End

Last Updated

• Start

End

Filter by number of...

• Start

End

Group

1. RX-8 Watch Protection Film - K.B. Luxury Watch and Jewellery (sgwatches.com.sg) https://sgwatches.com.sg/products/rx8-watch-protection-film/ this type.... kan bo liao... u really have to peel off and stick each sticker one by one.... really time consuming. up to couple of hours. Be warned... once u send to RSC for overhaul, they will tear everything out.
  2. According to the crew at Auto Motor und Sport, the Mazda RX-8 won't be coming back to Europe for the 2011 model year. Why? The rev-rific rotary can't pass the Euro-5 emission standards and a replacement won't arrive until 2013. Mazda Germany exec, Joseph Alois Schmid, told AMuS that retrofitting the current engine would be too cost prohibitive and the Wankel can't adapt quickly enough to Europe's stringent emission standards. Although a replacement is in the works
  3. Mazda Roadster Turbo, RX8 Mazdaspeed Mazda Motor Company introduced two limited-edition models in Japan. The Roadster Turbo is the first factory version offering a turbocharged engine for the Roadster, known as MX-5 or Miata abroad. And Mazdaspeed created an enhanced RX8. Mazda Roadster Turbo Mazda Motor Corporation has added a new turbocharged engine model to its Mazda Roadster, the world's best-selling lightweight sports car. The limited edition Mazda Roadster Turbo goes on sale from the beginning of February at Mazda Anfini and Mazda dealerships throughout Japan. The new Roadster Turbo not only delivers more power, but also provides high torque from a low-speed range to ensure a linear response to acceleration, based on the concept of "oneness between car and driver." Mazda has employed a turbocharged engine with an intercooler and tuned the chassis, achieving a high level of integrated balance in its powertrain under the concept. The specially-tuned low-down suspension with Bilstein dampers and large diameter 17-inch tires provide strong support for the wide range flat torque and powerful acceleration produced by the turbo engine. Further, exclusive equipment including newly designed aero parts and metal tone interior parts further emphasize the car's sports spirit. The new Roadster Turbo achieves a superb overall vehicle balance for enhanced driving pleasure creating a feeling of "oneness between car and driver." The new model offers a choice of four different interior packages and four body colors to meet the diverse needs of customers. The new model is equipped with a turbocharged engine that starts up with excellent response from a low-speed range and produces flat torque over a wide range of engine speeds. Torque has been increased by over 20 percent compared to the base model. The turbo model also features a specialized red engine cover, exclusive radiator, and iridium plugs. In response to the increased torque produced by the turbocharged engine, Mazda has reinforced the engine power transmission parts. The new model employs an upgraded clutch and transmission, reinforced drive and propeller shafts, torque-sensing LSD and specially designed muffler. The new model features 205/40R17 80W tires and 17x7J aluminum wheels, exclusively tuned low-down suspension employing Bilstein dampers and silver-painted brake calipers. Exterior Employs newly designed front, rear, and rear under spoilers, smoked headlamp bezels and ornaments designed especially for the Roadster Turbo. Interior Exclusively designed interior includes the following: - genuine leather-wrapped (with red stitched) steering wheel, shift knob and parking brake lever. - Silver meter panel. - Audio component including AM/FM electronic tuner and in-dash 6 disk CD changer. - Metal tone center and shift panels. - Rearview mirror cover with Roadster logo. - Aluminum pedal set. Sales volume for this model is limited to 350 units. RX-8 Mazdaspeed Mazda Motor Corporation announces the release of a limited edition RX-8 Mazdaspeed Version, which is based on the RX-8 and fitted with Mazdaspeed* brand tune-up parts for enhanced sports driving performance. The RX-8 Mazdaspeed Version goes on sale from the middle of February at Mazda Anfini and Mazda dealerships throughout Japan. The new RX-8 Mazdaspeed Version is based on the RX-8 Type S. Mazda has tuned up the engine using it's exclusively designed PCM (Powertrain Control Module) to match the modified intake and exhaust systems of the Mazdaspeed Version, as well as going through balance adjustments around the eccentric shaft in response to the lightweight flywheel. Mazda has also tuned up the suspension and fitted aero parts to further enhance sports driving performance. Those modifications, carried out under Mazda's strict quality control system, provide the RX-8 Mazdaspeed Version with well-balanced performance. In addition, the RENESIS rotary engine has been further improved to deliver greater aerodynamic performance and even better sports car driving performance. Sharp, stable maneuverability is further enhanced while maintaining ride comfort, and the vehicle's exterior design supervised by the RX-8 chief designer expresses high performance. Specially tuned engine - Exclusively designed PCM (Powertrain Control Module) to match the modified intake and exhaust systems. - Customized fresh air ducts for efficient engine air intake. - Customized sports muffler that produces a rich engine sound and reduces exhaust pressure (with catalyst). - Special spark plugs to stabilize combustion. Use of Mazdaspeed brand parts Engine related parts - Double oil cooler set with improved cooling performance to handle hard driving. - Lightweight flywheel and balance adjustments around the eccentric shaft for sharp engine response. - Earthing kit to stabilize engine performance. Chassis related parts - Sports spring set to enhance driving stability (lowers vehicle by 20 mm). - Mono-tube type shock absorbers that deliver both excellent high speed cornering performance and a comfortable ride. - Fade resistant brake pad to enhance initial braking force and vehicle control. Body reinforcement parts - Front/rear strut bar and performance bar set to increase body rigidity. - Large-diameter front/rear stabilizer bars to control rolling during cornering. Exterior parts - Exterior design by the RX-8 chief designer beautifully expresses driving performance with the front nose, rear under skirt, side skirt set, rear wing and Mazdaspeed ornaments, while maintaining the car's original balance. The Mazda RX-8 Mazdaspeed Version is available in two colors: exclusive Strato Blue Mica with a high quality and striking appearance and Sunlight Silver Metallic, which is popular for its direct expression of sports driving. The sales volume of the RX-8 Mazdaspeed Version will be limited to 300 units.
  4. Ghunk

