1. 1.

• VKool
    • NanoLux
    • Huper Optik
    • Cool n Lite
    • Others

Quote from UV Gard...

anyone care to verify if it's true? gossip.gif Check out their FAQ here: http://www.uv-gard.com/faqe.htm

In S'pore, the VLT (Visible Light Transmission) required is

70% net after tinting of windscreen and front windows.

50% net after tinting for the rest of the car.

In M'sia, the VLT (Visible Light Transmission) required is

70% net after tinting of windscreen only.

50% net after tinting for the rest of the car.

If you've installed film onto your car, you should ask - Does the net value comply? Why should one worry about this? The penalties are heavy for non-compliance. Vis

1st] You'll be asked to send your car to PSB to check the VLT (costs S$195/car).

2nd] If you fail, you'll have to remove the film, maybe costing you as much as to put it on!

3rd] Don't forget the hefty fine! Up to S$500/-?

4th] Total cost could well exceed S$2,000/-.

5th] Surely, no one needs the constant worry of being caught!

Edited by Aidan

Im am using V kool but what is the differnce between all the different options given?

V-Kool Premier

UV-Protect 70

Mystique

Mirage

and how to check which one is mine?

The diff is the heat rejection, depends on how much you pay...

So how much did you pay? fixed on what type of car?

Cheapest one is the Mirage heat reject 40~50% i think

Edited by Benhew05

how muc is the difference ic ant remeber hw much i paid it came together with thee car... now if i wan to upgrade it i have to redo everything?

Well, if it comes freebie with the car, most likely is the Mirage

No SE will give you the Premier range...

Hard to remove... and it quite expensive to remove also... almost same priceas installation.

Must be careful with the back window ... the heating strip element will also come out together with the laminate... and I heard most shop will not guarantee workmanship.

Not recommended to remove at all...so save your money for something else.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

just like tatoo... once you do it, cannot be remove, it will leave you a scar to remember forever.

Edited by Benhew05

color tinit does not play a part in the pricing.... only the heat rejection factor

But darker ones may not be suitable esp. for night driving

Some of the expensive ones are clear... you don't even notice it, but the heat rejection is very good... around 75~80%

Dun believe can get 100% heat rejection... car is metal and glass...

icic.yeap i agree its glass and metal. by the way is it alot of difference? do u have a V kool on ur car?

what i mean is the heat reduction?

Edited by Lanceteo

Wah lau mine is Rike Kool and the heat is unbearable when parked under hot sun for merely 20mins.

Can anyone recommend something good ? wat will be the price?

Aiya all cars with whatever films will get very hot if parked under the direct sun for that period of time. Solar films will only reduce the amount of IR and UV entering your ride. It will not totally shut out those heat. [sweatdrop]

Lance,

Basically there are a few types of window films we need to understand...

dyed film

metallic film

sputtered film

'liquid' crystal film (whatever this is I don't know, read in uv-gard.com)

cheap ones in the market are dyed film based (basically tinted to reduce the VLT light and uv, but not the heat built-up)

the more expensive one are the proprietary sputtered film (better performance than dyed films)

uv-gard is the liquid crystal film

the ones from www.mcgap.com is using the metallic film

From what I know, most of these CPF films in the market are OEM products

They bring in and do a re-packaging

I myself have not install any of these films yet... still looking out for good deal and proven ones.

Still trying to figure out which one will suit me, i.e have to understand how heat dissipate from the surface of the glass and at the shortest time.

reputable brands in the market i know is huper optik, 3M, Llumar... and so on

will update you guys if I can get more specs on window tinting

Aidan and Osiris,

Check this out on the topic of LTA regulation for window tinting...

What are the requirements for tinted glass and tinted film?

All vehicles with tinted glasses must be approved by LTA. The solar tinted film fitted on the vehicle safety glass has to be tested for compliance with the light transmittance requirements by a competent agent accepted by LTA

e.g. Singapore Productivity and Standards Board, VICOM (Sin Ming), ST Automotive Inspection (Sin Ming).

For the front windscreen and the two front passenger windows, the resultant light transmittance must be at least 70%. For the rear windscreen and the rear passenger windows, the resultant light transmittance must be at least 50%.

The solar tinted films fitted on the front windscreen must not prevent, obstruct or interfere with the transmission of signals between an installed in-vehicle unit (IU) and any Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) facility. If such an interference is encountered, a suitable sterile window area (an unobstructed area not fitted with solar tinted film) at the front windscreen should be provided.

Tinted films used as sun-visors and fitted on the top edge of the windscreen do not have to comply with the light transmittance requirement. However, such films on the front windscreen should be plain and fitted not more than six inches (150 mm) from the top edge of the windscreen. As for the rear windscreen, it should also be plain and not more than four inches (100 mm) from the top edge of the windscreen.

Edited by Benhew05

Hey anyone did the window film and do the light test?

I heard from one friend to do this after you install the window film...

Shine a torch light and see how the light refracted..

Condition of test: Do it in the night or enclosed area (covered carpark)

If the light source is spread out... no good

If the light source is sharp and distinct... that's good stuff

also heard from uv-gard.com... theirs is NOT a film laminate

It's a 4 layer coating liquid application system

about $5XX for a sedan car

Anybody used that... pls give your feedback and comment on the performance

hey Benhew05

thanks for the logn write out. currently im pretty happy with the Vkool tat i got. i think its ok jus tat its not very dark but at least i noe im safe frm the authorities.. yeap.. [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]