End

Last Updated

• Start

End

Filter by number of...

• Start

End

Group

1. during my time ... E90 LCI ... 335i 3L twin-turbo .... $180K now can shout sibei fking cheap ah
  2. A Second Wind. Driving the BMW 335i Sedan. A second wind is largely used to describe a phenomenon, whereby an athlete who is out of breath suddenly finds the strength to press on at top performance with less exertion. Could it be true of this 335i i have at my disposal? With the latest 3 series now unveiled, perhaps it is time to take another look at the last of the E-designated 3's, the E90. It's been almost 6 years since the E90 was introduced, being the successor to the handsome E46, many critics again spoke ill of the new 3's Bangle-d styling, but like all of E90's contemporaries, it has aged considerably well. Losing the daffy duck kidney lips and procuring a leaner chiselled face during the process of it's lifespan. This 3 Series i have with me though is not your ordinary run-of-the-mill 3 you see pottering around your neighbourhood. It also isn't JUST a license-killing Twin scroll boosted 335i sedan either. What this is in fact, is a fully kitted out 335i laden with BMW Performance Parts. The total sum of these parts alone will set you back a smigen over 40Gs. Those BMW racing seats, cup and hold you into place tighter than Wonderbra's latest offerings. While you are stuck to your seat, grab hold of that lovely alcantara laced BMW Performance wheel, choked full of gadgetry you'd never imagine would be inside a steering wheel of a road car. With a LCD screen staring right at you and delivering information you'll never really need (but is totally cool anyway) when driving down Orchard Road. Unidiectional G-force readings, lap timers, acceleration timers, vehicle information and a set of LEDs that light up as your revs build and blink furiously when it is time to shift up. Do yourself a favour and shell out for this wheel, if only to make you think you are behind the wheel of a full-fledged race car. After you are done fiddling with the steering wheel (i took about half an hour), give the starter button a push and listen as the tweaked exhaust notes permeate into the cabin. It fires up with a bark and settles down into a slightly hollow fizzy burble. To be honest, it could do with more low end tones but i suspect the engineers left bassy beats out to cut out any droning noises when the car is cruising. You sort of wish there was a button which will allow more of that exhaust music to come into the cabin though, as it is now, people outside the car will get to enjoy the howl of the boosted straight-six more than the driver. Speaking of which, when you finally step out of the car (after giving it a proper drive of course), apart from that lovely bodykit and those gorgeous 19inch wheels, you'd notice little bits of carbon extras ($$$) which set this E90 apart from the rest. The wing mirrors and the tail spoiler both sport the exotic carbon finish. All these parts come straight of the BMW Performance Parts options list, even those stripey stickers along the flanks. How does this kitted up 335i drive? The regular 335i is already a very accomplished BMW and in tricked out "BMW Performance" form, is it any better? That will really depend on how you perceive "better" to be. The ride with a lower and revised suspension setup is harsher and you'd feel it. The throttle response with a slight power up is addictively er, responsive. Push the drumstick gearknob into sport mode and the gearbox does a good job of selecting the proper ratios to keep you in the powerband and allowing you to slingshot past all the pesky turbo-diesel taxis on the roads. If you are the sort of driver who enjoys a good blast down your local roads and you enjoy talking to other people about the differences between under and oversteer, yes, you will enjoy these chassis enhancements. If perhaps you are the sort of driver who prefers a car which doesn't jiggle your bottom and underwear too much, maybe you