RX8 help!

Hi! I'm currently doing my research into RX-8 with intention to get it soon. need some feedback and reviews on the car.... 1) what models available here in Singapore at this stage? 2) has the recall issue been resolved? 3) which PI most reliable? 4) anyone can give a review on the car from personal experience? 5) I'm interested only in auto with steering shift (wife factor... available? 6) what is the price range i should be looking at to avoid being chopped? 7) most importantly, is it buggy? meaning: do i need to bring it for repair or replacement of parts often? Thanks in advance!!!
  5. one of the reason that comes to mind why mfg was always under quoted is from the Mazda RX8 experience where reported case where the Maxda RX-8 rotary-engine sports car failed to produce the marketed power and Mazda attributed the drop in power (to 142 hp) to a last minute change in engine from 155 to 142. Mazda offered to buy back the car (at full sticker price plus taxes and fees) regardless of use or condition of the car.
  6. Oh.. Haha.. Mine was the other way round bro.,. But not a sad ending... I think I post this somewhere before.. At night . ECP , one purple RX8 rev the engine at another RX8 beside , calling for race.. Me , (Not RX8 , a Estima ) , backside itchy decided to join in as 3rd competitor. Wah.. Since mine is JDM , cannot go above 180... Then , from after Fort Road to I think TK or Bedok.. suddenly they both stop... I damn happy la.. Thinking family car won 2 RX-8.. KNN.. Turn out speed camera ahead.. Luckily I brake about 200m before camera.. Or else.. 24 points right? True la.. As you grow , you tend not to be so competitive.. Lols..
  7. Thanks for dissing my ride. I guess i must be one of those haolian types driving a cheap korean car trying to pickup some ignorant chicks. :) I MUST be daft not to get the 3yr old RX8 since its the same price. Why would I want to waste my 5 years of savings on a posermobile like the Koup 1.6A, when I can get a REAL man's car, eh??? Nothing like that rotary engine blasting down Geylang at 3am in the morning, picking up REAL women who understand what performance means. I got nothing against RX-8 owners. I just have something against kunts who think I'm a poser just cos I drive a hot looking car with no pickup. Guess what: I like my car - Very much. The drive. The interior. The exterior. Even the fake double exhaust (which sounds great btw.). I could care less if some RX8 zooms past or some Golf GTI beats me off the green light. Let em.
  8. Hi OOMPH, it just came to mind. Why not visit Mazda Motor (MM) and ask for their senior staff who are very familiar about the RX8 to answer your queries and other details. I know that MM sells only the auto whereas PIs sell manual. But what you actually want to know are those problems that ex-owners encountered. I have actually test-driven the RX8 and the 2.5L Mazda6 MPS and could feel that the power of Mazda6 MPS easily outbeat the RX-8. But lookwise, RX-8 is very sporty indeed and 2+2 seater whereas the Mazda6 MPS is a saloon. The RX-8 produces 231 bhp power and 211 Nm torque whereas Mazda6 MPS produces 260 bhp power and and a whopping 380 Nm torque. MM is selling both cars about the same price. In fact, after test driven both cars, their GM strongly recommended me the Mazda6 MPS.
  9. I used to own an Maroon RX-8 in 2008. It was one of my best ride. Went into a lot of forum to understand what I am getting myself into. Few things to take note: - Auto or manual transmission: Mine comes with the manual gear instead of the shift pedal behind the steering. Although, its still using a twin rotary engine, the manual gear help bring down the petrol consumption. - Ignition coil: My 1st servicing was madness. Had to fork out 1.5k because 1 of the ignition coil is damage. Although, Garage-R quoted me $150 for 1 ignition coil, you have to change all the ignition coil to be safe. 1 damage coil may damage the rest due to misfiring. And 3 ignition coil on each engine.... you have to change 6 ignition coil at 1 shot. $150X6...you do the math. - Coolant warning sign: Before I sold off my car, I had been getting the coolant warning sign. When I had it checked, most workshop says it is just the sensors. It comes and go. Checked online and apparently other people had the same issues as well. Get your approved workshop to check on the coolant sensor. (most workshop have no idea about this.) - Hot air: From the engine, the air flows directly beneath gear box to the back. So you know the compartment separating the driver and the passenger on the left and all the way to the back (which makes it a 4 seater rather than the 5 seater, it contains the output hot air from the twin rotary engines. You tend to feel the heat on a hot day and your leg will sweat when you have been driving the car for a long period at 1 time. Also, try standing beside the car just outside the door after driving long. You can feel hot air (very hot) coming out from underneath. Other than that, RX8 is a cool car. Nice to rev, good torque, very responsive and sexy car to drive. I test drove 220km up to KL. Got fined at one of the roadblocks near Melaka. $300RM...Ouch. (Always look out when driving under bridges)
  10. What did i say abt power mods only... you obviously didnt read well enough Post 1: On an optimistic note they're expecting mid 10's low 11's depending on traction, running race fuel and with drag radials... Post 2 and 3: the skunk rsx is a rsx shell and engine on a drag frame... nowhere even close to a normal teggy.. even the guys from the first post think so. if you do want to compare drag cars though... http://kenscheepers.com/modified_rx-8.htm Drag rx8... mid-low 7's for the 1/4. Considering the rx8 uses the same engine as the rx7 minus a turbo add improved port designs to equal the output of a stock FD... you do the math on mod potential as there are heaps of street rx7's in the 800-1000bhp powerband.
  11. En0203

