BMW X1 F48 Transmission mounting

Zack2222

Hi, my ride is under 70K KM mileage, I service my car recently and they ask me to change my transmission mounting and link. Anyone encountered this before? How long do these parts normally last?

I dont know about BMW but transmission mounting ususally last much longer than engine mounts, did they ask you to replace it as a preventive or is it really worn out ? Some AD will ask you to replace certain components  according to their service scedules. 

Edited by Ct3833

I am assuming your vehicle is B38 engine, the inline 3 cyl one. 

It will have Inherent vibration. In a 4-cylinder engine, there is a natural balance as 2 pistons are going up and two pistons are going down. 3-cylinder engines are more difficult to balance which means extra measures must be taken to reduce vibration inherent to the design. 

So more vibration, more friction, more friction, more wear on the mounting. You get the picture lah. hahaha. 

3 cylinder the engine is vibrating not the transmission right ?

Anyway if free under warranty do it.

If have to pay ask technician take photo of damaged mounts and show you.

If he says have to take out first then can see the damage ask him how he knows?

Maybe he is superman and has x ray vision?

Times are hard now my poor vet fren had to remove a few appendixs to make a bit extra as his wife wanted to take the kids for June holidays.

Did the tech say he taking his kids for holidays in June?

F48 is on DCT vs the F20 or F30 entry which uses same b38 but zf gb. but its uncommon to change transmission mounting.

my engine mounting on the F20 last far longer than the ones i have on my previous 2 mazda 3

On 5/17/2024 at 5:32 PM, kobayashiGT said:

I am assuming your vehicle is B38 engine, the inline 3 cyl one. 

It will have Inherent vibration. In a 4-cylinder engine, there is a natural balance as 2 pistons are going up and two pistons are going down. 3-cylinder engines are more difficult to balance which means extra measures must be taken to reduce vibration inherent to the design. 

So more vibration, more friction, more friction, more wear on the mounting. You get the picture lah. hahaha. 

:nosebleed:no wonder my relative bed mounting up lorry so fast...guess must be the same theory hor...piston firing unevenly :inlove:

On 5/18/2024 at 8:17 PM, Inlinefour said:

:nosebleed:no wonder my relative bed mounting up lorry so fast...guess must be the same theory hor...piston firing unevenly :inlove:

🤨 ... 🤔Might be your kids trampoline on your bed....😁

On 5/20/2024 at 12:35 PM, Spidey10 said:

its a BMW.....what do u expect....needs lots of TLC....

Speak from experience😂

On 5/20/2024 at 10:31 AM, DOBIEMKZ said:

🤨 ... 🤔Might be your kids trampoline on your bed....😁

my relative is MBA aka married but available 🤐🤐🤐 no kids 🤤🤤🤤

On 5/20/2024 at 12:35 PM, inlinesix said:

Speak from experience😂

yes...currently my 8.5 yr ride, 2x change mountings and just recently changed water pump and thermostat , coolant wash and drain, O ring, service the compressor, changed belt, tensioner, pulley and wash the engine kilat kilat...:grin:...

but no regret fixing up the car....serving me well...and the drive, hoot hoot...:grin:

think will renew COE....

i went to test drove the 3 series, nowadays they used a lot of recyclable parts - one main thing that turn me off was the signal light...it felt like a Jap model when you press it up or down...it didn't feel like a BMW.....

Edited by Spidey10

On 5/20/2024 at 1:46 PM, Spidey10 said:

yes...currently my 8.5 yr ride, 2x change mountings and just recently changed water pump and thermostat , coolant wash and drain, O ring, service the compressor, changed belt, tensioner, pulley and wash the engine kilat kilat...:grin:...

but no regret fixing up the car....serving me well...and the drive, hoot hoot...:grin:

think will renew COE....

i went to test drove the 3 series, nowadays they used a lot of recyclable parts - one main thing that turn me off was the signal light...it felt like a Jap model when you press it up or down...it didn't feel like a BMW.....

When there's a signal stalk and one uses it...it ain't a BMW anymore 😁

On 5/20/2024 at 1:15 PM, Inlinefour said:

my relative is MBA aka married but available 🤐🤐🤐 no kids 🤤🤤🤤

So...your relative maximises the investment on the bed by doing trampoline frequently even when the wife is not at home...? 😁

On 5/18/2024 at 8:17 PM, Inlinefour said:

3 piston? hahahaha. So fierce? 🤣

On 5/20/2024 at 1:46 PM, Spidey10 said:

think will renew COE....

Mind sharing where you service and the costs? Thanks

On 5/20/2024 at 4:06 PM, AgentG said:

Mind sharing where you service and the costs? Thanks

I didn't go back to AD, out of warranty leh..if go back AD, will need to sell a kidney already ...:grin:

my regular WS in Ubi....if you really want, DM u the cost and address..

On 5/20/2024 at 2:26 PM, mersaylee said:

When there's a signal stalk and one uses it...it ain't a BMW anymore 😁

hahaha....must use lah....is nice to use, as the "feeling" is really nice when you push is up or down, and the sound of the green light blinking is music to the ears....:grin:

but the new ones is a bit tacky similar to H and T cars.....put me off, felt "cheap"...