Blaupunkt Promotion, ST Home Section; Page 9, Friday 29 April

Imc10

Brothers,

Anyone saw the Blaupunkt speaker and amp package promotion in Straits Times Home Section; Page H9 on Friday 29 April? Free gift is an iPOD shuffle that I thought would be nifty. Have been itching to upgrade my speakers and amps for some time.

Anyway, there is a list of participating outlets shown in the advert:

Acoustics Autosound Pte Ltd@Annamalai Ave

Choon Chong Auto Company@Upper Thomson Road

Chop Yong Moh@East Coast Road

Chuan Hi-Fi & Car Accesories@Braddel Road

Class Auto Pte Ltd@Paya Ubi Ind Park

Nam Huat Auto Acc@Jurong East St 31

Ong Hin Seng Auto Accessories@Tampines St 11

Pin Hiang Enterprises@Zion Road

Specialist Audio Accessories@Bukit Merah Lane

Swift Motion Enterprises@Desker Road

Tong Lee Wee Auto Supply@Bukit Timah Road

Would appreciate if any brother could offer advice on which might be the best shop (in terms of workmanship, price etc.) from the list to install my system.

I am thinking of Choon Chong as it is closer to my place. Anybody has experience with this shop?

Thanks a bunch.

-imc10

Yeah bro, what's yur ride? I also interested leh.

As for Pin Liang the charges are as stated. It will cost $135+/- for installing the system. Dunno whether cables include?? price also come to around $800..

My ride is a Chevrolet Optra5 Sport Hatchback. No Blaupunkt package advertised per se but I am likely going for the $499 package.

I enquired with Choon Chong and they quoted $180 for installation. Offcourse there will be the usual +++ depending on the cables we choose.

My other problem is deciding where to mount the amp. Usual problem with hatchbacks is space constraints hence either back of backseat or under the drivers seat. Hmmmm.... have think abt this.

Pin Liang seems popping up alot. Defelio, you had a positive feedback on them?

-imc10

Did a forum search on 'Pin Liang'. General feedback so so only.

My search goes on.

-imc10

Bro Defelio,

I had the $499 package installed yesterday at Chuan Hi-Fi along Braddel Road. I chose the place after checking their installation fee. They charging only $100. Also Chuan Hi-fi used to do all installations for Chevrolets and I drive a Chevrolet Optra5; found this out at the TeamChevySG website.

The workers did a neat job with the installation. Mr. Chuan and his wife are very friendly and amenable. I chose 12AWG cables for the speakers so they charged abit extra.

We did a recce for the vehicle and chose to install the amp under the passenger seat owing to lack of space in my hatchback. The testing was prolonged and they made sure everything worked well.

Final damage is $499 + $100 (installation) + $30 (additional for the 12AWG cables) = $629

Overall very happy and I recommend them [:)]

Now need to find time to go down and collect my free IPod Shuffle free gift from the promotion [;)]

I'm interested in the blaupunkt offer also. Yesterday it was advertised again. Thinking of getting the 4channel one @ $499 like yours.

Can give some review on the blaupunkt before and after your installation? Is the difference between your old stock ICE and this blaupunkt obvious?

[sunny]

Did my with Pin Liang. I actually stood there to watch them fix it up. I would say that they did a really good job then... but the charges are cutthroat...

Bro IMC10, That's a good price you got for installation.. Haiz, as for me i not getting liao. Buang sometime back which burn a hole in my pocket if not can install liaoz.. Could you give us a quick review on the sound if possible? nod.gif

Def

Brother Kianbeng,

I qualify first that I am not an ICE expert (but I did some research before buying) and any feedback I give you is by way of my experience with the past vs present system only. Hopefully I am not tone deaf [:p]

First of all there is most definitely an improvement over the original stock speakers. The stock speakers are paper-cone type but the Blaupunkt speakers in the $499 package is some synthetic material (apparently more elastic hence gives better fideility). You can definitely hear the difference especially when you pump up the volume (stock vs after that is).

The second reason why you will have better fidelity is because the $499 package comes with an amp. Amplifiers (as they are aptly named) amplify the signals from the HU thus reducing distortion especially at higher volumes. The sounds i crisper and clearer.

Another lesser reason is because the $499 package speakers come with accompanying tweeters. The the original stock tweeters were transfered to the back door (originally an option that I did not active). So now I have tweeters on all four doors [:)]

Mr. Chuan (as all good ICE salesperson will do) tried to convince me to install a sub-woofer. Note that the sub-woofer is NOT included in the $499 package and will be additional. However I own an Optra5 sport hatchback hence am abit lacking of space. He suggested in my boot but I thought I would loose some storage space at the back. Just a tip that if you do intend to install sub-woofers please ensure that they are velcro-ed down as oppose to any more permanent fixing solution. This will allow you to quickly remove them should you pick up someone from Changi Airport and need to carry huge luggage at the back. See an example pic I downloaded from the net of sub-woofers at the boot of an Optra5 hatchback.

The Blaupunkt $499 package is really value for money (especially when they throw in the iPod Shuffle, approx $180) I believe. But please don't mistake it for a high end speakers and amp package. Good systems can cost all the way up to $2K-3K (maybe even more).

But I can assure you from my experience that is most definitely better than the stock system. You will hear the difference, it would not be those type of 'imagination' kind of improvements. I am very pleased now cruising along with the upgraded ICE. Now I am just comtemplating if I should consider installing a sub-woofer in the future [cool].

Hope this feedback helps [;)]

post-4-1116139164.jpg

Thanks. Appreciate your review.

I've actually done my ICE the other way round. Installed 2 woofers at the back already. Now the bass is quite good. For my front and rear panels, I've put in cheap 3 way coaxials which I thought was reasonable. But everytime I go to any installer, they'll say my coaxials are simply rubbish (which I didn't deny).

The problem with me is....sometimes I don't know if I'll tell the difference. Sometimes I seriously wonder if I'm a bit tone deaf. [sweatdrop]

Of course I can tell the bass after I've installed the woofers.

Ay, are you going for any meetups on this coming friday? Just wondering if I can have the chance to have a "hear" in your car. [rolleyes] Or I can actually do house visits. (macham doctor's house visit, but they charge $100) [sly] Hopefully you won't charge me? [sweatdrop]

I wonder when this promotion over leh....at this price of $499, you get 1 4channel amp, 1 set of components, and 1 coaxials....I think it should not be too bad.

[sunny]

Bro Defelio,

Sympathise with you man [:/]. S-h-i-t happens unfortunately. Just provided a feedback as above. Forgot the pic and it is as below [thumbsup]

inline_07.jpg

post-4-1116140363.jpg

Bro Kianbeng,

Meetup? When? I don't follow the meetup threads but I think may be useful to meet other Chevy enthusiasts to share contacts, upgrades & mods etc. [thumbsup]

Could you furnish the meetup details. Unfortunately my line of work very 24x7 so I would know around Thursday if I would be able to make it. I'll PM you then [;)]

Hi Keanbeng,

Congratulations to you for being tone deaf !

If you are not, then most likely you will burning $K of dollars on ICE and there is no end to it.

I am not tone deaf but act like one. ( no $$$ mah )

Thanks IMC10, well can take pic of how they mount the Tweeters? I thought u place amp under V-comd seat..

Bro Defelio

Oh, don't refer to the pic. It was shown as an example mounting sub-woofers in the boot. I downloaded that pic from the internet.

My amp is mounted under the passeger side. The tweeters are mounted in the door handles just like all Optra5's.