Opel Meriva Owners?

Elixir

Any owners here? I have sudden interest in this car, don't know why also [dizzy] , looking for reviews on FC, price, comfort, accessories, whole package.

Appreciate your replies.

rgds. [:)]

hiya,

here is the Singapore Opel Owners forum where you can get some info on the Meriva

http://groups.msn.com/SingaporeOpelOwner/

however, it may be biased as it IS an Opel owner's forum... [:p]

if you're looking for a small MPV, then the other options available are

1) Hyundai Matrix

2) Honda Edix

3) Fiat Multipla

4) Renault Scenic

My pick would be the Edix [thumbsup]

Sean's honest Edix review can be found here:

http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/Asian_Make...eview_P1265919/

[thumbsup]

Edited by Fluffy

I've been driving one for just 2 years. Most people can get around 12km/l but I'm only getting 9km/h, probably cos of the heavy rims I'm using and city driving.

Ride is on the firm side and good at high speed. As for accessories it isn't great, just the usual factory-fitted HU, etc. Mine come with an optional cruise control & fog lamp.

Others includes the usaual leather seats, travel box (rear seat removable armrest/storage box), front arm-rest, twin audio(rear passengers get to choose to listen to either the CD or radio, independently from the front),etc.

Price wise, I'm not too sure, but I think it's selling at around $60k or less. Bought mine at $79k incl 3-yr 100% free servicing and replacement of wear and tear parts (excl. tyres).

IMHO, it's a basic and practical car, nothing more. I bought it cos my 2 large dogs can fit in the boot comfortably. [;)][;)]

Edited by Silver_blade

my uncle has been driving an opel meriva for over a year or so.. he's happy wif the space but i dun think he'll stick with it long.. FC is so-so, i was told.. Honda Edix looks good though..

ermm

i'm looking ard one too...but not getting it anywhere in the near future.

last price seen last week was at 64K.

I'm in for flexi sitting.

Any owners here? I have sudden interest in this car, don't know why also [dizzy] , looking for reviews on FC, price, comfort, accessories, whole package.

Appreciate your replies.

rgds. [:)]

Wait a while more for the twinport engine to be in this car. FC should improve with the new engine.

As suggested, you can go to SOOG to have a look and ask about the some feedback but discount a bit lar since it's Opel Forum. Having said that, some owners do give very good feedback and personnally, i have seen 3 Meriva taking a bend at 140km/h when we convoy up Malacca last year. To think that we slow down for them but kena flash headlight instead [laugh]

I've been driving MERIVA for 1.5 years. At first, take abit of time of learn how to get use to the gear system but then after it soon cruising. No comment as it does gives me comfort with NIL (touch wood) problems!Only problems is upgrade. If you the type who like to MOD here and there, don't go for opel. IF NOT, it's VERY good. The sound isolation is still very good after 1.5yrs!

There's a fifth option in the form of the Fiat Idea. It is a 1.4L duologic (aka Selespeed) much like the one in the Meriva. Consumption is 13.8km/l as measured by the onboard trip computer. It is in the size of a Matrix and Meriva (both 1.3tonnes) but lighter at 1.1tonnes.

I have been driving one for about 6 months already. The duologic is fun, I always drive on manual, the engine note is sweet- esp between 2nd to 4th. The gearing a fairly short-legged though, especiall 1st and 2nd but from 3rd on- it climbs smoothly. The engine note is typically Italian.

Price is about $69k but OMV is close to $20k. Do a search for Fiat Idea. I have posted some comments.

Edited by Sweeney

Ya... totally agree with you and one of my friend actually brought the car when I brought him to have a test drive.

He was involved in an accident recently and he called to say that both he and the car are ok with a small dent and cracked tail-light but the taxi's front is totally wrecked.

Just a minor comment as I had done a test drive once. The road holding is all right but the gear box really need time to get accustom to it.

For the current clutchless manual technology, we should drive it by assuming it's a manual car. If you go in with the mindset that it's an auto, you can never get use to it.

But in years to come, it will be the "in" thing rather than the conventional auto gearbox. DSG is already a great improvement.

You just need to see the trend of Auto gearbox in the 80s. Everyone avoid it and not many cars come or have it in auto then. Fast forward to now, some car dealer do not even bring in manual at all.

P.S. that's just my own opinion... [:)]

Yup- agree... In the IDEA's duologic, its pretty easy to get use to.

Push first gear, step gas, let go gas, push 2nd gear, let go gas, push 3rd and so on. My opinion is that the gas pedal really needs to be lifted off to ensure smoothness in gear changes. Advantages are really good economy (it is a manual car except for the clutching bits) and controllability. Disadvantages at the moment is that the gear changes at 1st and 2nd gears are pretty slow.

hear say hear say that the MTA gearbox from Opel is from Fiat.

For the slow changing, it will need to do software update. Opel is doing that almost quarterly.

Ya.. with more upgrading and research, it should be smooth...

One more thing about it is that when it break down, we do not need to change the whole gearbox compared to CVT or Auto as it's made up of 2-3 actuators, thus it might be cheaper...

[sly] Hmm... not sure but not surprised if they (car companies) all collaborate tecnologically. Fiats seems to be quite well-advanced in engine technology development.

[laugh][pirate] Not bad? I think it is GRRReat! (except the 1st and 2nd gear bits lah)... Tap the gearshift and the gear blips down and then power up and zoom to overtake... [safely!]... This is especially useful when going down cloverleafs into the highways and you slow in and fast out... you see other auto-boxes with their brakelights like christmas trees and crawling their way down the slipway... [rolleyes]