Australia: Brisbane - Sydney - Canberra - Melbourne - Adelaide Dec 2025

Hello everyone,

I'm now planning in earnest to visit Australia in Dec 2025. It's a bit late I know... but my wife just renewed her passport (takes a lot to get it done in her country)...

TRIP ITINERARY

This will be another drivng trip. As above: Brisbane - Sydney - Canberra - Melbourne - Adelaide.

Open jaw flight using SIA. Fly in Brisbane, fly out Adelaide. 28 Nov to 1 Jan. So far SIA is the cheapest and direct flights for both legs, compared to Qantas & Emirates. Any other airlines recommendation welcome!

The itinerary is roughly dvided this way - subject to change as I plan more in detail. 

ITINERARY SPLIT

Brisbane - 7 days: may split the days between Brisbane and Gold Coast.

Sydney - 8 days (one day rest stop between as the distance is 917 km, so only 7 days effectively): may split the days between Sydney and some farm stay in outskirts; any suggestions where to break journey between Brisbane and Sydney?

Canberra - 3 days (286 km from Sydney; doable in one day): nothing much to do, just visit the capital lar... on the way, take as rest stop cos Sydney to Melbourne is about 900 km)

Melbourne - 12 days (662 km from Canberra; doable in one day): lots of stuff to do. Likely split the stay between Melbourne and some farm stay

Adelaide - 4 days (735 km from Melbourne; doable in one day): likely to stay near the beach. The last time I stayed in Semphore Beach area. Also not much to do.

Any comments about the number of days allocated are welcome. Thinking of Tasmania... actually, wonder if possible... hahaha... that's one place I haven't been to...

CAR RENTAL

This is a tough one given the one way rental. Will be trying Apex Rentals cos one bro here said no transfer charge (sorry forgot who already). Hope still true... otherwise, may modify plans...

ACCOMODATION

Would prefer apartments or motels. Trying to keep costs down to less than $200 a day for 2 adults and 2 kids. Not fussy about luxury. Got space for kids to play can already. Any recommendations would be most welcome! Will have to pay more for B&B or farm stay I guess.

FOOD

Likely lunch eat out, dinner do takeaway to manage costs. Breakfast buy from supermarket. Any tips much appreciated. I used to eat out for all my past trips. But this one is really long and it's going to add up crazily... all recommendations for delicious pho, cantonese food, ang mo food, Thai food, etc all welcome!

All comments, suggestions, tips and experiences from all the bros here who have experience all welcome! 

Thank you!

Edited by teomingern

Do take note Dec is start of Summer,  temperature can be very extreme from low 10s to high 30s in Victoria. 

When I was there last Dec, Yarra Valley one of the day was 38deg and 2 days later at Great Ocean road Apollo Bay around 10deg at night and very windy.

I remember you mention not traveling at above 20degC.

Other trip information between Brisbane   Melbourne and Sydney I can advice when have more time. 

Edited by Tohto

For the long drive in btw cities, your family will be sleeping all the way.

They may be wide awake at night especially Children.

On 4/1/2025 at 2:15 PM, Tohto said:

Do take note Dec is start of Summer,  temperature can be very extreme from low 10s to high 30s in Victoria. 

When I was there last Dec, Yarra Valley one of the day was 38dec and 2 days later at Great Ocean road Apollo Bay around 10deg at night and very windy.

I remember you mention not traveling at above 20degC.

Other trip information between Brisbane   Melbourne and Sydney I can advice when have more time. 

Noted bro! A colleague told me that you get 4 seasons in one day in Melbourne... heh heh... 

Yes, but no choice... kids are in school... so got to follow their holiday schedules... am hoping that in doing Brisbane first, the temperature would be lower at the start of Dec compared to at the end of Dec... and hoping that Adelaide won't be too hot at the end of Dec... the direction of travel is deliberate knowing that Melbourne tends to be the coldest while Brisbane hottest among the 4 cities... I've been to all except Canberra and Brisbane... 

Also want to do the summer stuff like fruit picking and farm stay, this is the best time to do it I guess... otherwise, no chance to do it... Jan & Feb even hotter right?

Edited by teomingern

Dec to early Jan is their peak travel season.  Expect expensive accommodation. Be warned.  Especially Sydney. 

That's a very long trip!

If going Tasmania then probably return the car in Melbourne and go from there.  Rent again for Mel - Adl.

Meals outside now relatively expensive - 20-30ish AUD per adult per meal for non-fancy places.  Even Food Court is not cheap (near 20). Portions are not really that big unlike last time.  Even Mrs can finish alone.  Weekend may have 10% surcharge.  Takeaway won't be much cheaper.  Supermarket prices are OK, cheaper than here for food/milk. 

Accom - Got to compare normal motels vs air b and b. Look out for extra parking charges in big cities (like 30 dollars per night). 

For GC theme parks, best go during their school days for lesser queues.  Once me and kid rode the rollercoaster like 4, 5 times continuously until wanted to puke!

Will update good places to eat in Dec. May make another 1 or 2 trips to Aussie Land by then.

