Presea 3rd Gear January 8 Share January 8 We have had only ICE cars for the past 25 years, and never really considered anything else At one point back during Covid, I was considering hybrid (I really liked the latest Prius, having driven that twice in Japan around the mountains of Saitama, Gunma and Nagano) and the 2L version is decently quick and sharp on those twisty roads. Sadly the version in Singapore comes with the anemic 1.8L engine of the previous generations. Then back in 2023, we drove the Kia EV6 AWD for 10 days in Jeju, and it was actually quite easy to live with, with decent interior space (although the sloping roof really compromised boot space, just like the new Prius) Then just in Dec 2024, we made trip to Shanghai, the wife and I are now considering getting an EV Now that our older kids are about to get their licenses, and along with the BYD Sealion buzz, we just felt it was time to begin the buying process of testing the various options. Our main intent was to see how the Sealion compares to the other EV SUVs in the market, and also some of the smaller models (Atto 3 is defininitely out, having seen it multiple times at Suntec, the wife is thoroughly not impressed) So last weekend we started our new car buying journey... 1. We went down to see the Omoda... almost nobody in the showroom... so we had a test drive, and it is not good. nice interior (blue on white) but that's the only good thing. Slowish, lacking character, and generally just a simple car. 2. Then we went to the BYD showroom and it was packed. Saw the Sealion up close and I quite like the car. Similar sized to our current car, so it will fit our driveway, and the overall quality was very decent. But the test-drive queue was long and I estimated more than an hour to wait (so this will have to continue another time - after CNY) 3. We also visited Xpeng and the G6 really impresses my wife with the quality of materials. I think we sat in the P7 several times when we "didi" around Shanghai. and the quality is better than the Sealion. But similar to BYD, the showroom was packed, so we have arranged a test drive next week with a sales person my cousin recommended. 4. We visited VW just to "rule out" their ID4 and ID5. But this turns out to be a mistake because when we sat in the driver's seat, it felt really comfortable and so we went for a test drive - not as packed showroom - and it was the ID.4 GTX that both of us really really like. The size, power, and just everything is so familiar (even the new VW car smell). Price wise, this is easily 20% more expensive than the equivalent Chinese "EV Crossover SUV", but somehow it feels worth it. The kick in Sports mode is actually better than the base AWD EV6 we drove in Korea. 5. Then we drove over to Zeekr, and there was noone around... we were the only customers. So we went and test drove the RWD version and I actually liked it. On paper it should be as fast as the GTX is sports mode, but it isn't. Instead, it is a very refined and luxurious small crossover, and I think if the price is right (and it is starting to feel that way), this is a very good buy. Pity the sales staff might not be as warm as the other companies (ex-Premium Automobile). In the end, the rear is a little too tight and not a comfortable fit for our ever growing family 6. I happened to pass by the Atrium at Suntec where Neta Roadshow was, and the Neta X took me by surprise. I really like the materials used, especially on the doors and dash, with what feels like a nice vegan leather that is smooth and subtle where you need it, and curiously "rough" where it should be. Too bad they cannot do a test drive until their promo stand is over. In any case, it is on my list. Current Ranking: 1. VW ID.4 GTX 2. Xpeng G6 3. BYD Sealion 4. Neta X Out of the running: - Omoda 5 - Zeekr X ↡ Advertisement 12 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 8 Share January 8 whoa dudeeeee..u still around hahaha 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged January 8 Share January 8 Never consider Polestar? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 8 Share January 8 pls la...gg bankrupt....still want to buy... 1 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic January 8 Share January 8 (edited) On 1/8/2025 at 11:03 AM, RadX said: whoa dudeeeee..u still around hahaha Sooner or later will kanna chase out by u🤭 Edited January 8 by Freeder 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 8 Share January 8 (edited) No Juniper in shortlist? Ioniq 5? Edited January 8 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged January 8 Share January 8 People come here to seek advice and then kena all the old birds here and there. Tell them pay full cash and change car when changing tires. How to tahan?? 😂 12 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Presea 3rd Gear January 8 Author Share January 8 @RadX Yup, Still alive and kicking.... you are still as active... I think we first met more than 20 years ago... it's a long time 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Presea 3rd Gear January 8 Author Share January 8 (edited) @Beanoyip Polestar is Overpriced. So, nope Edited January 8 by Presea 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Presea 3rd Gear January 8 Author Share January 8 @Lala81 Don't like Teslas. Ioniq 5 is a bit old now... And I actually would have considered an EV6 if it was still around 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dankoo 4th Gear January 8 Share January 8 (edited) I tot Neta also in financial issues? https://www.nationthailand.com/business/automobile/40044519 If can wait, then Zeekr 7X Edited January 8 by Dankoo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic January 8 Share January 8 On 1/8/2025 at 1:31 PM, Presea said: @Lala81 Don't like Teslas. Ioniq 5 is a bit old now... And I actually would have considered an EV6 if it was still around Citroën? Dun know much about their cars EV model. But their VAN ev quite popular. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 8 Share January 8 TS welcome. New bird here, please take loan salesman will love you deep deep and buy tyres from SGcarMart tyre promo. See I never tell TS pay full cash and chase him way. On 1/8/2025 at 12:43 PM, Arogab said: People come here to seek advice and then kena all the old birds here and there. Tell them pay full cash and change car when changing tires. How to tahan?? 😂 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 8 Share January 8 Good advice for all car buyers Buy within your budget and buy the one you like. No need to buy the most expensive or to impress anyone. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic January 8 Share January 8 On 1/8/2025 at 11:11 AM, Beanoyip said: Never consider Polestar? Very small interior... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic January 8 Share January 8 Since you put ID4 as current 1st choice, why not also take a look at it cousin car Skoda Enyaq. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic January 8 Share January 8 On 1/8/2025 at 11:03 AM, RadX said: whoa dudeeeee..u still around hahaha Most of the old bird here missing already. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Presea 3rd Gear January 8 Author Share January 8 @Tohto Skoda Enyaq? Honestly, didn't even consider the brand, so not familiar. Now that I have seen it in pictures.... the interior does look quite nice, and it might be up for consideration. Pricewise, it seems to cost more than the ID4 and ID5 GTX. But overall design signature, .. .seems to be a little too "BMW-like" for me, and that grille.... from my previous car shopping experience, that is just too many vertical slats for my wife. Might drop by the showroom to confirm my thoughts. Thanks! ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...