Project U

Laser

Hi bros,

Went to Stamford year end sales this afteroon, was thinking of changing my stock brake pad to Mintex silverline. But the mech advise me to go for Project U, saying that it is better than Mintex!

Any bros out there using Project U ?

Anyway was quoted $93 for it.

Laser

Their price are "unreasonably" high at times ... before I got my pads from Vtim ... I was quoted $120 for the front pair of pads for ESI ... normal pads ... and not stuffs like Mintex or Brembo.

$120 [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

I am not going to mention which branch though ...

Ed

They actually quoted me $80 for Mintex silverline with installation, which I find is quite ok.

Laser

Finally I got Project U brake pads.

The B spec model for street racing.

Although my 2ton MPV can't race, I can really feel the positive bite when I stepped on the brake. [thumbsup]

This is the first time I use after market brake pads.

Anyone use this brake pad before?

Although my 2ton MPV can't race, I can really feel the positive bite when I stepped on the brake. [thumbsup]

Make sure your tires are grippy as well.

Noted your PM earlier. Apologies for the delay in replying.

Closely monitoring tyre grip too.

Mine is 215/60 R 17. only limited models.

keeping a safe distance is the better choice.

sometime, stock brake pad is still the best...For my car, after changing to aftermarket brake pad..so much noise and dust....so go back to stock....feel good..

Going back to basic of friction and energy.

those pads whiich provide better braking coefficient are made with metal compound.

So disc life will be affected as well as dust.

It is a matter of how much wear and dust.

Heard that the latest pads were embedded wih ceramic.

Hope the B spec will not be disappointing.

BTW...is it true that using wrong type of brake pad can be harmful to the brake rotor?

Maybe, unless u change ur brake rotor as well :wacko:, sometime i see cars the brake rotar got so many brown lines liao.... like my honda fit i both Brake clipper and rotor also change then should be better

Edited by I-LOVE-CARS

Maybe, unless u change ur brake rotor as well :wacko:, sometime i see cars the brake rotar got so many brown lines liao.... like my honda fit i both Brake clipper and rotor also change then should be better

you say not free and yet can come here telling ppl a 13 years old drive a honda fit!!! [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

BTW...is it true that using wrong type of brake pad can be harmful to the brake rotor?

yes.

in short, type of brake pad is very important else brake rotor kena makan big time.

instead of changing the next brake pad, you need to change the brake rotor. [:p]

i'm on the B spec brake pads front n rears for a yr now. love the braking effect and it isn't noisy compared to the higher heat range pads. only issue i have is the brake dust, but i guess u can't have brakes that bite great but no dust.....same as grippy tyres but no noise

Unless one go to the track or always traveling at high speed. I think stock brake is more than enough to bring the car to a stop in the shortest time.

Just washed my car today.

And I made sure I washed both front wheels for dust observation.

Can feel the bite on the disc, but cant hear the noise.

Noise from Regen brake may have dwarfed noise from brake pad.

Edited by 5936

I do agree stock brake pad give adequate brake.

Some after market brake pad worn out faster then original.

But since my is also wearing out, I tried something else lah.