Search the Community

Showing results for '"C180K"' in topics.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Try searching for:

More search options

• Search By Tags

Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type

Categories

• Articles
    • Forum Integration
    • Frontpage
  • Pages
  • Miscellaneous
    • Databases
    • Templates
    • Media

Forums

• Cars
    • General Car Discussion
    • Tips and Resources
  • Aftermarket
    • Accessories
    • Performance and Tuning
    • Cosmetics
    • Maintenance & Repairs
    • Detailing
    • Tyres and Rims
    • In-Car-Entertainment
  • Car Brands
    • Japanese Talk
    • Conti Talk
    • Korean Talk
    • American Talk
    • Malaysian Talk
    • China Talk
  • General
    • Electric Cars
    • Motorsports
    • Meetups
    • Complaints
  • Sponsors
  • Non-Car Related
    • Lite & EZ
    • Makan Corner
    • Travel & Road Trips
    • Football Channel
    • Property Buzz
    • Investment & Financial Matters
  • MCF Forum Related
    • Official Announcements
    • Feedback & Suggestions
    • FAQ & Help
    • Testing

Blogs

• MyAutoBlog

Find results in...

Find results that contain...

Date Created

• Start

End

Last Updated

• Start

End

Filter by number of...

• Start

End

Group

1. Vehicle No. SLR4338M Vehicle Make/Model MERCEDES BENZ / C180K 😁
  2. Thinking of getting a 2010-2012 C180K, after looking at my options vs a younger Cat A B&B. am put off by the higher road tax for higher engine caps, thus only considering the C180K.... don't wanna have to renew on a high COE after driving for just another 2-3 years, thus looking at the option of being able to drive the car longer, thus considering either new(almost new) or 11-12 yo cars. Depreciation wise, a 11-12 yo C180K seems acceptable and less than a new/almost-new B&B. Just wondering if the C180K is reliable enough to last me another 8-9 yrs... Thanks for the advise.
  3. Hi, both trunk lights(boot) lights of my W204 c180k are not working(one on the right side of boot and the other on the trunk lid). Could some experience hands advise how should I troubleshoot from here? And where is the fuse location of the trunk lights? Thanks in advance.
  4. LOoks like he/she could have made it over but why gave up halfway? 😁 The K behind the C180K means Kompressor?🤔
  5. Just to recap especially those who're only just finding this thread. The latest error code which occurred during the second week of January 2020 was 'the throttle valve actuator does not reach the specified position'. The dealer's workshop in Defu Lane is charging $500 inclusive of labour. I got a second opinion from Elite Car Ventures and they advised me to change the manifold throttle body and supercharger throttle body at $1580 inclusive of labour. I then got a third opinion from Kee Yong who was recommended to me by someone from the SG Merc FB group who apparently had the same problem. Kee Yong said to replace the Bosch throttle body for $620 with installation. I will go to the dealer's workshop to change the throttle for $500. If after the change, the problem still persists then I will send it to Cycle and Carriage. It wasn't my decision to purchase a Mercedes at all. I was compelled to purchase it😳 This C180k doesn't feel all that wow and jazz and shebang. and yes I know.I know it's prevalent here in our society but I'm not that sort of guy that is into flashy stuffy, conscious of face value or social status etc. if you read this thread from the beginning you would know that I was looking at 5 year COE cars such as Civic. It is my hope that future first-time buyers do not commit the mistakes I've made. Hence my detailed but clear posts. Are you able to provide the link? I've messaged several dealers on fb and sgcarmart asking them whether they have tampered with the odometer or why all the c180k listed on these platforms seems to all have the magical mileage of 120,000km. none of them were able to provide with a proper answer. whats the name of your dealership? great points. I'll ask the technicians to do this when i send the car for its first servicing.
  6. Help, am considering to trade in my 09' Evo X Sst to new merc C180K. Not sure if is a downgrade for me or an upgrade. My wife n kids feels uncomfortable on my current rides, due to stiff suspension, n abit torquey. Evo vs c180 2L vs 1.6L 350bhp vs 150bhp 9km/L vs 12km/L $1300++ installment vs $1500 /mth Servicing n maintenance more expensive than C180K Omv 39k vs 31k Intrest 1.88 vs 2.2% Please share your view, if is wise to change this new C180K.
