teomingern Supercharged April 1 Author Share April 1 On 4/1/2025 at 8:34 PM, Tohto said: SIA is also cheaper to Europe, for some flight I check compare to those middle east airlines which still need transit. Yeah... a bit surprising... maybe they lowered prices to compete... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic April 2 Share April 2 Australia is a very nice place to visit but please please space it out say Mel and Syd together as one trip two to three weeks You can drive from Syd to Mel, include the Great Ocean Road, Ballarat, mornington peninsula and have time to explore, chill and take a breather and relax don’t be like a refugee and spend too much time on the road and end up needing another holiday just to recover 👍 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged April 2 Author Share April 2 On 4/1/2025 at 9:10 PM, therock said: Bro, road trips can be fun, but looking at your Japan endeavours, even by your this is quite xiong, well outrageous man... Australia is huugggeee... I would suggest flying from city to city, but knowing you, you will give some reasons not to... Eg Bris to Syd is a 13 hour drive bro, a v v serious journey even if you have two or three drivers. I have gone to Bris by road from Syd and it's no joke. If there is only one person, you may become the next statistic of road accident that we will talk about on this forum and I don't really want that. No sir, not with all my heart. Syd to ACT is a good six hours, ACT to Mel is another six minimum. Syd to Mel is a good ten hours, and that's without touring or stops except for short pee breaks.. The drive from Syd to Mel can be fun if you have two or three drivers and have a motel stop. There are big attractions along the way, literally big, you can find some articles on it but they all recommend stops https://www.britz.com/au/en/get-inspired/articles-tips/breathtaking-road-trip-stops-between-sydney-and-melbourne https://drivemate.au/blog/sydney-to-melbourne-road-trip-itinerary-best-stops-tips-and-more-clz0uuwgv000chwsitwboffx5/ Eg, there is a submarine HMAS Otway along the way https://www.australiantraveller.com/australia/sydney-to-melbourne-road-trip-itinerary/ But driving alone can be fatal bro.. And to do multiple long trip is very hard on the body, even if you're 25 and I don't think you are... Mel to Ade is even worse bro.. In Syd, I can share a ton of places to go to, you just decide on what you like, eg shopping place, eating or sights. You see what kind of balance. Hurstville is super far.. Ashfield and Five Dock are not so far, or Darling Harbor or Northshore perhaps. Remember not all trains come regularly at each station, some stops are used only once an hour, so if the hotel there is too cheap, don't. Some motels along Cumberland Highway are ok and not too far from town. Save by using Big W and Woolsworth for fresh produce and make food in your motel / apartment / Air BNB. Hotels cost more in the CBD especially along George and Pitt Sts Along the Great Ocean you can see the 5 apostles, yep 5 left.. stop overnight at Port Campbell for really good pizza. Mel, the Yarra Valley, Philip Island are nice, IMO the city is kind of boring, but that's me, since you will be in Syd, which offers a lot more stuff. You can spend more time in Syd. Ade Kangaroo island is nice, and of course wine valley if you're into it. Not a lot more there As for the car, a nice V8 Station Wagon is nice, or a MPV or minimum a Mits Outlander which is great for long drives. It won't cost a lot more than your Corolla and you won't regret the space and also good when the roads get rough. See what you like first then I can answer in more detail. And yes, don't forget it's super hot then.. blazing.. with lots of flies too.. and get spare water, in the car and for your passengers.. Thanks for the tips... my only concern is the heat and flies (forgot about those)... The difference between a Corolla & Outlander may not be much on a per day basis but over 34 days it will add up to quite a bit... say $20 difference that will make $600+ over 30+ days lor... Hmm looks like I need to do a lot more search for where to stay for Sydney especially in relation to connectivity via trains to the city centre... not going to drive in Sydney in the central areas... it's just crazy even 20 years ago... Thinking of shortening the number of days from Brisbane to 4, Sydney to 5 days and Melbourne to 8 days... then can extract about 8 days to do Tasmania... not sure if that works... