Adzz Neutral Newbie July 18, 2006 Share July 18, 2006 haha, time to up this thread for a while. I have a bottle of SRP and EGP with me. And I intend to use these 2 products after claybaring the car. Once EGP is completed, do I need to apply any waxing too, like Meguiars Tech Wax? or EGP will do the job for at least 1 month or more? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toalson 1st Gear July 18, 2006 Share July 18, 2006 For extra shine can top up with wax, but EGP alone can definitely last for a mth even under the sun. But not such if Tech wax contain cleaner, if it does it might just strip ur EGP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Southpark2000 Neutral Newbie July 18, 2006 Share July 18, 2006 EGP good enuf..... I am currently on SRP+EGP.....lasting me 3-4 mths Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adzz Neutral Newbie July 18, 2006 Share July 18, 2006 Sounds good. Looks like I don't have to spend extra money on Wax then. Would like to confirm what I will be doing before proceeding. :) Anyway, this is what I plan to do: 1) Wash the rims and tires first, and change the pail of water to a clean one. 2) Wash down the car once with water. I will be connecting a hose to the tap at the MSCP. 3) Wash the car with Meguiars NXT carwash in the following order - top, side windows, front and back windows, bonnet, side doors, boot, and lastly front and rear bumpers. Should I maintain wetness for claybar application or should I dry the car first? 4) Claybar the car... (planning to get the dark metal color one. My ride is macha green though, a light color ride. Should I get soft99 white one instead?) Again, should I do the whole car, or split it over 2 days? 5) After claybar, I will use SRP in small circular motion, and doing a straight wipe before the SRP dries up, and leaving it for few minutes. I plan to use Meguiars Applicator pads. Is there any other recommendations on what should I use for SRP application? I have a polishing cloth (U-Care brand) 6) Once the whole car is treated with SRP, I will apply EGP. Would need advice on what kind of cloth should I use too. :) 7) Leave EGP for about 2 hours before buffing off manually. Am I able to reapply EGP again after buffing? I plan to do like 4-5 layers over the next few days. For some treatment, what are the follow up steps? I'm not sure how much time I would need in order to complete the whole detailing session. Some points to take note - My Honda Jazz ride has never been treated with Glare or other protection services. For the past 4 months, been just washing, and the ride feels like sand, very rough. LOL. Really appreciate if any bros can comment on my steps, and any additional steps I missed out. Thanks! Adzz (Macha Green ride) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Southpark2000 Neutral Newbie July 18, 2006 Share July 18, 2006 (edited) Wow.....sounds like a solid plan straight from Autopia I personally wash the car body with shampoo (as u described from #2) b4 the rims....unless the rims are totally caked in mud, or u using those rim cleaner to remove brake dust. The reason is that after washing car body, u will hav some excess shampoo which is used to clean the wheels, and arches. The shampoo will help remove the dirt and brake dust. Oso to prevent accidental accumulation of grit, dirt, and brake dust in the pail (easier to rinse).No nid to waste water. What I do is either use yr car sponge (else a scoop / NS mug) to bring water to car body and rinse it (by squeezing the sponge to release water - not running the sponge on the car body; for scoop...splash it). When using this method, I use hand to make sure water on car mix with watever dirt and dust on car, i.e., make car body wet (make sure no wear ring, etc.; no nid pressure oso)Nvr did claybar b4. In any case, wash car, rinse, prepare another soapy pail of shampoo water as lubricant, run claybar on small area of car using light pressure (keep area well lubed). Then rinse and dry. (think yr Jazz nid to claybar cos' got that sandpaper feeling). Though soft99 say got claybar for diff. color, but think no difference lah...If too siong, can do it ovr 2 days: DAY 1: after clay, dry car, park; DAY 2: water rinse car and dry (shampoo not really required - assuming u nvr drive out etc.; else quick wash, rinse, dry) b4 applying SRP + EGP.U-care brand works well as polishing cloth for applying SRP. For EGP, I recommend those Meguiar's round yellow foam pads; or those sponge applicators with a hi-density foam backing. For buffing out SRP & EGP, a good mircofibre towel wld suffice (say turtlewax - being affordable enuf). Beauty of SRP and EGP is that u apply to whole car, wait to dry / cure, buff vs. section by section.I wld apply SRP to whole car; have nice