Will U Tailgate Someone on a Rainy Day

Autocraze

Will U Tailgate Someone on a Rainy Day  

51 members have voted

1. 1.

• No (It's Dangerous!)
    • Maybe (Depend on speed I'm travelling)
    • Definitely (I'm Good at it)

Scene: Lornie Rd towards Adam Road (03 lanes)

Weather: Heavy Downpour

Time: abt. Noon

Was travelling 55-60km/h on 2nd lane behind a convoy of vans & lorries (later found out the 'leader' was a bike upfront).

Decides to filter out & overtake as 1st lane is clear of vehicles. From mirrors, noticed a dark color alfa approaching from far.

I filtered right into 1st lane & accelerates. Alfa approaches 'fast & furious' & in seconds, was tailgating me. I checked my speed (am travelling @ 75km/h already).

I accelerate more to reach 80km/h but the alfa still does not give up (bugger on his high beam & tailgates me even closer - telling me to f**** off). There was no way for me to filter out due to the convoy of vans & lorries to my left. I only managed to filter back in after abt. 15 secs. The alfa immediately sped off (hitting 100km/h, I supposed)

I was mad... veli mad!!!! On such a lousy weather, travelling @80km/h is already my limit (or rather, above normal road limit). What if I decide to jam hard on my brake suddenly??? I don't think the bugger behind can response in time....

Therefore, my advice to the alfa stylo who tailgates me today: BU YAO XIA WO... WHEN I'M AFRAID, I WILL PANIC & CAN'T REFRAIN MY LEG FROM JAMMING HARD ON THE BRAKE SUDDENLY, DON'T FORCE ME..IT'S DANGEROUS.......FOR U, I MEAN...

Does any of u guys practice what the alfa stylo did sly.gif

bound to have this kind of idiots ard best is to avoid them

unless u want them to pay for yr new bumper smile.gif

=============================================

if I can siam back into 2nd lane, I would have done so much earlier...

but tat kind of weather & speed, if 'choi choi'smash.gif something happens, don't think he can live to pay for my bumpersweatdrop.gifunsure.gif

It's best not to tail gate, in whatever weather, at whatever speed. [sweatdrop] Wait I kiss the guy in front, any reasoning I give also I loogi. [:(]

The guy in front may purposely slow down more to hinder you. [:(]

The guy in front may really try to filter back into the slower lane by braking to slow down first to join the left. [dead]

The guy in front may be angry enough to trade a rear bumper with you. [dizzy]

The guy in front may be shocked into doing something unpredictable. [shocked]

And worse still, a TP may be around to see that you're a very very naughty driver... Again I loogi. [shakehead]

Tail-gater loogi one... [:(]

But you also dun jam brake lah... [sweatdrop] , your car new, wait you also loogi... [:(]

Let's all minimize loogi-ness. [nod]

nod.gifnod.gif well said thumbsup.gif... sidetrack: was thinking, when he high-beamed me.. skali I can see MCF words being flashed out (just like calling batman in gothem city...)... laugh.giflaugh.gif... tat will be a different story....

Hi Autocraze,

No, I will definitely not tailgate anyone, rain or shine! [shakehead]

To tailgate on a fine day is already a bad idea [thumbsdown] . To do so on a rainy day is really irresponsible. Granted that he may be in a rush or an emergency; even so he could have kept a safe distance and flickered his high beam to signal his intention and allow you sufficient time and space to filter. Good thing when you accelerated to 80kph there were no traffic in front(I assume), otherwise should the front vehicle need to e-brake, then unpleasant things can happen, as it did to an MCF forummer not too long ago!

Wahahaha... [laugh]

MCFers will swoop down from all corners of Singapore.

If MCFer kena bully, we'll all crowd around and put a stop to it. [mad]

If both are MCFers, then we'll mediate peacefully. [:)]

Dun think its one of our guys lah... here all very responsible drivers one. [thumbsup] Cos no one wants to loogi too, economy kena sai now some more. [thumbsdown] (side track too: Notice nowadays all my colleagues arrive at work with shifty eyes, like 1st thing in the morning looking for signs that there'll be an impending retrenchment.)