Edited by Volvobrick

On 4/1/2025 at 2:52 PM, Volvobrick said:

That's a very long trip!

If going Tasmania then probably return the car in Melbourne and go from there.  Rent again for Mel - Adl.

Meals outside now relatively expensive - 20-30ish AUD per adult per meal for non-fancy places.  Even Food Court is not cheap (near 20). Portions are not really that big unlike last time.  Even Mrs can finish alone.  Weekend may have 10% surcharge.  Takeaway won't be much cheaper.  Supermarket prices are OK, cheaper than here for food/milk. 

Accom - Got to compare normal motels vs air b and b. Look out for extra parking charges in big cities (like 30 dollars per night). 

For GC theme parks, best go during their school days for lesser queues.  Once me and kid rode the rollercoaster like 4, 5 times continuously until wanted to puke!

Will update good places to eat in Dec. May make another 1 or 2 trips to Aussie Land by then.

Oh that's a good idea... I was thinking that if I rent the car more than 27 days, will have mileage restriction... so thinking of returning the car in Sydney cos I don't think I should drive in Sydney? Might make more sense to return and pick up...

Good point about returning car to Melbourne and then flying to Tasmania and back to Melbourne again.

I'm kind of not sure where to stay in Sydney... it's huge and many areas which are more or less self-contained. The Darling Harbour, Sydney Opera House, etc must do for me cos my wife and kids never see before... but staying there is a frighteningly expensive... so thinking of staying Hurtsville... long drive into the heart of Sydney I guess... but we may go really early to beat the crowd and traffic... the Sydney I visit in 2004 is not the same as now anymore I am sure... so any advice is really welcome here!

Melbourne is more compact, I've visited 2x, so more famililar although also in 2004 & 2005... so again many things may have changed...

Gold Coast, I not going to Theme Parks for roller coaster... my whole family is scared of them... other rides maybe ok... more sedate ones... or water parks with slides... not into the thrills... so maybe 7 days in Brisbane may be overdoing it, especially if I don't stay in Gold Coast and just do a day trip...

Oooo... meals meals... I am budgeting S$50 a day per adult, lunch and dinner... got to look for cheap eats... my kids confirm can share... so about $150 per day... hopefully less...

Yeah looking at motels really... or apartments on Booking.com... some are going for about just below $1000 for 7 days... so pretty ok still... 

Wah... another 1 or 2 trips to Oz before Dec... really loaded leh... airfare already crazy... funny that with my dates, SIA is cheapest...

Check the accommodation prices in the city centre vs a little further away. I won't drive in the city centre of Mel and Syd. Parking is costly (like 25 per hr!) and a nightmare. You may be better off taking public transport (train) in and walk about especially in Melbourne.

you are welcome

also watch out for the “special discount” on their webpage when booking

i book , cancel , make another booking and save $250 (NZD) for my year end trip 

CAR RENTAL

This is a tough one given the one way rental. Will be trying Apex Rentals cos one bro here said no transfer charge (sorry forgot who already). Hope still true... otherwise, may modify plans...

On 4/1/2025 at 4:50 PM, Wt_know said:

2025-04-01_165003.jpg

How is your car model range and age?

On 4/1/2025 at 6:32 PM, Tohto said:

How is your car model range and age?

i book mitsubishi asx 2.0 year 2019-2022 

On 4/1/2025 at 3:40 PM, Volvobrick said:

Check the accommodation prices in the city centre vs a little further away. I won't drive in the city centre of Mel and Syd. Parking is costly (like 25 per hr!) and a nightmare. You may be better off taking public transport (train) in and walk about especially in Melbourne.

Yeah I know right... inside central areas is both tiny and cramped and expensive... will stay outside of central areas... I kind of know where to stay for Melbourne... but Sydney, I'm kind of lost... was reading online that I should stay in the inner suburbs which is well connected by train to the central areas and to elsewhere... any tips?

Edited by teomingern

On 4/1/2025 at 4:03 PM, Wt_know said:

you are welcome

also watch out for the “special discount” on their webpage when booking

i book , cancel , make another booking and save $250 (NZD) for my year end trip 

Wah! Thanks for the tip! Yeah I sometimes do that for my hotel bookings also... once I get my air tickets plus leave plus visa for my wife then I try to re-book all as confirmed no cancellation... sometimes can save a lot overall...

On 4/1/2025 at 4:50 PM, Wt_know said:

2025-04-01_165003.jpg

Nice! Thank you very much for the official confirmation!

On 4/1/2025 at 6:47 PM, Wt_know said:

i book mitsubishi asx 2.0 year 2019-2022 

That's very nice! I probably won't get such a large car... probably a Toyota Corolla Altis will do... enough space can enough...

On 4/1/2025 at 7:12 PM, teomingern said:

That's very nice! I probably won't get such a large car... probably a Toyota Corolla Altis will do... enough space can enough...

For long drive, it is no good.

At least Camry

On 4/1/2025 at 7:12 PM, teomingern said:

Sedan very hard to put in the suitcases. SUVs or big hatchbacks for me always. Even if 3 pax. Except once I rented a 5.2 V8 sedan. 

Edited by Volvobrick