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic April 2 Share April 2 On 4/2/2025 at 9:01 AM, teomingern said: Thanks for the tips... my only concern is the heat and flies (forgot about those)... The difference between a Corolla & Outlander may not be much on a per day basis but over 34 days it will add up to quite a bit... say $20 difference that will make $600+ over 30+ days lor... Hmm looks like I need to do a lot more search for where to stay for Sydney especially in relation to connectivity via trains to the city centre... not going to drive in Sydney in the central areas... it's just crazy even 20 years ago... Thinking of shortening the number of days from Brisbane to 4, Sydney to 5 days and Melbourne to 8 days... then can extract about 8 days to do Tasmania... not sure if that works... Look like you are making your trip more rush by adding more city when most is advising to reduce your city of visit per trip. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged April 2 Author Share April 2 On 4/2/2025 at 8:05 AM, therock said: Australia is a very nice place to visit but please please space it out say Mel and Syd together as one trip two to three weeks You can drive from Syd to Mel, include the Great Ocean Road, Ballarat, mornington peninsula and have time to explore, chill and take a breather and relax don’t be like a refugee and spend too much time on the road and end up needing another holiday just to recover 👍 You all keep saying that... have you tried such a trip? It's very relaxing... 30 days... every 4-5 days, drive for a day... take your time to drive... where got stress? Ha ha... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged April 2 Author Share April 2 On 4/2/2025 at 9:10 AM, Tohto said: Look like you are making your trip more rush by adding more city when most is advising to reduce your city of visit per trip. Not so much to see in Brisbane for 7 days... just thinking aloud for now... probably can squeeze out some days to go to Tasmania... heh... I don't like go back to countries I've visited unless it's like years ago... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic April 2 Share April 2 On 4/2/2025 at 9:01 AM, teomingern said: Thanks for the tips... my only concern is the heat and flies (forgot about those)... The difference between a Corolla & Outlander may not be much on a per day basis but over 34 days it will add up to quite a bit... say $20 difference that will make $600+ over 30+ days lor... Hmm looks like I need to do a lot more search for where to stay for Sydney especially in relation to connectivity via trains to the city centre... not going to drive in Sydney in the central areas... it's just crazy even 20 years ago... Thinking of shortening the number of days from Brisbane to 4, Sydney to 5 days and Melbourne to 8 days... then can extract about 8 days to do Tasmania... not sure if that works... If you go Tas, there is a nice farmstay (Curriga) near Hamilton. The chalet is nice and super isolated. No need to go to Stanley. Nothing much there. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged April 2 Author Share April 2 On 4/1/2025 at 9:41 PM, therock said: Multi day drive Syd to Mel A coastal drive from Sydney to Melbourne is one of the most scenic road trips you can take in Australia. This journey, known as the “Grand Pacific Drive” or “Princes Highway route”, takes you along some of the most stunning coastal landscapes, charming towns, and natural attractions. Here’s a suggested itinerary: Day 1: Sydney to Jervis Bay (Approx. 200 km / 2.5 hours) -Highlights : Begin your journey south by heading through the Royal National Park, where you can stop at the Bald Hill Lookout for panoramic views. Continue along the Sea Cliff Bridge, an iconic coastal drive section. -Stop: Wollongong for a coffee and beach views. -Destination: Jervis Bay offers stunning white-sand beaches like Hyams Beach, and you can explore the Booderee National Park. Day 2: Jervis Bay to Batemans Bay (Approx. 140 km / 1.5 hours) -Highlights: Drive further south and stop by Huskisson or Vincentia for dolphin or whale watching cruises. -Stop: Ulladulla, a seaside town known for its beaches and harbor. -Destination: Batemans Bay, where you can visit nearby Murramarang National Park for kangaroo spotting on the beach or take a stroll along Clyde River. Day 3: Batemans Bay to Narooma (Approx. 