The ownself service car hobbyist! Pls come in Share your lobangs/parts hoot

SIM37

3rd Gear

How I Save Money by DIY-ing My Car Servicing (And Why You Can Too!)

My journey into car DIY started way back in 2001 when I was a university student in Australia. I bought my first car, a trusty Suzuki Swift, for just $2,500. It was ever-reliable and ran like a dream, but as a student on a tight budget, I needed to find ways to cut costs without cutting corners. Friendly chats at car accessory shops pointed me to YouTube and online forums, and I realized—why not try servicing my car myself?

That one decision changed everything. Since then, I've serviced every car I've owned. Today, I drive a humble Mitsubishi Attrage, and even with the ever-increasing costs of car servicing from authorized dealers and workshops, I’m able to keep things affordable by doing most of the work myself.

Here’s how I save money and why you might want to give it a shot too:

Learning the Basics is Easier Than You Think

Back then, I was a total newbie with no clue about what went under the hood. But online tutorials, YouTube, and car forums became my go-to teachers. Step-by-step guides made everything from oil changes to air filter replacements feel doable. These days, it’s even easier to learn! There’s an endless supply of beginner-friendly resources for every car make and model.

Tools like socket sets, oil wrenches, and car jacks are one-time purchases that pay for themselves after a couple of DIY jobs.
I jack up the vehicles with a bottle jack and rest them on jack stands https://s.shopee.sg/9pOzui9VFg

bef0df536a713c12c5d1922c42ac3ac2.webp

387755293_10159452032427797_178112661936

Tools that I find very useful 

Socket set: https://s.shopee.sg/30YfmOL0C1

my-11134207-7r98o-ll03cn96jpvjd2.webp

Smaller sockets with wide/long reach can be useful for adjusting belt tension. Also ensure the socket set has the correct size for your car lug nuts. Mine has 21mm which I have several so its useful. I also use a longer bicycle handlebar for leverage.

Lexus engine oil : $28.50 4 Litres (Change every 10k)
https://s.shopee.sg/4VNLc06yLl

sg-11134207-7rbl7-lnv2e59b958ode.webp

My car's (attrage oil filter), change every 10k  https://s.shopee.sg/gAl0LNLQ8
$4.25

7f3da24292eb00046838506b77f96d55.webp

Pads https://s.shopee.sg/9KSjKQQ2R6 
Cause the Perodua viva uses the same brake pads Its about $20
Change very 30-50k (Depends on wear/tear and guide of 4mm left)
my-11134207-7qul5-lk7o0yp05fmeb4.webp

Cabin Air Con Filter About 10-20k depends on "dirtyness" Usually I air blast away and plonk back in : $8++ https://s.shopee.sg/7pdvXn239g

cn-11134207-7qukw-lfysjcju4vpa22.webp

Engine Air Filter every 20k or so... but every 10k I take out to brush and air blast : https://s.shopee.sg/6Kp7lAVXtY. Aboout $8-10

cn-11134207-7ras8-m4ij6r9kyf3r67.webp

Car drive belt (Every 50k or so) : https://s.shopee.sg/8KaC944b1k

d9048e01b166ddaa8a31fe5cc70b8fdc.webp

Disc rotor (I changed around 110k) https://s.shopee.sg/2qFFb8udGb

my-11134207-7qukz-lfmbjaj4w849c9.webp

Oil Filter wrench https://s.shopee.sg/20g8br4bKE

06369792e3a47cde50c7ecffa094301a.webp

The Savings Add Up!

An oil change at a workshop can cost $100 or more, depending on the car. Doing it myself costs a fraction of that, and I know exactly what goes into my engine. Over the years, the money I’ve saved has been put to better use—whether it’s for family, hobbies, or upgrading my tools!

The Joy of Ownership

Beyond the financial savings, there’s a sense of pride and satisfaction that comes with maintaining your own car. It’s also a great way to understand your vehicle better. Plus, it’s fun! If you’ve never tried it before, start small—replace your air filter, swap out your spark plugs, or change a headlight bulb. You’ll be surprised how achievable it is.

Why Not Give It a Try?

Alas.... all these joy of changing fluids for an ICE car may come to an end in 2030.

Any other DIY service enthusiasts pls feel free to contribute.

Wah, I used to do that but after 2005, I have ben out of SG and no time for it liao. Cars have advance so much and so many electronics is a headache. Plus. now old liao. Haha

The hindrances for me to do so are:   condo car-park not allowed to do car servicing, no place to store jacks when not in use, difficulty in responsibly disposing of engine oil/ brake fluid/coolant, dark car park, spark plugs are not as easily accessible as before.

Long long time ago when cars were still running on carburetors and engine oil could be disposed off in the garden, I changed my own plugs, distributor arm, air-filter, engine oil. Cleaned own carbs, rotated own tyres. To drain engine oil, I would drive over drain, but a can in the drain below the drain plug, remove the plug. Let it drain nice and long before refilling with Castrol GTX. 