Which car?

hehe sorry in fact i heard from panda that RX-8 got good torque from 4k to 7k rpm so i quoted 4k rpm but it's actually not so. Please refer to the stock RX8 dyno chart below (on wheel), the torque curve of RX8 is actually quite flat, u should have good torque from 2800 rpm onwards, can see that more than 80% of max torque is available most of the time[thumbsup]
  12. bro... of course, if one's pockets can afford, I am not denying that there could be more fun cars out there like RX-8 I also know abt RX8's cult status but different price bracket.
  13. +1 on that, how can rx8 be a joke when it has achieved so many international awards? As of October 2006 the RX-8 has won at least 37 international motoring awards including 2003 International Engine of the Year, the 2003 Japanese Car of the Year, Australia's Wheels magazine's Car of the Year for 2003, the 2004 Singapore Car of the Year, the 2004 U.S. Best Sports Car, and several UK Best Car Awards. It was named on Car and Driver magazine's Ten Best list for 2004, 2005, and 2006. It also took home 1st place on Car and Driver's "Four of a Kind" comparison test.[12] 2010 RX-8 R3 edition placed 3rd out of 7 on Car and Driver's The Best-Handling Car in America for Less Than $100,000. fyi,i drive one :)
  14. not RX-8? if I listened to u, I would hv bought 3 cars: Mz6, RX8 & MX5...
  15. Was it a Mazda RX-8? RX8 Rotary Inside For today's fuel-injected engines, it's a complete waste of fuel.
  16. When you want to compare two cars, better to include a poll also. It seems that RX-8 has the most votes. As usual it is individual's choice and you should feel both by driving. My take would definitely be RX8, it is really with "sporty" specs, where as Tuscani looks only sporty. RX-8 has four doors, where as Tuscani, you need mess with the seats. Tuscani's life cycle is over and ofcourse there are rumours about RX-8 getting its charm over too. Flips are RX-8 maintenance would be very high (in case of any major issues) and not many private workshops can handle rotary engines. RX-8 would be quite expensive. Having driven both for few days only (on rental), I felt the driving position is better in Tuscani. RX-7 can also be considered as I felt RX-7 is better than RX-8.
  17. Model: Mazda RX-8 Color: Red with Gun Metal Rims Registration: SGU 9707 got any pics of the car with the rims? maybe got some feature to easily spot? I travel at odd times so maybe got higher chance? Will jio any RX8 that comes to my view and will post here to whine...lol
  18. RX-8 definitely has much better performance than Koup...and for those who take 7yr loan on the Koup, and was wondering if there was a more powerful car for the same amount of money, now you know there's an alternative to your ride... i know both cars totally not in the same class of cars...but seriously, the depreciation of the RX8 is pretty bad, so now you can afford a 2nd 215bhp 6A/T car for the same amount of money as you buy a brand new Koup 2.0L (A)... cheers!!
  19. The rx-8 in your DP is your car? I saw your car at LSTA about 2 months back... must say it's damn chio! I'm in the blue colour STI... getting my alignment done. To TS, I was in your shoes awhile back. In terms of reliability, it's going to be subaru hands down. The general consensus is that Subaru is more reliable and it ranks quite high even in reliability tests and surveys (way above mitsubishi and mazda, just 1 slot above toyota). The thing that sealed the reliability deal w/ me is that my friend with a 03 STI, moderately modded, whack and track VERY regularly... and yet the only thing that he has to change besides the fluids involved in regularly servicing, is a power steering pump (common problem with rexes) and it's STILL going fine. If you are talking about looks and chick magnet, RX8 hands down... but depends on whether you need the help of a sweet car to pick up chicks or not. It's torqueless as well... does not have kickback feeling. Edit: I'm getting between 7.5(minimum) to 8.9Km/l
