Raubern 6th Gear April 5 Share April 5 The Housing Board is taking legal action against a homeowner at Block 105 Henderson Crescent to allow HDB to enter his flat and carry out repairs to fix a water leakage. Stomper Ming, who lives one storey below the homeowner, shared photos of leaked water accumulated in a ceiling light fixture and collected in pails and pots on the floor. "Tell me how to live in such conditions," said the Stomper. Her neighbours, an elderly woman and her grandson who lived directly below the homeowner, moved out of their 50-year-old flat as they were worried they would get an electric shock because of the leakage among other concerns. The son of the woman told Lianhe Zaobao the ceiling has been leaking water since 2022. It started in the kitchen, then spread to the living room and bedroom, where the flooring was damaged by the water. HDB confirmed to Zaobao that the water leakage originated from the homeowner's flat and was believed to be caused by the aging waterproofing layer. In January 2024, HDB carried out partial repairs on the drain in the kitchen of the upstairs flat. Additional maintenance work on the toilet was scheduled two months later, but the homeowner repeatedly refused to allow maintenance staff to enter, so the maintenance work could not be carried out. HDB said it had tried to contact the homeowner several times and sent four lawyers' letters between April and November 2024, asking him to cooperate, but the homeowner insisted that the water leakage had nothing to do with his flat. The board also hired a contractor to use microwave imaging technology to scan through the concrete, confirming that the water seepage came from the upstairs flat. Grassroots leaders tried to mediate and provide assistance with repair cost but to no avail. HDB added that it is preparing to file a lawsuit to compel the homeowner to allow repairs to be made. ↡ Advertisement 2 2 4 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic April 5 Share April 5 "preparing to file"..... Maybe another 3 years to actually get into the unit for repairs. Pity those affected. 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear April 5 Share April 5 By the time lawsuit finish, can go in repair, the rebar inside the floor slab already chui liao lah... 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flying_genie 6th Gear April 6 Share April 6 Why did HDB allow this to drag on for so long? The poor victims have to live through this hell. 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic April 6 Share April 6 (edited) On 4/6/2025 at 8:12 AM, Flying_genie said: Why did HDB allow this to drag on for so long? The poor victims have to live through this hell. Cos they are PS who is in charge of the town council? Edited April 6 by Volvobrick 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic April 6 Share April 6 (edited) On 4/6/2025 at 8:12 AM, Flying_genie said: Why did HDB allow this to drag on for so long? The poor victims have to live through this hell. That says so much about the HDB. Totally useless. Edited April 6 by Atrecord Typo 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 6 Share April 6 On 4/5/2025 at 11:03 PM, Volvobrick said: "preparing to file"..... Maybe another 3 years to actually get into the unit for repairs. Pity those affected. Can like that one, don’t allow authority to go inside the flat to repair? This is why if the above unit has water leaking problem, very problematic and troublesome. Whether the owner cooperates or not. Is that why many people say don’t stay in old hdb, cause water leaking problem high chance will have. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 6 Share April 6 On 4/6/2025 at 8:12 AM, Flying_genie said: Why did HDB allow this to drag on for so long? The poor victims have to live through this hell. Because HDB is another useless and jiao liao bee organisation lo. Anything such issue happen, they cannot help one. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
lifesgreat33 Neutral Newbie April 6 Share April 6 You want buy model every time call HDB for what? If lease model....urgent repair just go in liao.... standard tenancy clause. Call MCST aka town council equivalent lah....they don't act then change lah ... But renewal once every 5 yrs.....lol...MP tough job hor.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 6 Share April 6 On 4/6/2025 at 8:31 AM, Volvobrick said: Cos they are PS who is in charge of the town council? Tg Pagar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 6 Share April 6 On 4/6/2025 at 10:19 AM, Atrecord said: That says so much about the HDB. Totally useless. HDB/TC does not have the power to make the owner to fix the problem unless it is a order. My toilet has seepage problem for years. Complain to HDB/TC. HDB/TC cannot make my upstairs neighbour to fix problem if the neighbour doesn’t want to fix it. 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic April 6 Share April 6 On 4/6/2025 at 11:40 AM, inlinesix said: HDB/TC does not have the power to make the owner to fix the problem unless it is a order. My toilet has seepage problem for years. Complain to HDB/TC. HDB/TC cannot make my upstairs neighbour to fix problem if the neighbour doesn’t want to fix it. Just inject polyurethane foam and let it fill up their bathroom. 4 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged April 6 Share April 6 This Area under PAP.?Ask the MP/Grassroot Leaders come to see,use Election is coming,tell them wake up. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged April 6 Share April 6 (edited) On 4/6/2025 at 10:46 AM, 13177 said: Can like that one, don’t allow authority to go inside the flat to repair? This is why if the above unit has water leaking problem, very problematic and troublesome. Whether the owner cooperates or not. Is that why many people say don’t stay in old hdb, cause water leaking problem high chance will have. I have encountered quite a few of such issues before from my downstairs units. Whenever i hear such things, I will make it a priority to fix it back. I don't care how much is the cost to me, I simply hate inconveniencing others so I got to fix it back. I cannot understand why some people just don't care if they are troubling others. Such inconsiderate attitude will eventually attract troubles to one's life. Edited April 6 by Stary 14 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic April 6 Share April 6 (edited) On 4/6/2025 at 11:44 AM, Volvobrick said: Just inject polyurethane foam and let it fill up their bathroom. Injection only stops the leak from flowing there. The water will still find a way. If you are lucky, then the water leaks outside the building and then not your problem. If the leak goes the opposite way and instead of leaking in the toilet or outside, it now leaks in your bedroom. Then Siao Liao. Edited April 6 by Mkl22 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic April 6 Share April 6 On 4/6/2025 at 12:58 PM, Stary said: I have encountered quite a few of such issues before from my downstairs units. Whenever i hear such things, I will make it a priority to fix it back. I don't care how much is the cost to me, I simply hate inconveniencing others so I got to fix it back. I cannot understand why some people just don't care if they are troubling others. Such inconsiderate attitude will eventually attract troubles to one's life. Low life. plenty of such low life abound! Same idiots who urinate and do as they please. if the same happens to them these low life will complain non stop! 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged April 6 Share April 6 It is high time that HDB rewrites the terms of lease, at least for new flats, to ensure that occupiers cannot drag their feet on essential repairs that affect other people. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic April 6 Share April 6 On 4/6/2025 at 1:33 PM, Mkl22 said: Injection only stops the leak from flowing there. The water will still find a way. If you are lucky, then the water leaks outside the building and then not your problem. If the leak goes the opposite way and instead of leaking in the toilet or outside, it now leaks in your bedroom. Then Siao Liao. Then inject into the bedroom too.... ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...