Nowadays I pay to get everything done. My body is no linger supple enough to so spend hours in awkward positions trying to remove, clean and fit back. Since I had a Subaru and after looking at the plug position, how low the ground clearance was, all thoughts of DIY left me. Except for cleaning the engine bay, wash and polish the body.   

got a classmate love DIY too 

he took out almost every thing from car to clean till bling bling

guess what

he forgotten how to put some back 

in the end 

call AD and send in the car 

hahaha wasted money and his SA laughed at him 🫣🫣🫣

wah... this kind of thread must support 

erecting my tent to camp here

3rd Gear
On 1/27/2025 at 4:53 PM, kobayashiGT said:

You stay landed ah bro? 😂

Fortunately my parents do, and I go there to do it

3rd Gear

@serenade workshop areas have oil disposal containers. They actually collect old oil and they can sell back to refine.

Engine oil is recycled by refining it to remove chemical impurities, metals and dirt that are scrapped off from engine and moving parts of the car.

On 1/28/2025 at 12:49 AM, SIM37 said:

Fortunately my parents do, and I go there to do it

Ahhh. no wonder.

Don't think ppl who stay in HDB can do such DIY. Sure got ppl take video and stomp one. Hahaha. 

And today ppl value time differently. They will find that when they bring the car to workshop, they can still free their time to do other stuff while paying someone to service the car. 

So different mindset also. 

On 1/27/2025 at 5:01 PM, serenade said:

The hindrances for me to do so are:   condo car-park not allowed to do car servicing, no place to store jacks when not in use, difficulty in responsibly disposing of engine oil/ brake fluid/coolant, dark car park, spark plugs are not as easily accessible as before.

Long long time ago when cars were still running on carburetors and engine oil could be disposed off in the garden, I changed my own plugs, distributor arm, air-filter, engine oil. Cleaned own carbs, rotated own tyres. To drain engine oil, I would drive over drain, but a can in the drain below the drain plug, remove the plug. Let it drain nice and long before refilling with Castrol GTX. 

Nowadays I pay to get everything done. My body is no linger supple enough to so spend hours in awkward positions trying to remove, clean and fit back. Since I had a Subaru and after looking at the plug position, how low the ground clearance was, all thoughts of DIY left me. Except for cleaning the engine bay, wash and polish the body.   

I know some peeps purposely drive to nearby public mscp to work on their cars...i used to drive to higher floor of my mscp which is more airy to do some works...but limited to wiper, filter, light bulb change, simple cosmetic mod, troubleshoot only...anything else may render a dial of 995 for broken back...😁

On 1/28/2025 at 9:52 AM, kobayashiGT said:

Ahhh. no wonder.

Don't think ppl who stay in HDB can do such DIY. Sure got ppl take video and stomp one. Hahaha. 

And today ppl value time differently. They will find that when they bring the car to workshop, they can still free their time to do other stuff while paying someone to service the car. 

So different mindset also. 

Have lah...just donch get caught pouring used oil into the drain...i mean just don't do that...dispose at any servicing workshop...just open the lid on the oil drum and dump...

On 1/28/2025 at 9:27 AM, SIM37 said:

@Gnahp 

What car do u have? And are you attempting to ownself change stuff?

do you have body aches after the maintenance work?

I presume that you are young and fit, I want to see if I am normal or just old 😁

3rd Gear

@Gnahp I'm 47 already. But I do cycle to work everyday (Yes I do drive too) but I exercise quite often. But car maintanence days sure sore, cause got to wiggle under car and etc, and you'll exercise muscles in places where you didn't even know you had places.

I do not have a hoist so got to crawl under car.

3rd Gear

@kobayashiGT I enjoy the process and of course the savings, cause "time" is a state of mind, the time taken to go workshop and collect is also "time"

I'm quite streamlined on the things I need to do, a simple oil change/filter change usually everything from start to finish I can do under 1h. So its quite quick vs driving to/from workshop. And no doubt the savings.

A conventional oil change for my car is only 2.5l oil and filter. I buy 4L oil for $28+ and a filter is $5. Can't beat those prices. And moreover, most shops "advertise" 4L oil but my car at 2+ litre, I don't get the balance back.

On 1/28/2025 at 9:57 AM, mersaylee said:

Have lah...just donch get caught pouring used oil into the drain...i mean just don't do that...dispose at any servicing workshop...just open the lid on the oil drum and dump...

they can dig a hole and bury back the oil lah. hahaha. Put it back to the original place. 

we dig it up in the first place. hahahah. 

On 1/28/2025 at 12:01 PM, kobayashiGT said:

they can dig a hole and bury back the oil lah. hahaha. Put it back to the original place. 

we dig it up in the first place. hahahah. 

Different lah...those were organic raw fossil...geomancy cannot anyhow upset one...sekali this geh liao additive treated oil make the earth spin in reverse or dead volcano start to spit lava how? 😁