should leave the "Chassis upgrade" box unchecked. That is the beauty of these Perfomrance parts, allowing you to customise your wants and giving you the choice to either go the full hog or just take in the bits you fancy. If you ever find yourself to be in the lucky shoes of someone ticking off these parts, my choice bits would be that gorgeous steering wheel, all the exterior bits and paraphernalia, the chassis/power upgrades and those fancy stickers along the side. The 19-inch baller wheels although fabulous to look at, take too a bit too much off the ride and having to constantly look out for portholes might be tiresome in the long run. The wonderful Performance seats again, are a sight to behold, but at over 9 grand a pair, might leave your wallets feeling a little uncomfortable. They do a great job of holidng you in place when you are driving balls-out, but you don't drive balls-outs everytime you get behind the wheel. Glossy brouchures might make you think you do, but the reality is that 80% of the time, you are going to be stuck in traffic on your daily sojourn to the office and back wishing you'd have seats with a little more squish. Having to go through the look of incredibility on all passengers faces when you tell them you paid "HOW MUCH?" for non-electric setas might get boring after a while too. With these parts installed, this 335i will be pressing on at it's peak while shooting off into the sunset with tyres smoking and turbos boosting!
  3. If 300 horsepower is good, 320 horsepower is better. And when that 20-horsepower boost comes at a cost of just $599, it's really a no-brainer as far as we're concerned. BMW hopes you agree, as it's officially announced two new Power Kits for the 135i, 335i and certain X6 models that boost the power of the 3.0-liter turbocharged inline six by the aforementioned twenty ponies. Just as welcome is a boost in torque from 300 to 332 pound-feet (when equipped with an automatic transmission) and 317 lb-ft (when equipped with a manual or DCT transmission). The increase comes courtesy of what BMW is calling Version 1 Power Kit, which basically amounts to a reflash of the car's computer system, and it can be applied to any 135i or 335i and all X6 models produced before April of 2010. These power figures bring the turbocharged machines up to the specification of the 2011 335is. A second option is the Version 2 Power Kit, which adds an auxiliary water cooler and "enhanced" radiator fan to the reflash on 1 Series and 3 Series models. The V2PK costs US$1,199, a modest increase over the US$599 of Version 1 considering the added hardware. Both kits also include an "exhaust burble sound during engine overrun conditions." BMW is quick to point out other modifications may be necessary and that installation isn't included in that price. In case you're thinking this all sounds rather familiar, BMW did indeed make a similar announcement a little while back. While that press release heralded the option for new buyers of the 2011 335i, this one indicates the availability of current owners to get the upgrade retrofitted to their cars while their warranties remain intact. Source: BMW
  4. Chio a 335i for a short sprint today and managed to beat him by quite a margin (something like 10m) when I hit 100KM/H. As I push to 150-160, the 335i couldn\'t keep up at all. It really feels good man. Read about all that 335i power here in MCF but its nothing much leh. MY car is a modded S13....SR20DET power!....hehe.....
  5. i prefer the looks of the 325i or the 335i. the 325i is pretty decent in power and more practical. it's really up to you if purchasing a 2.5l make sense to your wallet. my colleague bought a coe 2.7 lexus before. one thing about coe cars is the dated interior., i cant stand those except for classic cars. like others mentioned, the maintenance is probably something you need to do some homework. Many of these coe cars' problems are just patch here and there just to make it suitable for sale. so you gotta budget a healthy sum for the repairs.
