Car jerking: clutch worn off-how to check??

Jigc

guys,

my car (proton wira) clocked 75k km and having serious jerking at low gears, at 1st, 2nd and sometime 3rd gear. it is intermitten.

things have done to resolve the problem:

1. changed fuel filter

2. changed ignition cables

3. cleaned spark plug

4. adjusted clutch cable

but the problem is still persist.

next suspected item is the clutch plate worn off.

how to check and confirm the clutch is worn off?

BTW, this is a very informative forum [angel]

TQ

jigc

75k/km...dun think ur clutch pad worn off...unless...u used engine..to slow(thong) & brake frequently which a normal driver dun do it...or u like to play wif 1/2 clutch-in...on slope [:(]

veri likely it's an ignition/firing or fuel injecting prob...

clutch worn symptom;

difficult to engage the 1st gear...

slip clutch...vehicle move off veri jerky or refuse to move when clutch pedal's released.

Edited by York

hi, york,

during my initial driving, i used to do gear braking for ~40k km. [sweatdrop]

1/2 clutch-in on slope [sleeping]

Engine braking will cause faster clutch worn out????

Dang!!! I've been using engine braking for all my corners.....

since is a proton which is mitsubishi platform, i think majority fault likely to b excess carbon in throttle body.

but could b timing belt wearing earlier also.

checked u used the right spark plugs?

checked all plug terminal r installed properly?

apollo,

i'll check the throttle body.

last time i took a look at timing belt (took out the cover), it looked ok.

i'm using non-stock spark plug: from NGK BP6ES to NGK G Power Platinum (BPR6EGP).

but problem happened b4 i changed it, so, i didnt suspect it.

as for tightening torque of spark plugs, i just tighthened it...roughly [thumbsdown]

many possiblities, could throttle not adjusted properly.

or fuel pump/ filter. cheaper to change the filter filter but if u can afford it, change the pump.

but not least, who is ur mechanic. if u r not too familar with him, i suggest u switch mechanic also. some unscruplous pple may cause one other part to b loose after servicing so u keep gg back to them for repairs.

guys,

my car (proton wira) clocked 75k km and having serious jerking at low gears, at 1st, 2nd and sometime 3rd gear. it is intermitten.

1. changed fuel filter

3. cleaned spark plug

4. adjusted clutch cable

BTW, this is a very informative forum [angel]

TQ

jigc

one method that i observed from my mechanic on checking clutch wear on my older rides is by having the handbrake on and engage clutch (with throttle) and try to move....if there is sufficient clutch...the car will wanna move and u can see the back pinning down...not sure if its the rite method...but one thing for sure..it also test my drum is working or not... [laugh]

Well...how abt...u ram ur engine @ 2.5 to 3k/rpm stationary, hold it for 1 to 2 mins..neutral gear, the engine jerky anot?...if no..likely as u said...clutch gone liao...might not due worn pad..maybe broken spring or bearing...

guys,

tq for reply and suggestion.

i think i miss to say that the car jerks only when the clutch is released, no matter how slow i release it. it doesnt jerk when i travel at high speed. [:/]

lidat could b ur drive shaft gone case liaoz....

but got check if the clutch plate is recon one or original replica one boh?

drive shaft gone??[sweatdrop]

im the 1st owner [drivingcar], the clutch is stock.

Clutched

'mai thia liao'....go to a car workshop, they'll diagnose it hand-on...On a heard-say, even a good technical-man oso cant be perfect..... [:)]

drive shaft is the only contact with the gearbox. if gearbox is ok, den it must b drive shaft liaoz.

Look like your trust bearing (part of the whole clutch assy) is weak and worn.

Jerky clutch, take-up not smooth could be due to the clutch assy ( 3 items - clutch plate, bearing, lever) need to be looked at.

Consult the mechanic and hear what they say.

guys,

1. changed fuel filter

3. cleaned spark plug

4. adjusted clutch cable

BTW, this is a very informative forum angel.gif

TQ

jigc

The sympton of clutch plate worn off is when accelerating, the tacometer (rpm) will increase but the speedometer does not increasing corresponding as much.

To check for worn clutch, start the engine and while the car is not moving, engage 3rd or 4th gear and try to move the car by releasing the clutch as per normal. If the engine stalls, clutch is still good. But if can engaged clutch at 3rd or 4th gear and engine not stall, then likely to be worn clutch.