Tyre Expiry Date

Vit4wd

>> Tire expiry date

>> I m going to teach you how to check your car

>> tires to see if its expire!! The date your car

>> tire are manufacture and the date of expire

>> is only 5 years. I know a lot of people will say

>> that 5 years ah, my tire already botak loh!

>> Yes, its true. But what if your newly bought

>> tire that have a life of only one month to

>> expire? How are you going to check, whether

>> the tire mechanic is bluffing you. Now, go to

>> your car tire and check for this sign:

>>

>> ( *2603* ) The asterik is at the begining and

>> the end of this number. The first two number

>> 26 means the number of weeks in that year

>> it manufacture, ( one year have 52 weeks,

>> remember ) The last two number is the year

>> its manufacture. The above 2603 show that

>> the tire's are manufacture in the 26 weeks of

>> year 2003.

>> ( *2699* ) This number show that this tire's

>> are manufacture in the 26 weeks of year 1999.

>>

>> If you are going for a long distance journey, do

>> check all your tires for your own and your

>> dearest passenger safety. Expired tire are

>> bound to be exploded if its run on a hot

>> weather, because the car tires rubber and the

>> inner layer are starting to crack up.

============================================================================

Please advise if the last paragraph is true.

My current tyres has been used for 5yr 2mth.

It was manufactured in mid 1998.

There is slightly above 1/3 thread left. I've travelled only 32,000 km on this tyre.

Is it safe to continue using it? I did notice fine hairline cracks on the edges.

Thanks!

i can't say whether the last paragraph is absolutely true (in that it will explode, etc)... but rubber will naturally harden over time... when the tyres are harden, the grip is reduced and it tends to crack easily... also, the 5 years lifespan of a tyre is more about the shelf life rather than on-the-road life... when exposed to sun and rain often, it will probably have a shorter lifespan than 5 years... so it may be time for you to change yours soon...

hehe just asking if anyone goes to that extent.

if take out I think most probably everything can clean...tyre,rim, wheel wells, springs..etc..

not to mention...good workout

Edited by Kardachia

i posted this before.....

dun clean the inside dish too often, remember you balancing metals are all pasted there.....too much of cleaning can coz it to drop....then buay balance liao

I finally used it till exactly 73 months (6 years), before changing.

At the CAS tyre shop, the person said it was waste change my tyres, still got lots of thread left.