  6. Hi Guys, today went to check out the new GTR at PI showroom, must say its pretty impressive..thh interior is quite luxurious.maybe about 70% as good as Audi R8.. Was expecting it to be cheapo like 350z as it gives super car performance for only $265K... However i m thinking for this money, can also get a 335i convert, PML selling at $275K, and PI can do at $238k (no idrive) and the new monster V8 S5 is goingf or only $245K... which one would you guys choose..by the way the 335i coupe is only $208k PI and $240K from PML 0-100KM/h S5: 5.1 secs 335i: 5.5 secs (coupe, convert 2 secs slower) GTR: 3.8 secs!!
  7. Hi all, Which one would you guys consider ?? Its a very tough choice for me. Just can't get over the looks of the S5, its so damn nice and sexy and command much more presence...but i suspect i will get tired of it's looks in future.especially the front grille when my friend comments it look like a big hamburger the other day and the kidneys from BMW are timeless.. (okay, he's a beemer's fan all the way) But for now, i can't stop looking at one, esp one coming up in my rear view mirror with those georgeous running lights. 335i lose out slightly in 0-100km/h but doesnt matter to me, jujst much prefer the way the power is deliver frm the twin turbo engine. and it handles better, ( If S5 cab comes with V8 s-tronics, then its gonna be a very tough call ) 3 series convert looks seem quite dated now and i am sure it doesn't really turn much heads anymore..
  8. I had both a 2008 GS450h and a 2009 335i at the same time. There was no way my 450h could be faster than my 335i. No question at all unless the 335i was in the wrong gear to begin with. NVH is better but it is, like you said, still a notch below the 7 & S, and even the new G30. Please don’t give the new owners the wrong impression and encourage them to egg on the BMWs and Mercs. The GS is a different type of car. It can become very embarrassing.
  9. Lucky no other cars were involved. Only govt property damaged, which I’m sure they will sue to get money for, should the insurers void. Should have some parf if the car is still below 10years. Parf of a 335i should be enough to pay for the tree and fence.
  10. Here's the new BMW 3 series coupe in blue. Think the one in the video is the bi-turbo 335i. And if you're one of those who has trouble telling the difference between the 3 series sedan (E90) from the coupe (E92) here's a video that'll help: http://www.leblogauto.com/2006/08/duel_de_series_.html Site's not in english. but I can do rough translations for phrases if u guys want meanings for a word or two. But do check out the video. Anyways... The sedan is a pretty unattractive car, but the coupe is a slight improvement - nonetheless, still a let down from the likes of BMW. The Lexus IS250 is sooo much nicer, not to mention the Alfa 159. Let's see if the new Merc C-Class coming late next year will up the exec sedan market a notch.
  11. Your 335i is the twin turbo coupe version? I was not aware there was a 335i for the sedan, thought it was only 325 (detuned IL6) and 330 (IL6)
  12. I had considered the G20 330i as replacement for my E90 335i after driving the latter for almost 10 years but booked another luxury marque instead. My 335i was bought ex stock from PML at 190k in 2009 during the Asian Financial Crisis. 320i without iDrive was only $105k. The COE was 7k and discount was 30k off the list price. There was no need to take loan. As a result, BMW was the top selling car in Singapore that year. 10 years forward, BMW Asia and PML's combined gross margin has doubled. I guess their strategy has changed.