  20. Hmmm, no way i'm going to read thru this and not reply. I'm the white trd sports M owner and i'm proud to drive this car, along with every single one of my brothers and sisters on the road, no matter which variant. Anyone who says a celica is not a performance car blindly probably doesn't own half a performance car. Either that or is a big major airhead. I won't say it's a high performance car but it's definitely a performance car. With it's relatively light weight and aerodynamic body, it will go high performance, it just depends on how much $$$ u want to spend. There are celicas overseas esp in japan and the USA winning competitions built on the vvtiL toyota engine. Anyone still insisting on it being not even a performance car better have an NA car that will do 6 secs 0-100 in the 2L category, cause that's what i'm doing. And if you can beat that i can find faster celicas on the local roads for you.. Cheers. Wow, so yaya. Let me name you a few other cars that that's within your NA 2L-range 6 sec car. Btw, on paper your 0-100 is 6.6 seconds, not 6. And usually on paper, manufacturer will put it faster. So your pick up could be at least 7 seconds or more. Go PG drag and see how well your car performs. Faster than Celica TRD-M cars RX-8 1.3L: 5.8 seconds Lotus Elise/Exige 1.8L: 4+ seconds Honda Type R: 6+ seconds To be exact.. They usually put the numbers slower than what it can do. I'm sure 350z can do below 6sec when on papers they quote 6+ And I'm pretty sure the rx8 is stated 6+ instead of 5.8 on papers for all models. (Not sure bt the PZ edition)
  21. I like the Integra. It has one of the NICEST rear lights I have ever seen on a car that is still relatively affordable. I m quite surprised to know that Integra, powered up version cost as much as RX-8. Personally I like RX-8's unique shape so much that with that kind of price, I would surely plump for the RX-8. Not too sure but is the basic Integra around 80k now while the RX8 around 100k based on current prices? PS:Slightly touting for one of my favourite cars in one of my favourite genre of toys. Nice right?
  22. Let's call the ST a nice round 100k. In this range you have the WRX or WRX STi, Accord Euro R, FD & FN Civic Type R, RX-8 (just the Japs). Otherwise you can throw the VW GT and GTI in the mix as well. Some of these Japanese cars are quicker, one is RWD, two have more driven wheels, some are easier to upkeep. Each has their own attributes to offer. Call it a comparison if you may but it is simply recognizing what the Focus ST offers that the rivals don't, and accepting certain foibles that come along with that choice. Personally I feel it is achingly aggressively beautiful on the outside, orange paint gives it tremendous road presence, as does the lowered stance and fat wheels. On the inside, it looks good in front, I like a sombre driving environment so greys and silvers are ok. The rear seats seem a bit low rent - the rear door trims felt to me like some sort of egg-tray plastic material, hard, scratchy and cheap feeling. Maybe it is hard to get away from the fact that the regular Ford Focus in its home market is an everyman's sort of car, and the ST is based on this. In fact, bar the RX8, all the other cars I've named are high performance versions of a basic car. And the relation to lesser brethren shows - it is only how sound the basic design was, then. 2.5 litres should already produce enough torque for any sort of driving in Singapore, yet they put a turbo on that just to spice things up. It drives well, and I feel they've gone with a conservative tune rather that put up ultimate numbers. 6.8 secs for the century sprint is decent but I am sure it can be better with some small mods.