  7. There are a few 1-owner (low to average mileage) C180K in the market. Hope you got one of those. If this unit comes back with a C grade, perhaps you can reconsider the C200k. If you have multiple drivers/passengers, the electronic memory seats are very handy. Power wise, I don't think C180k and C200k are that much different in Singapore's city driving. STA's inspection is quite superficial - checks for the usual leaks, body/paint damages, wear and tear...etc and I don't think they have Xentry tool to scan for existing or old fault codes. FYI.
  8. Wah I don't believe the crowd man, when I was at the C&C showroom today. Packed like crazy! Everybody also want to test drive ... long queue. All tables and huddle rooms fully occupied! At $153K for an entry level C-Class sedan, it's actually a very attractive proposition. At that price, Audi has only got the A3 1.4 and A1. But hatchbacks nia. BMW only the 116i - hatch back also. Now got no 316i sedan liao. VW got Golf 1.4 and Scirocco - again, both hatchbacks. Nothing wrong with hatchbacks, but I suppose the general car-buying public in Singapore still prefer sedans hor. So, will we continue to see Merc at pole position in the sales figures for March and 2Q 2012?
  9. Hold on to Evo X sst $1350/mth 1.88% intrest 39k Omv 3k insurance. 5k servicing. No warranty. Last EVO legend Buy new C180k $1650 / mth 2.68% intrest 31k Omv 15k servicing. 3 yrs warranty. MB entry level. If these are the options u have, which would u choose?
  10. Starting this thread for new and not so new owners seeing that the C180K is gonna take the roads by STORM 1. 2. 3.
  11. Up to 70% of C-Class sold in 2011 by C&C are C180Ks. http://motoring.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/...321-334791.html Premium brands pick up speed and new buyers in Cat A By Samuel Ee The luxury brands are attracting new customers as they steadily gain market share in the Category A COE segment, with Mercedes-Benz being the most successful so far. A Cat A certificate of entitlement is used to register a car with an engine capacity 1,600cc and below, and costs less than a Cat B COE, which is for cars above 1,600cc. One reason is because Cat A models are smaller and traditionally considered bread-and-butter models. But not anymore. With European manufacturers downsizing their engines to reduce fuel consumption and exhaust emissions, there are now more and more premium models with 1.6-litre engines. One of them is the Mercedes-Benz C180 Kompressor, with a 1,597cc supercharged engine and five- speed automatic transmission. This is not to be mistaken with the C180 CGI BlueEfficiency, which has a 1.8-litre turbocharged engine mated to a seven- speed auto. Last year, the C180 K accounted for 68.6 per cent of the total 1,351 units of C-Class cars sold here. One important advantage it has is affordability - at $177,888 (with COE), the C180 K is currently $20,000 less than the C180 CGI mainly because of the COE premium. 'Of course the OMV is lower,' said a dealer for a competitor, referring to the open market value. 'But it is mostly the gap between the Cat A and Cat B premiums that gives the C180 K its price advantage.' The Cat A COE premium is currently at $56,552, while Cat B is at $79,304. The dealer added that this price advantage has also resulted in conquest customers for the brand with the three-pointed star. 'The C180 has attracted many new customers who used to drive two-litre Japanese cars because both now cost about the same,' he explained. Another German luxury marque which is quietly carving out a niche in Cat A is BMW with its 1 Series five-door hatchback. 'With the launch of the new BMW 1 Series last November, the COE Category A has become a relevant segment to BMW,' said BMW Group Asia managing director Neil Fiorentinos, referring to the 118i and 116i's four-cylinder 1.6-litre TwinPower Turbo petrol engine. He added that during the 1990s, BMW had a 3 Series with a 1.6-litre engine in the form of a saloon and compact - the 316i. With the new 3 Series, the BMW 335i and 328i have been launched and the 320i with its 2.0-litre turbocharged engine is due here in the second half of 2012. But according to Mr Fiorentinos, 'there is no confirmation of other model variants at this point in time'. However, at BMW- owned Mini, all the models from the iconic brand are in Cat A. Mr Fiorentinos said: 'Given the good response to the new BMW 1 Series and the strong trend of Mini, the Cat A segment already plays an important part in BMW Group Asia's product portfolio and we foresee it will continue to do so in the future.' Over at Volvo, Cat A sales now comprise an average 40 per cent of sales since the first Cat A model was launched in May last year, said general manager Victor Kwan. Volvo has three Cat A models - the S60 T4, S80 T4, and V60 T4 - and Mr Kwan said most customers are new to the Swedish brand. 