  13. Da Jia Hao, Following my unfortunate accident, my car has been written off by the insurance company which left me with $30k to buy another car. Below are some options which I am looking at but would like to get some opinion from people who got first hand experience of the car 1) BMW 335i (high ks) http://www.carsales.com.au/private/details/BMW-335i-2007/SSE-AD-2715401/?Cr=16&sdmvc=1 http://www.carsales.com.au/dealer/details/BMW-335i-2007/AGC-AD-16361523/?Cr=2&sdmvc=1 http://www.carsales.com.au/private/details/BMW-335i-2007/SSE-AD-3070178/?Cr=1&sdmvc=1 2) BMW 525i http://www.carsales.com.au/private/details/BMW-525i-2006/SSE-AD-2881388/?Cr=2&sdmvc=1 3) BMW 530d http://www.carsales.com.au/private/details/BMW-530d-2006/SSE-AD-2753821/?Cr=1&sdmvc=1 4) Honda Accord Euro Luxury http://www.carsales.com.au/private/details/Honda-Accord-Euro-2008/SSE-AD-903713/?Cr=0&sdmvc=1 http://www.carsales.com.au/private/details/Honda-Accord-Euro-2010/SSE-AD-3060143/?Cr=14&sdmvc=1 My previous car was a 1995 R33 Skyline GT-R. Apart from the extensive list of electronics/parts in the BMW, I believe I can cope with the service cost. I would think the the straight 6 engine and whole car is fairly reliable. A close friend also confirm that. He runs a garage and work a lot on Conti so servicing should be ok. However he's still quite young (early 30s) so maybe his experience is limited (which is why I'm posting here). The usual water pump replacement is ok (1k+) and I am after is big cost items like 2k or 3k repair cost from private garage (not dealers). I found some oil leak issue but it seems like a cheap and easy fix by replacing seals and o-rings. I would love the 335i and not fussy with old cars but not sure if thats the right choice at that sort of mileage. Please try not to add to the list because these 4 cars already giving me a headache. Will be test driving them all over this week and hopefully I'll narrow it down to 1 or 2. The Euro Lux is really there for cheap comfort with heaps to pocket. Running cost will be low being 4 cyclinders. Australia car rego (road tax) is based on cyclinders, $900 for 6 cyc and $650 for 4. Insurance will be around $1k for any of the BMW and around $650 for the Honda per year. If the 335 is reliable, I will take that silver m sport for sure at that price. Gam xia.
  14. Once you tried a Turbo, it is hard to go back to a NA. Many years back i use to drive a GS300. My buddy was driving a 335i. While the GS300 is not slow, the rolling and pickup speed is nowhere close to the 335i....
  15. The 330i may be very slightly faster 0-100 than the IS350 but I doubt it can keep up past 100km/h. At lower speeds, traction, engine torque and the gearbox probably plays a bigger role than hp. But at higher speeds, hp is king and 311 hp should makan the 258hp of the 330i easily. Don't know about 4GSh but there are videos of the 3GSh accelerating 0-250 faster than the older generation 335i.
  16. I recently got poisoned by the idea of owning a COE E92. 335i being turbo-ed probably can be tuned to be a good wannabe ///M3, but road tax will be a killer. 325i for inline 6 experience, should be good for cruising and weekend b-road driving. @kobayashiGT maybe you can give this a go next 😁
  17. My friend has a lexus gs450h from 2010. Other than 1 hybrid battery replace, no breakdown like his audi or bmw...... Plus trust me.. The lexus gs450h is faster than a bmw 335i ... You can find a vid on youtube the gs450h murdered the 335i after 120km/h... But sg speed limit bobian. Insulation and ride comfort better than bmw audi merc by far... Unless 7 or S class
  18. Hi Bro, what i did was before taking over the car i sent it to SW Werkz https://www.sgcarmart.com/directory/merchant.php?MID=16924 cos my frd's old 335i was serviced there, and had them to run a diagnostics & thorough physical check which cost me $120 after which with the list of mechanical items that needed to be fixed i nego with the dealer to get all those stuff fixed at his own workshop, after he got it fixed i took the car back SW Werkz to get it reviewed again then whatever stuff still not fixed i went back to the dealer to get it done on the spot before i paid up the rest of my deposit... so ya for my mechanical parts replacement i can't tell you how much i paid for it but you can roughly check it out based on past threads in the BMW SG forums.
  19. Fourth

