Aftermarket(SS, Remus, Sebring...etc) Muffler

Dennisk

anyone can share experience with me with your aftermarket muffler?

share with me the brand, type of flow, benefits, and......i am considering getting one....

Edited by Dennisk

I have only tried Remus on my preivous Alfa 33 16v, it has a very bassy sound but it gets louder after 2 yrs of useage sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

is it only when you acc then it will have the bassy sound? when cruising at constant speed is there any sound?

any noticable diff in performance and FC?

crusing also will have a slight bassy sound, acc of course don't have to say lar sly.gifsly.gifsly.gif

well, there's a slight improvement in high speed runs

These mufflers cost a couple of hundreds to 1K+ depending on brand & model, if improvement is not significant, is it really worth it? hur.gif Unless, you primary interest is the bassy sound!

Any MCF bros can share some experience or opinion. gossip.gif

Cheers!

hello! if its purely a muffler upgrade, mainly its for the sound (yah lah, expensive for just sound but quite nice leh.. heh heh [:p] ), theres is also some slight high-end gain (to help justify changing it in the first place? haha).

To get full benefit, change the whole exhaust system (uppipe, downpipe, midpipe, and/or remove cat [sly] )

worst part is, mufflers can quite easily be stolen [sweatdrop][sweatdrop] if i do change mine, i will want to weld it altogether! [sweatdrop]

well i know that changing it to those sports muffler was better in a way as to better pick up etc and also the sounds is for sure much louder and seems that your car is more powerful. However, that was last time when i change a Remus type and got a fined $500. As for now LTa approve type, i am checking if anyone fits those on the Jazz.

I changed mine to Remus purely for the sound and looks.

Seldom can try top speed anyway. Try getting 2nd hand. But be careful, get the CERT from the seller.

I'm on SS, quite happy with just the looks alone. In terms of performance, dont expect a miracle on a NA car. Try search for relative threads, there are plenty of comments, I read before making my decision. Good luck.

i don't recall feeling a very big diff after installing.

Jus that the sound more shiok and you'll then to rev higher. [sly]

And when you go MSCP you'll want to wind down your windows a bit to listen..haha

Anyway i only changed my muffler. From extractor onwards all stock. I think you'll only feel the low end loss when you change the whole exhaust set-up from extractor onwards.

I'm on Oettinger, which is a rebadged Remus. very happy because of the bassy tone, not thunderingly loud and softer than Jhoo's SS. Can hardly hear it in the car when cruising on only hear it when i put my foot down. In terms of performance, car seems lighter, feels less restrictive when hard accelerating and also, FC has improved. One of the few mods i'll take up on a new car when i get one, eventually.......... [thumbsup]

sia la...Oettinger is a rebadged Remus?

Then Sebring also related to Remus.

the main export product of Austria is exhaust sia...

With cheaper petrol across the causeway, I sensed more hard accelated trips every time laugh.gif. Side track, hows your CAI? Just like Viper, you'll need better brakes soon, or perhaps dumping those HK rubbers would be your highest priority. tongue.gif

hiya,

just changed the muffler. didn't change the exhaust manifold. but if you wanna improve FC, can just use thinner oil. I just changed to 50W oil and the FC went up again........ sheesh! but on the upside, smoother like baby's bottom! [thumbsup]

hiya Jhoo!!

yup filling up with both 95 (sing) and 97 (Mal) petrol...... hmmm, thanks for the heads up on the hose place, as for the CAI, will do the airbox mod when we meet up with Phalanx, then i also use the Green filter, dumped the oily K&N already.... as for underhood temps, did the Thermal Barrier Coat for the exhaust manifold a few weeks ago, driving in the day like driving at night ah!

oh yah, dumping the noisy and slippery Hankooks will be a priority, on them for about 20K km, and they are damn noisy and have to be really careful when raining, don't wanna aquaplane again. probably choose either Precedas or GR-80 Turanzas next. or the F1 GSD3, but also noisy but at least it is great in the wet.