'The profile of buyers for the S60 and S80 is somewhat different, but the majority of them are new to the Volvo brand,' he explained, adding that about 30 per cent are from other Continental makes, including premium and mid-tier continental brands, 40 per cent from Japanese makes, and the balance being first- time buyers. This article was first published in The Business Times.
  12. from http://www.vagsg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=69231
  13. I'm thinking of getting a 2nd hand C180K around 5yrs old. Any bros have any idea if its a good idea? Thanks in advance.
  14. Any bros know if there is a difference between the C180K and C180ML coupe registration 2005/2006? Anyone knows if they are reliable?
  15. Ok guys, I know that this topic has been discussed at length and I know what is the general consensus is like. But what I'm going to present here is more 'down to the wire', ie. prices and packages offered. 1st, I would like to cast my opinions on both of these cars. Some may beg to differ but all comments will be treated with respect. Personally already have a preference, but after looking and feeling both cars, the race is blown wide open. Now it almost depends on which brand gives me a better offer. C180K BE Pros: - Better overall retail package - Lower road tax - RWD is just better(Really.) - Additional boot lip spoiler - 17" multi spoke rims Cons: - Ah Pek image - Less interior equipment - Slightly more road and engine noise - One year older than A4 A4 1.8T Attraction Pros: - Impressive interior equipment - Better looking inside out - More powerful and refined - More features Cons: - Stiff pricing and unattractive retail package - Dull handling(Drive select? I'm not so sure... The electro steering doesn't cut the mustard. Really.) - Ugly rims - FWD - Just an expensive VW? Similiarities: - Ride in comfort or sport mode almost the same, less the handling and steering feel. - Both offer 17"rims - Warranty package
  16. Hello @Liquidh Thanks for your great question. Our Claims Manager, Mr. Albert Hong, has prepared the following for your information. This is to be used as guidance and if you have a scenario you would like to discuss with our Claims team, please do call us at 6221 2111 so that we can talk through the specifics of your situation. We have provided our answer in 3 parts based on how we interpreted your original post. Q1. Can I check if BudgetDirect will pay for repairs concerning COE cars (i.e. more than 10 years old) if a comprehensive plan is purchased? Yes, BDI will pay for the repairs concerning COE cars as long as the cost of repair is within the economic repair limit when you make an own damage claim under your comprehensive policy. Q2. I understand from your previous post that there will be economic limits to the insurer's willingness to pay for repairs (subject to the price of the COE of the same vintage, model, condition, etc.) As all vehicles in Singapore has economic repair limits which are calculated as follows: Economic Repair Limit: (Market value – Relevant LTA Rebates (COE + PARF)). If your vehicle is more than 10 years old, there will be no PARF value. For the avoidance of doubt, Market Value (MV) is taken from like for like of the vehicle considering its year of registration, make and model, engine capacity, etc.) Q3. My question is if my COE car (or a similar model of the same registered year and condition) is worth roughly S$20k, how would BudgetDirect calculate the "economic limit" for such a case? I like to find out if it would be worthwhile to spend the money to get a comprehensive plan (rather than TFT). We do not have sufficient information to estimate the repair limit for your car; hence we would like to give you 2 examples below instead. Example 1 Make & Model: Toyota Corolla Altis 1.6(A) (taking reference of posting in SGCarMart) Vehicle Registration Date: July 2006 (COE until July 2026) MV - $32,800.00.00 (subjected to verification) COE Rebate - $24,759.50 (since we do not have the COE rebates, we shall take the COE value listed in the post as the COE paid during July 