cool iced li mong teh; buff away; stand back and admire. Then apply EGP to whole car; lim some more li mong teh; do a bit of detailing on the trims and plastics; wait few hrs if u like, then buff away; do last touch ups, detail tyres, windows, then stand back and admire again. I v. slow wan....typically I take abt 6 hrs (no claybar)....of which abt 1 & 1/2 hrs is just to wash and dry the car.... . I start early say 10-ish; finish by 4-ish. If I chop chop, breathe in, and get it on, maybe can cut a hr from the process... but dunno after that, the old man in me will or notU can apply EGP the following week. Let it cure for 24hrs at least....though I personally feel no nid. Prefer to wash every week (max. every fortnight wash once) and repeat process every 3 - 5 mths.Remember: no paint sealant will protect yr car if u do not wash it weekly / fortnightly. Oso, see car got bird**** quickly remove. Put a small bottle of clean water in car (those sports gatorade squeeze bottle). Wet tissue and bird poo. Place tissue on bird poo and let it stand for while. Purpose is to loosen and soften bird poo. Use tissue to pick it up. Squirt water to blast the remaining poo away. Take care of seeds in the poo and not rub rub....else sure scratch wan.... repeat process as necessary to clear poo away. Ditto for tree sap.Only thing I guess u missed out is detailing the windows, trimmings and tyres though I suspect it's more forgetting to document them here as opposed to not doing themSorry for the long post....hope that helps!!! Southpark The Dude EDIT: SRP/EGP will last a while....3 mths at least. U can tell as u rinse yr car for weekly wash....can see how nice and round the water droplets form. When u see it less and less, time to do liao.... Edited July 18, 2006 by Southpark2000 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scrambyjess Neutral Newbie July 18, 2006 Share July 18, 2006 Hi, here are the procedure im adapting using Autoglym products. Im an Autoglym Fanatic. Correct me if im wrong.. 1) Shampoo wash using autoglym bodywork conditioner 2) dry car using autoglym aqua dry synthetic leather 3) claybar using soft99 (dark/white doesnt matter) with spray bottle containing autoglym bodywork shampoo 4) rinse with water 5) dry again 6) Super resin polish whole car with meguairs application pads (yellow) 7) buff off polish after entire car is applied, with AG finishing cloth 8) extra gloss whole car with new application pad 9) touchup plastic, rubber trims and interior while EGP dries (minimum 2 hrs) 10) buff off using new AG finishing cloth 11) repeat steps 8 to 10 if desire done. tips: 1) product application = thin and evenly 2) avoid using Ultra deep shine with EGP! 3) leave EGP overnite before buffing off :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adzz Neutral Newbie July 19, 2006 Share July 19, 2006 Woo. Thanks for the detailed reply, both Southpark2000 and Scrambyjess! Got to need some time to absorb the stuff that you guys mentioned. I guess the main points are highlighted already. Just that I need some advice on the materials to be used. :) Ok, at least the applicator pads are solved. I have one, and I have to buy 1 more. :) For SRP and EGP separately. Southpark2000: I read from a lot of forums, and did some own compilation on the steps to be done. I have been washing the car before the rims and tires too, but I think its time for a change, just to try what's the difference. But I reckon that tires and rims are hard to clean too. Going to standby lots of 20 cents already. Say 10-20 of them. LOL. Major operation. Its still cheaper than going to a carwash which charges 5 bucks. Probably will prepare 3-4 pails too, so that I can store lots of water for use. I dunno if should just claybar and leave for the night. Definitely, I have to drive out the next morning. If so, I have to wash again, and I'm not sure a naked-coated Jazz will be ideal. Am I able to use Meguiars yellow applicator pads for applying SRP and EGP while using U-Care polishing cloth to buff out. AG polishing cloth is pretty expensive, at 13.60 now. Yea, I missed the windows. I have a bottle of AG Glass Polish. That should come in handy. Think I'm missing a lot of stuff to do. Got to come out with a checklist. Maybe can setup a bed too in Jazz. Sleep ON. Typically, I will start doing from 10am. Already told my gf to return home herself from work for that day. So.... 10am to next day 7am.. Everything needs to be completed. 