Jaguar XE

SURE XE FAILS?? Which reports have you been reading? See these few below from a simple search. Jaguar XE vs BMW 4-series vs Mercedes C-class triple test review (2015) http://www.carmagazine.co.uk/car-reviews/comparison/2015/jaguar-xe-vs-bmw-3-series-vs-mercedes-c-class-triple-test-review-2015/ VerdictSeldom are giant test verdicts so tough to call. Let’s not pretend this is any kind of walkover for the XE because the opposition is too tough for that. But the BMW, exciting as it is to drive, does fall first, and not merely because of the Gran Coupe’s price disadvantage. Had we thrown in a 3-series it would have suffered from the same debilitating lack of refinement that relegates this 4-series to third place. These are sports saloons, but they’re also meant to be miniature luxury machines and the 4’s uncouth engine and poor road noise suppression doesn’t cut it. The Jaguar and Mercedes are harder to split – not because they’re so close in character, but because they’re so different. For many buyers, for casual car fans and your company’s accountant, the C-class is unarguably the better car. It oozes class, it’s got the best interior, it’s brilliantly refined and yes, it even handles tidily. For the Jag to win despite its slightly tighter packaging and occasional quality foibles, it’d have to be brilliant to drive and we’d have to really care that it was. Fortunately, it is and we do. If the BMW’s athleticism comes at the expense of luxury, the reverse is true of the Mercedes. It’s a brilliant car, but one lacking a little dynamic sparkle in the face of the XE, a car whose chassis doesn’t make you choose between luxury and performance, and whose other qualities are close enough to the Merc’s for us to accept as penance. It’s tight, but in the battle of the sports saloons, only the Brit really feels like one, and that’s why for us, the Jaguar XE wins. Motor Trend first to compare Jaguar XE and BMW 3 Series http://www.autoblog.com/2015/06/29/bmw-335i-jaguar-xe-comparison-motor-trend-video/ Lieberman says the English company spent its money on the XE suspension and it shows, but there have been other efforts from other automakers with excellent dynamic chops that weren't enough to threaten the BMW. His final assessment is that one of the two cars is awesome, and one is quite a bit better. Watch the video to find out which is which. Jaguar XE S Vs BMW 335i Comparison Will Surprise You http://www.carscoops.com/2015/06/jaguar-xe-s-vs-bmw-335i-comparison-will.html
  20. OK. yours truly kena a lot of demerits for silly jokes. But this is the most serious ABD question of 2017. Ever since I returned COE to govt for my BMW 335i, I ve been having sleepless night, back aches, insomia, high bood pressure, but luckily no erectal dysfunction . Truly missed that babe 335i. Of cos, for $240k which was what was paid 10 years ago for that, you can no longer get a 'decently powerful car' these days. We talking about north of $300k to 400k nowadays, which is an awful amount of $$ so this is also a very important ABD question for the entire ABD alumni which has over 100 members to date(all got proper class 3 laisern one) looking for a replacement performance car. I ve seen a few lately: BMW M3/M4 (my goodness...400k ) Macan S, GTS, Turbo (350k+, 400k+ and ...dun even think of the turbo ) Boxster and Boxster-S (400k+ absolutely crazy ) Ford Mustang AMG A45 (one of the ugliest of the lot seen so far. Might as well get a Subaru for half the price. didnt even test it) .... Help is desperately needed to remain sane . Still couldnt decide. Is there still hope in the horizon? Intend to drive for 2 to 3 years then pass it to my son, which by then I will slow down and settle in an MPV.
  21. About $240k, can get Q50 3.0TT (400hp, RWD) or Jag Xe 3.0S (340ps likely also underrated like 335i) or M140i. Stretch to 300k, 340i (a few K less) and S4 are there. Your original post missed all these, the cars you posted are all above 335i league, so of course cost more.
  22. The S5 will be competing with the E92 335i, whereas the RS5 will lock horns with the E92 M3. Stock to stock, it seems that the S5 has the E92 335i beat because of its V8 engine, driving dynamics and 4WD, according to the CAR article where they reviewed the S5. Even I, a current E92 335i owner, thinks that the Audi is definitely going to give BMW a good fight with its S5! Only saving grace of the E92 335i, in Singapore's context, is the road tax... 4.2L V8 engine :) Or if the owner of the 335i is willing to chip the car, then its more of a level playing field where the 335i stats will increase from 306bhp to 370-380bhp and torque will jump from 400nm to 500nm. Bring on the Audi S5, its definitely a HAWT ride... now who wants my E92 335i?
  23. Hi, I've got a BMW E92 335i COE up August 2010. Any exporters keen? Thanks!
  24. Both cars are really nice! I have both cars but in coupe forms. The 335 is a lot more moddable, in terms of cosmetics and power, since it has been out for about 3yrs. Driving it hard does put a big grin on your face. Stock-wise, it does look bland and does not excite much. The S5 doesn't have much mods BUT it looks nicer stock-wise. With its LED DRLs, buff rear wheel arches and quad exhaust, it does look menacing. And it sounds great, especially the rumble of the V8. Some facts: 1. S5 is slightly longer amd wider than the 335i. 2. S5 interior is smaller than 335i 3. S5 has lots of buttons in the cabin, 335 is more spartan 4. S5 MMI is more powerful, but 335i iDrive is simplier to use (Gasp, I couldn't believed I said that iDrive was easy! :)) 5. S5 boot space is 1L more than 335i's. 6. S5 moonroof doesn't open totally, it only tilts upwards. 7. Both are pure 4-seaters, unles your passenger is willing to sit on the middle transmission tunnel separating the 2 rear seats. In terms of driving, the 335i steering is heavier than S5, even if u choose Dynamic mode on the S5. My experience is that whilst taking a corner, the S5 allows you to go fast, knowing that it has AWD, but it doesn't excite u as much as the 335 with its RWD. Cheerio!