Maybe black alfa in a very big hurry...? Something very critical? Normally no one drives like a mad man in wet weather... perhaps really something really important. [gossip] Give him benefit of doubt, forget about it ba. [:)]

Good thing when you accelerated to 80kph there were no traffic in front(I assume), otherwise should the front vehicle need to e-brake, then unpleasant things can happen, as it did to an MCF forummer not too long ago!

=====================================================

ur right...no vehicle in front....

actually, that stretch of road is usually quite free of vehicles around noon (one down pt. is the lanes seem abit narrower than normal ones, & the 1st lane is considerably close to the side metal railing)...

sorry to hear abt. the MCF forumer's mishap... he okay ??

...yeah, he's fine. Understand that a Benz tailgated him and being a nice guy, he opened up throttle to speed up hence shortening distance to taxi in front which unfortunately, had to e-brake. He stopped in time but Benz kissed his backside. Good thing he drives a solid conti; still had to change out bumpers.

economy kena sai now some more. thumbsdown.gif (side track too: Notice nowadays all my colleagues arrive at work with shifty eyes, like 1st thing in the morning looking for signs that there'll be an impending retrenchment.)

=====================================================

wahshocked.gifshocked.gif, so bad huh??? which industry u in?? heard now the only ones doing exceptionally well are those dealing in chemicals....my pal's wife work in a local swedish MNC.... bought over a few other co. last year. She in industry for almost 3 years & job hops to this swedish MNC (pay increases almost 2.5x over the yrs.. serious.. from $1+++ to now $3+++)... got variable bonus (min. 2mths) + whatever CPF gahmen cut, they rebate back to employee's mthly pay-check...

Maybe black alfa in a very big hurry...? Something very critical? Normally no one drives like a mad man in wet weather... perhaps really something really important. gossip.gif Give him benefit of doubt, forget about it ba. smile.gif

===================================================

me not angry with him.. just feel that wat he did was very dangerous & life threatening....thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifwink.gif

IT lor... [:(] I think IT and construction can hand in hand go to lalaland for unpaid vacation this time. [bigcry]

Oh well, there were rolling good times before, now there are bad times... We had our really good days before, so just take it in stride... (sound so positive hor... bluff who? [laugh] )

Now they pushing for bio-tech too rite? [gossip]

Oh well, there were rolling good times before, now there are bad times... We had our really good days before, so just take it in stride... (sound so positive hor... bluff who? laugh.gif )

Now they pushing for bio-tech too rite? gossip.gif

===============================================

yup.. true fact of life cycles for any businesses... when SARsknife.gif suddenly hit asia, it brought sudden wealth & huge profits to those selling medical kits & services.... ppl like 3M, Kimberly-C etc...

bio-tech yes... but I heard one must be veli specialised & trained for this industry... Lot of them are recruited from overseas now (e.g China)... lower pay-check as compared to local talents...

My personal policy is never tailgate.

Once there was this bugger in a Nissan X-Trail who thinks that his SUV is darn stylo and fast. Tailgate me along AYE untill I can see his face in my rear view mirror. There was a taxi, (and more cars ahead of that taxi), infront of me and I was already only about 1 car length away from him.

So this bugger tried to overtake on the left... [shakehead][shakehead] and squeeze into the gap b/w the taxi and the other car in front. [laugh][laugh] The taxi refuses to give him space and neither did I.

Some people have their brains in their small head down there and not the head on their shoulders. They think with their d***.

If the road (lane 1) in front of me is clear I will give way, but if the road is pack with cars I will just sit in my lane. Unless it is an abmulance, fire truck or a cop who is tailgating me. [laugh][laugh] .

Most Conti cars have rear fog lights too. So if any bugger tailgate me at night I will just switch on my rear fogs and dazzle him with their brillance.

Edited by Cool_jazz

I'll not tailgate.. even in normal weather... but even in rainy weather.. i'll go at about 90km/h to 100km/h.... if there's not car in front of me... cos I don't want to road hog....

Some people will not learn until someone gets killed or somehting bad happens to their beloved ALFA ..... rifle.gif

----------------------------------

nod.gifnod.gif... something happens to beloved alfa, you can still earn $$ & buy again... something happens to either drivers or any 3rd parties.. u'll live to regret it.... thumbsdown.gif

'on the road, life or death is only a matter of seconds... it's never a 50-50 chance... it's a 100-0... either u survive or sweatdrop.gif '