21 hours. Tsk tsk... Scarmbyjess: The AG finishing cloth you were referring to is it the AG polishing cloth? I like your idea of using a spray containing shampoo. Sure makes thing easy than to use a sponge to squeeze water out. For EGP, I think I will do 2 coatings for the first time round, leaving it to dry for 2 hours for each application. One question though. So after I buff off SRP, I just apply EGP right away? Same goes for buffing away EGP, do I immediately EGP again the same way, or something else needs to be done before the second application? In fact I tried claybaring my bonnet and top before, and applying a layer of SRP. But the smoothness lasted for only like 2 days. 1 downpour and the surface is back to toughness again. Sorry for the long string of questions again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scrambyjess Neutral Newbie July 19, 2006 Share July 19, 2006 (edited) Yea you can apply the EGP straight after buffing off SRP, and subsequent 2nd or 3rd coating of the EGP one after another (apply, buff, apply and buff). Its suppose to add more layers of protection to the surface. But It will be damn costly and time consuming.. Regarding the claybar, surface is back to 'toughness', you mean its back to 'grainy'? If not, I believed its becoz you skipped the EGP step, as the SRP you applied is only a polish. EGP is the one that gives a lasting and slicker feel to the surface. Full steps for me: 1. wash 2. claybar 3. surface cleaner (if neccessary to remove any existing application) 4. polish (SRP) 5. sealant (EGP) 6. wax (if neccessary)(unfortunately autoglym doesn't come up with) My Detailing Kit: Edited July 19, 2006 by Scrambyjess Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Southpark2000 Neutral Newbie July 19, 2006 Share July 19, 2006 [reply] Going to standby lots of 20 cents already. Say 10-20 of them. LOL. Major operation. - u washing an APC is it? For me, when use a brake dust cleaner (use a Meg wheel spoke cleaner - helps tremendously), it's 60 cents (1 1/2 pails per 20 cents : 1st 20 cents to clean rims; last 40 cents to wet, soap, n rinse); else normal method is ard 40 cents. Else just carry a pail of water down from hse lah....v. much cheaper - sometimes I do that....else, find see MSCP got tap that is not locked........ [reply] Am I able to use Meguiars yellow applicator pads for applying SRP and EGP while using U-Care polishing cloth to buff out. AG polishing cloth is pretty expensive, at 13.60 now. U can, as Bro Scarmbyjess suggested. That said, I prefer using the polishing cloth of U-care / Autoglym (essentially the same) as it provides a bit more "bite" / "cutting pwr" to polish the ride swee swee.... Somewhere in Autopia (I think) - a UK blok did mention something along those lines. Some folks dunno how to apply SRP, use it like spead cream / icing on the cake...which is wrong. According to instructions, apply light-medium pressure to deep clean and give that extra polish. Notice I din recommend using MF cloth for that - #1 for above reason (more bite) and #2 MF cloth absorb SRP / EGP....so waste pdt. And note hor, the polishing cloth can be washed and reused!!! Not use and throw away. I still using that few 2-3 pieces of AG polishing cloth since Day 1.... U-care is cheap.....I think I got a big roll for under $10 - and b4 a 20% discount during one of those Stamford sales!!! [reply] I have a bottle of AG Glass Polish. That should come in handy. - just remember it's only for external - cannot use on mirrors or internal tinted windows. Use the polishing cloth or a terry cotton cloth for that. [reply] Typically, I will start doing from 10am. Already told my gf to return home herself from work for that day. So.... 10am to next day 7am.. Everything needs to be completed. 21 hours. Tsk tsk... Me reckon shld b able to finish within the day...say by 7pm or so..... [reply] But the smoothness lasted for only like 2 days. 1 downpour and the surface is back to toughness again. Smoothness is not a gd measure of protection. Beading is. Surface rough, either claybar or use Soft99 Quan-Mie HLB cleaner. That is my pre-polish ingredient and use it in place of claybar, bug and tar, those waterspots, and runs (dried up black "stream" of rain water esp. along the car water drainage system). Worked for me. But if that one cannot clear the roughness, I then use clarbar (so far nvr). Hope that helps Southpark The Dude Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adzz Neutral Newbie July 19, 2006 Share July 19, 2006 Thanks bros! Everything is much clearer now. Time to give a summary on what I have to do and what additional stuff I need to purchase. :) Be right back! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adzz Neutral Newbie August 11, 2006 Share August 11, 2006 Just some updates! I finally detailed a bit of my ride - mainly the boot, bonnet and the top. For the side doors, I am still trying to find a suitable time to claybar before SRP and EGP. The first test happened today when I was on my way back from Changi this morning when it suddenly rained so heavily. The car was initially dirty at first. But the rain took away all the dirt from the top and bonnet. The boot was still dirty as there is no drag force to force the water away. I was unable to see any beading coz the water just slides off from the smooth PIE drive at 80km/h. By the time I reached West side. The bonnet and top is super dry and visibly clean. Front bumper still have patches of water clinging onto the body. for SRP and EGP! Now, my question, after 3 days of not washing the car and after the downpour, the smoothness is still there, but of coz to a lesser effect. I want to maintain the super smooth feeling. 1) Should I get some quick detailer or spray wax to use it after every car wash? 2) Should I apply 2-3 more layers of EGP instead? If so, must I do a SRP first, or just wash with car shampoo, then dry and EGP right away? I read on autopia on quick detailing which can be done in 10-15 mins. Is it possible for our SG weather and dust. Just one day, I can see carbon dirt particles on my green ride already. The site mentions using a car duster to dust away the dirt, followed by spraying quick detailer lotion, and wipe down with MF towels. Once dirty, change towel. Is it really effective and better than washing car once or twice a week? Sorry for the long set of questions again. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adzz Neutral Newbie August 12, 2006 Share August 12, 2006 any gurus? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Southpark2000 Neutral Newbie August 12, 2006 Share August 12, 2006 (edited) [reply] Now, my question, after 3 days of not washing the car and after the downpour, the smoothness is still there, but of coz to a lesser effect. I want to maintain the super smooth feeling. 1) Should I get some quick detailer or spray wax to use it after every car wash? Yes - u can get a QD to use it after every car wash. But no, I tend not to recommend it. Despite the loss of smooth feeling, the protection is still v. much there. Dun waste time, effort and $$$. Just make sure QD has minimal / little cleaning ability and u'll do fine. [reply] 2) Should I apply 2-3 more layers of EGP instead? If so, must I do a SRP first, or just wash with car shampoo, then dry and EGP right away? That's an expensive way of doing QD though safer. No nid SRP. Can do EGP after wash n dry. Southpark The Dude Edited August 12, 2006 by Southpark2000 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adzz Neutral Newbie August 12, 2006 Share August 12, 2006 Thanks Southpark Bro! Seems that SRP makes the ride smoother than EGP, IMO. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scrambyjess Neutral Newbie August 15, 2006 Share August 15, 2006 SRP and EGP are indeed a good combo. However, try NOT to SRP your ride too often, as it contains abrasive which will reduce your paint layers. SRP once per month should be suitable, or apply whenever there's stains or light scratches spotted. You should follow up by EGP after each application of SRP for best results and protection, and yes you can also EGP after every wash, Provided you have enuf patience and time. It is NOT a must to SRP everytime before EGP. Some people can EGP up to several layers in one go, and some prefer to do it weekly after a wash. How many layers of EGP are up to your preferance. Personally for me I prefer to quick detail after car wash, it all depends on the condition of the car, unless your car is full of swirls or scratches every time. QD your car as and when you like, but choose a QD with mimimal cleaning agents, coz you wont want to clean away the EGP protection you already have. Here's an example of a rountine maintenance I adopt: SRP + EGP (monthly) Wash + QD (weekly or daily/ up to uour preference) Hope you have a clearer idea now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scrambyjess Neutral Newbie August 15, 2006 Share August 15, 2006 Btw I have a brand new EGP and used 500ml SRP and UDS to let go. Check out my classified Thread if you are interested. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adzz Neutral Newbie August 15, 2006 Share August 15, 2006 Thanks Bro! If we apply sufficient EGP, then even if we use SRP, I dont think it will remove the EGP completely right? What QD are u using by the way? From my understanding, is QD of one's car means just dusting and spraying QD and wiping it off, or washing car, then applying like OCW? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scrambyjess Neutral Newbie August 15, 2006 Share August 15, 2006 QD can be used if your car is slightly dusty, but if the surface is heavily soiled, a car wash will be required followed by the qd. Im currently using Jeff werkstatt acrylic gloss as my QD. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...