2016) [($49,519/10) x 5] (estimate remaining COE to be 5 years) Economic repair limit: $8,040.50 Example 2 Make & Model: Mercedes Benz C180K (taking reference of posting in SGCarMart) Vehicle Registration Date: March 2010 (COE until Feb 2030) MV - $82,000.00.00 (subjected to verification) COE Rebate - $29,700.00 (since we do not have the COE rebates, we shall take the COE value listed in the post as the COE paid during March 2020) [($33,000/10) X 9] (estimate remaining COE to be 9 years) Economic repair limit: $52,300.00 Alternatively, you can check your LTA rebates at onemotoring.com or to the link provided: https://vrl.lta.gov.sg/lta/vrl/action/pubfunc?ID=EnquireRebateBeforeDeReg Kindly note we do not insure any vehicle under the vintage vehicle scheme. I hope this has been helpful. As noted above, you're most welcome to call our team for a personal conversation about how we could meet your individual needs. On behalf of the team at Budget Direct Insurance, thanks for your question and have a great day. Geoffrey Budget Direct Insurance Call us at 6221 2111 or visit us anytime at budgetdirect.com.sg Claims support: Within Singapore, call us at 6221 2199 From overseas, call us at +65 6540 2199
  17. Hi All, Saw an ad in papers by PI offering the previous model E200 (W211) for $148k, got quite some colors/units, maybe clearing remaining stock. I know many fall for the new E-class ... but looking at the price factor, it's on par (if not cheaper) with the C180 from C&C ($150k plus?) ... So which is a better choice in your opinion ... I bet E200 is surely a more complete car than C180, but the "PI" fear exist ...
  18. Taking into account your spare cash, just renew 5yrs COE. You can recover the COE rebate anytime within the next 5yrs, only loss your PARF. I have a Feb'12 C180K (mileage 58K only) due next year, will most likely renew 10years COE, just hoping CAT A pqp will remain at current level, don't think can see the $30K+ pqp range in near future Prior to this, I had a pre-owned 2015 model C180 W205 which I loss close to $50K (incl high loan interest $14k) after driving it for close to 2yrs. Driving a COE car would be more prudent Was surprised nowadays youngster quite prudent, my colleague commented his son making $4K salary can amass $70K+ over few years after Uni to buy a brand new Elantra 3yrs ago in cash.
  19. Also would like to share some Mod I did for my C180K few year ago. Bought the C180k back in 2011 brand new under warranty. Felt that car was under power especially the low end. Endured for 3 years (warranty period) and after 3 years, this is what I Modd: 1. Upgraded the brake 2. Replaced the stock header to Kleenman from Germany including the first cat 3. Replaced the stock exhaust system to Fox Quad 4. Accessories like cables, tubing, etc to suit the new set up 5. And finally, the most important part... without this, the whole set up will be useless and engine check light sure came on... stage 2 tuning The original BHP was 154. After installing the new header and exhaust, the BHP increased to 168. After the tuning, the BHP increased to 207. Thin line - Reading taken after replacing the header and exhaust system Bold line - Reading taken after stage 2 tuning Enjoyed the "new" car for a few years, never regret modding. Only issue is every 2 years inspection.... a pain in the ass... haha Bought a new car and restored the car back to stock and handed over to my wifey for running errand... 2 more years to scrap..
  20. I feel sorry for TS. What is supposed to be a happy first time car buying experience and joyful acquisition of a set of wheels has somewhat turned sour. However, I think it was a missed opportunity for him. He chose rightly to come here to seek advice and many of us here has advised caution and offered useful tips and information over several pages here. I said in this same thread to avoid COE cars and against buying prestige Conti marques as a first timer. I also suggested a 5-year old BnB car with his then $45k budget. I even PM him to offer my help to guide him along, seeing that he seemed like a genuine guy that needed help. Unfortunately TS decided to go his own way and make his own choices based on his own limited information and knowledge. I am sorry if I sound like I am rubbing salt into a wound, but I would say again that TS did not listen enough to us despite all the well-being advice that we have all taken time to share with him. We would have never said it's ok to buy a COE C180k with 5 owners and 120k km mileage. We would have smelt a rat from here. I would have spent the $65k on a 5-year old Mazda 6 and be very happily driving it around.
