Too Late if They only Realized Now, Hong Kong

Arogab

Most Chinese are rude. There's like an ingrained "the world is against us" attitude in Chinese blood. We are probably the exception cos we've been trained by LKY.

I never liked HK. It's just a less friendly Singapore, nothing special.

On 6/7/2024 at 8:41 PM, Benarsenal said:

Most Chinese are rude. There's like an ingrained "the world is against us" attitude in Chinese blood. We are probably the exception cos we've been trained by LKY.

I think nowadays with social media. Gradually more of the younger generation from all countries will be the same.

Just mind your own business and take your phone out to film bad Behaviour videos for TikTok.

Singaporeans tend to mind their own business overseas I feel. Even when we meet other Singaporeans abroad. Lol. 

On 6/7/2024 at 2:07 PM, Rayleigh said:

I prefer to spend in GuangZhou than in HongKong. Just a few stations away, one is serve to pleased while the other is pay to be f**k. Food wise, it originates from GuangZhou. 

Somehow the service culture in SG is slowly morphing to be like HK. Ever damn thing is money money money. 

I think it's the fast pace of life here. Everything becomes more business like and transactional. 

Hong Kong?

Kena diu by AMDK, then now kena diu by PRC, already rot half way liao, soon going hum kar Chang, what's there to smile some more? 

Diu! [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 6/7/2024 at 2:07 PM, Rayleigh said:

I prefer to spend in GuangZhou than in HongKong. Just a few stations away, one is serve to pleased while the other is pay to be f**k. Food wise, it originates from GuangZhou. 

Somehow the service culture in SG is slowly morphing to be like HK. Ever damn thing is money money money. 

Last time go china, they ask for 港币港币, now go HK, they want 人民的币, 人民的币, diu! [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 6/7/2024 at 8:25 PM, inlinesix said:

Diu

Different languages and dialects 

Same meaning.

Hokkien = Kan

Chinese = 操, Cao

English = Fark 

I've lost my card = Kan

I've lost my card = Cao 

I've lost my card = Fark 

Apparently Arabic have some very colorful curses as well. 

Based on what I watch of comedy shows and the Arabic YouTuber comments. 

On 6/7/2024 at 9:30 PM, Lala81 said:

Apparently Arabic have some very colorful curses as well. 

Based on what I watch of comedy shows and the Arabic YouTuber comments. 

You mean like?

“May the fleas of a thousand camels invade the crotch of the person that ruins your day. And may their arms be to short too scratch”

On 6/7/2024 at 8:00 PM, mersaylee said:

I once met a locally bred hongkee...he said hk peeple are generally very nice...not rude...they are just used to talk loudly becos it is very noisy in hk...scared no one can hear them...naturally when it cums to DLLM etc...they get even louder...😁

He talk cock sing song lor. Hee.

On 6/7/2024 at 5:59 PM, bsswan said:

I still go often, but restaurants are all much quieter than before, even though there is also many less after a lot closed during and after COVID.

Lunchtime is busy, dinner not.

The place, and many people, now feels depressed - the feeling there has changed a lot.

'depressed' is the right word, the whole atmosphere there.

On 6/7/2024 at 10:43 PM, Spurman said:

He talk cock sing song lor. Hee.

IKR...his turf...i diam diam arm chio 😁

On 6/7/2024 at 8:41 PM, Benarsenal said:

I never like HK.

But on your other point, that is not true. I have spent extensive amount of time in Mainland China and found them to be much friendlier than Singaporeans.

Edited by Davidklt

You don't know Hong Kong culture till you know 寸.

Some softer HKie guys of means prefer not to date or marry HKie girls because of this character trait.

On 6/8/2024 at 12:47 AM, macrosszero said:

You don't know Hong Kong culture till you know 寸.

Some softer HKie guys of means prefer not to date or marry HKie girls because of this character trait.

Can explain? What's 寸。

On 6/8/2024 at 8:17 AM, Lala81 said:

Can explain? What's 寸。

No one definite meaning. Can be swear word, snobbish,  arrogant, sniggering...

Edited by Kopites

On 6/7/2024 at 12:53 PM, Stary said:

Very long and I can't decipher it from the title. So I ask Copilot to summarise it to less than 50 words

To revive tourism, Hong Kong initiates a civility drive, addressing residents’ perceived impoliteness and enhancing visitor experiences. This comes amid political shifts and efforts to recover from pandemic-induced tourism declines, despite hosting numerous events and lifting travel restrictions.

Ok, understand now. 

I quote someone “Deep seated cultural issues”. Will not change one la. DUI!!!🤣

Edited by Mkl22