"Vegan" leather car seats care

Sofarsogood

With the EV cars mostly going vegan on the seats and interior, what do you guys use for a fuss free maintenance. I've searched a couple of Youtube videos, they mentioned some products (interior ceramic coating) which were not available in Singapore.

On 11/19/2025 at 7:13 AM, Sofarsogood said:

With the EV cars mostly going vegan on the seats and interior, what do you guys use for a fuss free maintenance. I've searched a couple of Youtube videos, they mentioned some products (interior ceramic coating) which were not available in Singapore.

PVC seats like bus seats almost maintenance free, just wipe with water at most. 

PVC is PVC... all the ang mo repackaging  bulls**t about vegan leather... 

Edited by Mkl22

On 11/19/2025 at 8:32 AM, Mkl22 said:

PVC is PVC... all the ang mo bulls**t about vegan leather... 

It may not be PVC.

It could be PU

Fabric best. If quality fabric is used, even bestest. It is even used in Toyota Crown.

Edited by Kangadrool

On 11/19/2025 at 7:13 AM, Sofarsogood said:

interior ceramic coating is all bluff lah. 

most of our leather is alrd not real leather liao, mostly are man-made leather. They are almost maintenance free one. they do have weakness also, they are scare of heat and UV. so it will peel when there is prolong UV exposure. 

Don't need to bother about putting a coat lah. hahaha. You will still fart on the seat one. later mix with the coating become bio-hazard. 

If it will take awhile for PU leather to peel, if that happens, you better check the car brakes and other mechanic issues first. that will be how long the "vegan leather" will last. by then u might want to change car, or just change a new car seats. can change color somemore. 

• Haha! 7

On 11/19/2025 at 9:08 AM, Kangadrool said:

Fabric best. If quality fabric is used, even bestest. It is even used in Toyota Crown.

which is why i do not understand people stripping off brand new factory fabric seats to replace with rubbish local 1/2 leather, sometime with poor stitching and fit. 

Just use something like Amourall or Meguiers interior protectant. Or any other brand.

My car supposedly got Nappa leather but since the door sides and non seat areas are synthetic, I dont f**k care just use UV protectant even on the seats. Did that with my old Audi S4 (also Nappa on seats and PU/Plastic everywhere else), no problem.

I really liked the discontinued Armorall Clear Gel. Much better than the spray on but they discontinued it.

Edited by Ake109

On 11/19/2025 at 10:13 AM, Mkl22 said:

which is why i do not understand people stripping off brand new factory fabric seats to replace with rubbish local 1/2 leather, sometime with poor stitching and fit. 

image.thumb.png.cb64b900fb2570867ec4f2c93cb9b339.png vs 
clean-leather-wallets.jpg&f=1&nofb=1&ipt

Which one feel more premium? hahaha. I think this is how the distributor derieve the "premium-ness" I like my seats fabric also. Due to the hot weather we have. 

On 11/19/2025 at 2:20 PM, kobayashiGT said:

image.thumb.png.cb64b900fb2570867ec4f2c93cb9b339.png vs 
clean-leather-wallets.jpg&f=1&nofb=1&ipt

Which one feel more premium? hahaha. I think this is how the distributor derieve the "premium-ness" I like my seats fabric also. Due to the hot weather we have. 

Like my BMW came with Alcantara Seats,at first i thought look & feel cheaper than Leather,later some Owners told me Alcantara is actually a better grade than Leather used in Low End BMWs.

Edited by ER-3682

On 11/19/2025 at 8:32 AM, Mkl22 said:

PVC is PVC... all the ang mo repackaging  bulls**t about vegan leather... 

this

for my car, genuine or fake leather

I just wipe it with a piece of damp microfiber cloth 

for my motorcycle leather jackets

those are made of top grain uncoated leather

I use mink oil

On 11/19/2025 at 2:56 PM, ER-3682 said:

Like my BMW came with Alcantara Seats,at first i thought look & feel cheaper than Leather,later some Owners told me Alcantara is actually a better grade than Leather used in Low End BMWs.

I did not like the Alcantara on my 140i Shadow. Its nice if its freezing winter but in Singapore, hand and butt sauce will get to it sooner or later.

you dunno the good stuff. hahahha. 

On 11/19/2025 at 9:49 AM, Sofarsogood said:

How about on-the-spot cleaning, especially accidental spill, pen, clothing color transfer?

image.thumb.png.d39ad2035af05a163748ad3d2a508ef4.png

Just use this. It is vegan also! 

Alcantara sounds atas but it's synthetic vagan suede. 

On 11/19/2025 at 5:17 PM, Ake109 said:

I did not like the Alcantara on my 140i Shadow. Its nice if its freezing winter but in Singapore, hand and butt sauce will get to it sooner or later.

Same experience. I perspire easily. I just add a 30 dollar TB electric ventilated seat cushion. Can't live/leave without it! 

I thought MCF member change car long before leather/fabric seat deteriorated? 😁

Joke aside, so far my previous 2 ride didn't face any issue with local fitted leather.

Didn't really do any maintenance, just wipe the seat leather clean during car wash......