  21. The dealer's workshop in Defu Lane rectified the valve compressor issue. The workshop I went to is Elite Car Ventures in Kaki Bukit which the previous owner of the car also went to. I agree with you. The engine light came on again twice but has since not appeared. This time the error code states 'the throttle valve actuator does not reach the specified position'. Anyways, when I visited Elite Car Ventures I had the copy of the STA report which I showed to the boss. He took a picture and his admin gave me a quote based on the problems stated in the STA report. I was comfortable with the quote and Elite will be doing the following works. - timing cover gasket - inter cooler hose - transmission oil, oil sump and gasket - rear absorber stopper and dust cover - engine oil dipstick Elite Car Ventures also gave me a quote for the current error code but since the car is now with them, I've asked the technician to check the car first and advise me when I go down to collect the car, before I make any decision. For those that were asking, Elite's servicing is at $88 for Asian cars and $118 for continental cars. ECV Oil servicing package price for Asian cars is 3 + 1 free at $264. ECV Oil servicing package price for Continental cars is 3 + 1 free at $354 and includes - engine oil shell helix 5W40 Fully synthetic @ 4 litres - engine oil filter - QC check for 15 points (General Safety Issue). Is this good enough for a w204 c180k?
  22. i purchased a 10 year renewed COE w204 c180k at a good price. Happy with the purchase. Will now move into the modification phase.
  23. I changed from the 320i to C180K .... If comparing the same YOM - 2008, I would definitely goes for the C180K. By the way, for Y2008, the C class are all using the supercharged kompressor engine, there is no NA engine for Merc... the 7Gtronic refer to the GB and they are in the lower end C class from Y2013 i think. In terms of drivability, the 320i beats the C180K anytime but I do like the C180K for the reliability and ease of maintenance/repair. If TS is looking at car that is 6 years old, I would not encourage TS to go back to AD. There are lots ot workshops that specialises in Merc out there. Finally, the servicing at ADs is cheaper in BMW compared to Merc. I still do my regular service at C&C but for major parts replacement, I go to 3rd party workshop. I do agree that COM is important as I did not have the best impression for my E90 assembled in SA.The Air Con vents broke within days of the car leaving the showroom. I kept my 320i for only 26 months .. my C180K is with me for about 4 years now .. and it still felt solid but I cannot say the same for the 26 months 320i.
  24. This is the much awaited post on my purchase journey of the Mercedes Benz w204 C180k, avantgarde 2010 model, 5 previous owners, 120,000km mileage. I would like to thank many of you who have given me advice on the threads and also via private messaging. Background I've been researching on buying cars for about 2 years on fb, carousell, sgcarmart, ucars and other forums before I started browsing mycarforum in October 2020. The plan was to buy a 5 year renewed COE car such as Lancer EX or Civic 1.6/1.8. Budget was $35k to $40k. I met 2 dealers from 2 different dealerships. Spoke to both for about 2-3 hours each. Both told me not to buy Lancer EX or Civic 1.6/1.8 because both were known to be problematic cars. I was told by both to either buy a 5 year COE vios or cerato instead. Both also told me to consider increasing my budget cos it made financial sense to get 10 year COE car instead of a 5 year COE and also to consider looking at continental cars. Only one went further and suggested a COE mercedes cos its a reliable machine. After the meetup with these dealers, I didn't think much about buying a car and entered a 'cooling period'. Carousell Late one night few weeks later I saw a merc c180 listing on carousell. i liked the listing so i msged the dealer. he was prompt and detailed in his replies. I met him a few days later and saw the car. He gave me a tour of the car and answered my queries satisfactorily. We went back to his office and we discussed the important details such as price, warranty, what the previous owner had done for the car with proof of receipts etc, next steps if I do go ahead with the purchase of the car etc. Why did I pay the deposit for the car? I) the dealer had good reviews on his carousell account. I was comfortable with him and my intuition told me to trust him. He also did not charge admin fee. He provided a 6 months warranty. As you read on, you will see that he is indeed a reliable dealer who kept his word. 2) the previous owner had sent his car to Elite Car Ventures for servicing and repair/replacement works. I saw the company's logo on the receipt when the dealer showed me proof of works done by the previous owner. I was somewhat pleased because I knew about Elite Car Ventures about a year ago on fb and they had about 300++ positive reviews. 