  23. thanks bro fer the comments of Stilo MS...........the coming Bravo 1.4TC should make the Golf GT fer a run of the money. Bravo may loose on century sprint. This one should be good, and I heard also that the price is going to be very competitive....and also I wanted to compare the Stilo MS against the Golf GT but they didn't have any available, plus the transmissions aren't the same..I must say however, the sound that the Stilo makes CANNOT COMPARE to any damn Golf, and so on...pure italian, hair raising acoustics! As for what Felipe said about the RX-8, I think as a sports car (not as hardcore as the RX-7 though) the RX8 does make lots of sense, but really, trust me la, the FC cannot come close to what the Golf GT puts out. That car i got nearly 650km out of it, 45 litres worth of petrol on a mixture of hard, whack the car driving, city and 110km/h highway driving. Having driven the RX-8 6 speed manual for a few days as well, I have to say that the golf GT, due to the nature of its TC/SC engine, brutally picks up speed faster than the more linear RX-8, up to a certain point...heh..then the RX-8 will overtake it. However, considering the same price range, and the fact that the RX-8 is an RWD, I would bite the bullet, spend more money burning petrol and go for it instead, simply because i'm an RWD fan and it offers me alot more fun. Right now I'm considering between a Golf GTi or a 2nd hand S15...to go FWD or RWD again..that is the headache..heh
  24. Rx-8 won't out of production for a while. It will probably get glorified in some fnf film some years later and interest in it will bloom again. One day, when I was at the workshop, the mechanic was comparing celica with rx-8. He said buy rx-8 better cos of the "timeless" look. After the servicing, he ask me when i going back to him in a ..... rx-8. There is still the dc5r, a pretty powerful machine. Too bad Toyota and Honda pulled the plug on celica, MRS and the rsx/integra. Imo, celica would remain quite a legend too, especially the ss2 sports M variant (only 4 left in SG, I last heard). Ya the rx8 has a timeless praying mantis look. But if it is really so timeless, only time will tell and thus far already many for sale in used car market. celica also looks too much like a co.ckroach. hehe They should really kill all the new car designers ... cos new car designs are just getting uglier and uglier. But the Dc5 still looks okie to me, MRS as well. A pity that both lack performance. Just bring back the rx7 efini ...
  25. Even though it is no excuse (in my books at least) it really must be said that the RX-8 is built upon a completely new platform (or at least 90% of it is)... whereas the GT coupe is basically based on the 9 year old 156 platform.. Rather than using more expensive lightweight materials (i.e: new Audi TT); the RX8 has its compact rotary engine slotted in way back right into the firewall of the engine compartment to help contribute towards a near 50:50 weight distribution.. not to mention its RWD format which also helps in the same respect. And in order to have a very "neutral" handling car which doesnt immediately over/understeer (only when u want it to), ONE of the key ingredients is weight distribution... Obviously on any track where u go fast & furious, the idea still is NOT to "upset & unsettle" the car too much & make sudden gear changes/throttle adjustments/braking/steering input etc.. at least WITHOUT any sensible reason. Cars which have poorer weight distri ratios will definitely require more of such "actions & adjustments" on the track as it oversteers/understeers in the corners losing precious seconds and causing the driver to have less confidence. I will not say further, and since im not a pro or seasoned driver i dont think i can more technical or descriptive than that. But i believe the underlying basics are all there. So from this viewpoint, when u look at the GT coupe 3.2 version you really should know what it was built for: Stunning head turning looks, a fast enough road car, with a great engine and sweet engine note coupled to a fun handling FWD chassis, all this to complement the Italian leather handbag feel of the interior... Buy it for what the GT was intended for and you will have a winner. To buy it for use on track, then can forget it... there are much better and cheaper cars out there that can trump the GT..