodooman said:

The use of the word "so-called" is telling.  

But the decline is probably due to the higher taxes but seriously, the high car tax for supercars here will make even rich Indonesians think twice, so people who buy them (not all) really make easy money. Easy come easy go.

That's why even in legitimate business also must be prudent to ensure not seen as laundering 🤣

On 2/12/2024 at 6:26 PM, Ct3833 said:

Not only luxury cars, premium wine club is also affected, soon GCB also maybe. 

Exclusive Singapore wine club closes as ultra-rich shun flash for discretion

https://www.ft.com/content/26c45d81-6d42-48be-8d4c-38b18214c35d

The real rich have their own cellars, AI temp cooled liao

no need drink out Sai… the wannabes go for these flamboyance😂

I always curious

how hah?

Not a minister but MP Lily Neo does drive her husband supercars around ….

On 2/12/2024 at 7:15 PM, Hubwee said:

Not a minister but MP Lily Neo does drive her husband supercars around ….

The dau also 

last time to poly, then to nus 😂

On 2/12/2024 at 5:39 PM, RadX said:

U duno oni

i I know at least 2 and one of them is a fan of the car that @Theoldjaffa drives… and has 2

dunno if they ever met at workshop togr before😂😂😂

i believe they use proxies to buy, sell and maintain 

I heard got one guy high up there collects guitars 😁

On 2/12/2024 at 5:23 PM, Carbon82 said:

You never heard of Tan Yong Soon?? 🤣🤣

https://www.reuters.com/article/idUSTRE50C5IB/

Edit: wah I just check he now NUS prof where he can drive maserati all he likes 😱

Edited by yishunite

I always curious

how hah?

Iswaran apparently has (had?) some nice sports cars.