100 km / 1.5 hours) -Highlights: This leg of the journey offers lush coastal scenery and more beautiful beaches. -Stop: Moruya for its peaceful riverside setting, or Broulee Island for nature walks. -Destination: Narooma, famous for the Australia Rock formation, and nearby Montague Island, where you can take a boat trip to see seals and penguins. Day 4: Narooma to Merimbula (Approx. 110 km / 1.5 hours) -Highlights: This stretch takes you through some more relaxed seaside towns with pristine environments. - Stop: Tilba Tilba, a heritage town full of crafts and traditional architecture. - Destination: Merimbula, which offers lakes, beaches, and bushwalking. Don’t miss Pambula Beach and Ben Boyd National Park for coastal walks. Day 5: Merimbula to Lakes Entrance (Approx. 270 km / 3.5 hours) - Highlights: Crossing into Victoria, you'll start to see the Gippsland Lakes region. - Stop: Eden, where you can learn about the local whaling history and spot whales in season (May-November). - Destination: Lakes Entrance, known for its extensive lake system and beautiful beaches. A boat trip or a walk along the Ninety Mile Beach is a must. Day 6: Lakes Entrance to Wilsons Promontory (Approx. 220 km / 3 hours) - Highlights: Explore the Gippsland coast with stops at quiet fishing villages. - Destination: Wilsons Promontory National Park, one of Victoria’s best-loved nature reserves, with hiking trails, wildlife (kangaroos, emus, wombats), and breathtaking beaches like Squeaky Beach. Day 7: Wilsons Promontory to Melbourne (Approx. 220 km / 3 hours) - Highlights: Enjoy the final stretch, with opportunities for coastal views and countryside scenery. - Stop: Inverloch or Phillip Island for penguin viewing (if you have extra time). - Destination: Melbourne, where you can end your journey with the sights and sounds of the city. Important Tips: - Best time to travel: Spring (September-November) and Autumn (March-May) are ideal for pleasant weather and wildlife viewing. - Wildlife : Look out for kangaroos, wombats, and dolphins along the way. - Accommodation: Options range from holiday parks to motels, and luxury coastal retreats. Pre-book during peak seasons. This scenic drive is perfect if you enjoy coastal views, wildlife, and charming small towns! Wah this looks like from some tourism website... can't travel in Spring and Autumn unfortunately... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic April 2 Share April 2 On 4/2/2025 at 9:34 AM, teomingern said: Not so much to see in Brisbane for 7 days... just thinking aloud for now... probably can squeeze out some days to go to Tasmania... heh... I don't like go back to countries I've visited unless it's like years ago... Then must well completely drop off Brisbane. For me Tasmania is a place by itself will need at least 12days, that is call relax trip. Melbourne 12days still many place not able to complete if it is to go slow. I spend 3 nights at GOR during last Dec, still felt tight on schedule there. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged April 2 Author Share April 2 On 4/2/2025 at 12:27 AM, Jman888 said: although driving can go interesting places along the way, however you can skip some route which you probably won't see much. Can try taking overnight coach/train from Sydney to Brisbane so that you won't waste the day time and get rest at the same time, stay fresh for the rest of the journey. Got kids... overnight coach/train cannot... especially when kids need to use toilet middle of night... troublesome... Used to driving long distances... so usually set aside one day to drive... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged April 2 Share April 2 My suggestion for Syd -> Mel is to go via coastal route, you'll see more rather than driving on the M31. Let me know if you need more help. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic April 2 Share April 2 On 4/2/2025 at 9:55 AM, Tohto said: Then must well completely drop off Brisbane. For me Tasmania is a place by itself will need at least 12days, that is call relax trip. Melbourne 12days still many place not able to complete if it is to go slow. I spend 3 nights at GOR during last Dec, still felt tight on schedule there. GOR some do day trip. Just went again a few weeks ago overnight at Port Campbell. Not rushed, just nice (since the others not into hiking so minimal walking). Most of the time looking for nice places to drink kopi/eat. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged April 2 Author Share April 2 (edited) On 4/2/2025 at 11:00 AM, Beanoyip said: My suggestion for Syd -> Mel is to go via coastal route, you'll see more rather than driving on the M31. Let me know if you need more help. Yes that's what I gathered too... will do a more detailed itinerary and then ask for advice... will use Canberra as a rest stop in between... thank you bro! Edited April 2 by teomingern Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 2 Share April 2 On 4/2/2025 at 12:03 PM, teomingern said: Yes that's what I gathered too... will do a more detailed itinerary and then ask for advice... will use Canberra as a rest stop in between... thank you bro! For coastal drive btw Syd and Melb, Canberra will be out of the picture. It should be any town along A1. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic April 2 Share April 2 On 4/2/2025 at 12:03 PM, teomingern said: Yes that's what I gathered too... will do a more detailed itinerary and then ask for advice... will use Canberra as a rest stop in between... thank you bro! Apart from some musuems - I like the ARVO Lancaster bomber there, you can skip ACT. Go along the coast as mentioned. Yes, I've driven long distances in Oz, studied there twice, worked there for two years too, and I go back to Sydney almost every year apart from Covid.. But it's hard on you as a solo driver and not so safe, so please stop and rest every few hours. Best to break up the journey into a few stops along the road. You can do Syd and Mel, plus the Ocean, add many stops and still enjoy a month away. Syd alone can take up two weeks or even more if you want more stuff. I can tell you every nook and cranny to eat in, you just need to share what exactly you like. Eg Mario's Pizza at Croydon https://mariospizzeria.com.au/ El Jennah chicken - simply the best Lebanese chicken https://eljannah.com.au/locations/nsw/granville/ Drummoyne for outlet shopping https://www.birkenheadpoint.com.au/ and many more. You share more of what you want.. I shudder when I think about the long drives, but hey, it's your trip... The highest mountain in OZ is worth a hike in summer too https://www.nationalparks.nsw.gov.au/things-to-do/walking-tracks/mount-kosciuszko-summit-walk 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic April 2 Share April 2 On 4/2/2025 at 9:01 AM, teomingern said: Thanks for the tips... my only concern is the heat and flies (forgot about those)... The difference between a Corolla & Outlander may not be much on a per day basis but over 34 days it will add up to quite a bit... say $20 difference that will make $600+ over 30+ days lor... Hmm looks like I need to do a lot more search for where to stay for Sydney especially in relation to connectivity via trains to the city centre... not going to drive in Sydney in the central areas... it's just crazy even 20 years ago... Thinking of shortening the number of days from Brisbane to 4, Sydney to 5 days and Melbourne to 8 days... then can extract about 8 days to do Tasmania... not sure if that works... Bro you want to add more places? Wow... no la, less is best la But if you subtract Bris and Ade, yes Tassie is worth a week in itself. $600 for 30days is not a lot bro.. have you budgeted for meals? At least $20 per pax per meal. Otherwise you'll be cooking or having Maggi very often. As for hotels, motels and apartments are much cheaper, but $200 is entry level ok? Unless you're out of Syd, eg Bath, Penrinth, Blacktown or further. Also consider more days in the Blue Mts, stay at Leura or smaller towns for savings or even Bath. Parramatta is also cheaper to stay and is about 40min by train from Syd CBD. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic April 2 Share April 2 To give you some idea of costs bro: Meals $20 per pax per meal Tolls in Syd, up to $30 a day if you don't plan well. Attractions can cost $30-60 per pax Opera house has last minute tickets or plan for >$100 Don't go to Taroonga Zoo, go to https://www.featherdale.com.au/ instead The opera, the bridge, the mountains are SOP Also walk about The Rocks, take the ferry, walk from Spit to Manly for free, meet some stars along the way, eat fish and chips along the harbor, and sit by Darling Harbor to people watch.. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged April 2 Share April 2 I drove to the Royal Australian Air Force Museum in Melbourne before. A very well set up place for any aviation buff. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...