3) After the dealer had explained to me the breakdown etc, I asked for 15 minutes to go out and make a few calls. I called my wife to update her on what had transpired so far. I then called a friend who has been buying continental cars all his life and messaged 3 strangers on carousell who had bought mercedes from other dealers who replied me immediately. All of them said to proceed with the deal however they asked me if can get a further discount given that there were already 5 previous owners and that the mileage was 120,000km. 4) the dealer gave me a good discount off the listed selling price. 5) his insurance quote was also the lowest among the other companies. Mistakes I made 1) I viewed the car in the basement carpark of the building which was dimly lit and did not drive out of the premises for a test drive. I only drove a few rounds in the carpark itself. 2) I did not negotiate for an in-car camera and android headunit to be included in the sale price of the car 3) I did not arrange for the car to be sent to a workshop for a pre-purchase inspection. Terms of the purchase agreement 1) $2000 to be paid upfront as deposit. 2) The deposit will be returned if the STA report comes back with anything other than Grade B. Problems with the car 1) on the day that I collected the car while driving back, the engine light came on. I contacted the dealer and he asked me to send to his preferred workshop. Turns out the valve compressor was dirty and they cleaned it up. The engine light still came on few days later and the dealer replaced the valve compressor at no cost to me. 2) the in-car camera which I purchased from the dealer is an iroad x5. It doesn't have a screen so I wouldn't know if its recording or not. A couple of times, the camera prompted that there was no memory card inside but actually there was already one inside. https://i.i-sgcm.com/products/items/1/2019/10/13507_1.jpg Repairs Based on the STA report, there were 4 minor problems with the car so naturally I got a quote from Elite Car Ventures for the repairs since the previous owner also sent the car to them. They gave me a reasonable quote so I decided to engage them for the repair works. They also charge $118 for each servicing so I will go to them too. If I could do it all over again, what are the steps I should have taken? (first time buyers, please take note of the following). 1) view the car in a place where there is natural light/daytime and drive out onto the main road, expressway etc. 2) negotiate with the dealer to have an in-car camera with a screen to be installed instead of iroad cameras which doesn't have a screen. 3) if possible, negotiate with the dealer to throw in an android headunit. 4) car to be sent to a workshop for pre-purchase inspection so that I know I won't be buying a lemon. Elite Car Ventures charges $50 for this inspection and with 300++ positive google reviews, I don't think it's bad idea to get them to do the pre-purchase inspection. Future plans for the car. (if anyone got good lobang, please let me know). 1) change to c63 bodykit. either paint or wrap the car 2) paint the brake calipers ( wondering if there is a need to change the brake kits. any advice?) 3) install fibre optic and ambient lighting 4) replace stock speakers with something better 5) install android headunit Conclusion I was fortunate that the dealer is a reliable person who did not sell me a lemon or ditch me when the engine light came on. However it could have turned out for the worse had it been some crappy dealer that we often read horror experiences about in forums, on fb, word of mouth etc. But I too made mistakes as mentioned above so if it did turn out for the worse then I also should shoulder part of the blame. I hope that my post will assist future first time buyers to not imitate what I've done. The ramifications can be quite devastating emotionally and of course financially.
  25. Mine was C180k, sold it in 2017.