V-Kool Solar Film Feedback

Kiatmobile

Hi All,

I've read(about 18 pages) about V-Kool in this MCF base on Search Posts and that still i got no outcome of the quality and services.

Some are having problems on the bubbles, scratches and some recommended 3M is better.

Now, its kind of contemplating shoul di go for V-Kool or 3M.

I'm having problems with the current supplier name themselves "Z" and that lately, i clean the internal front windscreen since the day i got my car which i never touch it.

Notice that there were a group of 5 bubbles(to me) and i called the Vendor.

Bring my car down on Wednesday and they verified.

Told me that this not bubbles but scratch, torn holes... [jawdrop][jawdrop][jawdrop]

I was told that when i cleaned the inside of the windscreen, stones were stuck on my cloth and i didn't realise it. So, it makes these torn.

I told them, i'm using Maguiar's cloth(abt S$26.00) to clean and that how can the cloth stain with stones.

They told me that such stones are naked eyes which we cannot see it clearly. So, when you clean it, it scratch.

In this case, WARRANTY DOES NOT cover for such as such.... [furious][furious][furious]

Told me to get the film replaced, i'd to pay S$80.00. [rifle][rifle][rifle]

In this case, i'm thinking to switch to V-Kool just to make the front windscreen only and i seek Brother and Sisters whom are currently on V-Kool provide feedback on their quality and recommend me the dealers which offers better workmanship.

Thanks in advance... [thumbsup][flowerface]

Was on vkool and now on 3m. Both are premium packages. IMO, go for 3m, the front is thinner so there's less distortion to your vision, plus the front film is almost transparent with no tint, so should have no problem with passing and provides better clarity than vkool.

You can try ezytint at turf city.

I'm using vkool. Honestly, I didn't compare various films. I think it would be a tedious process.

I chose vkool because of their branding and the fact that they have been around a long time. Also, feedback I got from vkool users was very good.

Now that I have it, I know it works. But whether is it better than 3M or other films, I really can't provide any input.

One thing though, vkool is reflective. If you intend to use GPS, take note that you need to get an external antenna. You won't be able to just position your unit at your dashboard as the film reflects the GPS signal.

I chose V-kool because I feel that they are likely to be around for many many years. So my 5-year (or is it 10 year) warranty will still be valid. [:p]

But honestly... regretted spent so much on solar flim, although I must agree that their worksmanship is good.

Thanks for the tips...

As far as i understand, V-Kool need to cut a hold on the area where the IU sits.

Does your have it?

Also, you know about those PDA holders that sticks on the windscreen.

Will it cause any hurt to it if stick these holders onto the film on the windscreen?

Yes, i heard a lot about their good workmanship too...

That's why i'm into it but there are users whom commented 3M is also comparable too...

This is where i'm confuse liao... [dizzy]

no need cut hole la...my IU work fine... u dun use PDA while driving, if its passengers, ask them to wind down window a bit lor for wireless transfer... Vkool comes with life-time warranty...tot u probably be driving the same car > 5 years...still good... go for V-kool, period... heard there's a huge price drop...

Thank you very much...

I also dun quite like the idea of cutting a hole near the IU set.

Hopefully they change their mind shoul di did my installations.

Vkool definitely need to cut at IU. My front windscreen used vk75 and the cut definitely is there. But do note that not all cars can use VK75 due to the tinting, and had to use a lower grade film called J83 (note, no VK prefix in front). My 2 front sides were on J83 and rear was on VK70. I can say that there is a definite difference between the VK75 and J83 on heat rejection.

After I had a front windscreen change, and on measurement vkool told me the new windscreen cannot use VK75, can only use J83. That was when I made the switch to 3M. 3M definitely don't need to cut.

There are other workshops that do 3M besides ezytint, you can check out some previous threads, but my experience at ezytint had been good. Workshopman I have no complains, comparable if not better than VK (my VK was done by the guys at east coast caltex last time).

For VK75, it's quite obvious from the driver's perspective that you are behind some kinda film. After then switch over to 3M, it will remind you once again how the front windscreen should look like, but now with much improved heat rejection.

vkool IS good, but 3M is just better.

Edited by Etnt

I am using Vkool mirage. But I have to disagree with etnt that vkool causes front distortion. There's no distortion for me.

The front rejection isn't as good as the rear as etnt says because they had to use the J one for the front windscreen.

have to cut at IU. Cut or not cut is based on the film property. Vkool is metallic while 3m is not. Metallic films reflect heat while other absorb heat. Or something like that.

Any film will ask u not to mount heavy things on the film such as your pda

holder. It may cause the film to peel.

laugh.gif, I use normal cotton cloth to clean also no scratch. use fingernails to scratch stain also no damage.

shrug, diff pple diff tolerance bah. If VK was really that bad, I wouldn't have lived with it for 3 years till I had to change windscreen. But now that kiatmobile is already willing to spend the $$$, for about the same amt, I am just giving my opinion of what I felt from the 2 brands of films on the same car.

Oh, the VK film and the J film are quite different. I had VK on front windscreen and J on side and another VK behind. So total there are 3 different films on the same car. When looking through the front, and looking through the side, there is a distinctive difference. And no, I did not take any package, I just told them to use the best grade that still can pass LTA, and that's how they came up with that weird combi after measuring all the windows.

Not wavy. If wavy I don't think I can tolerate for even 1 day. It's like you know you are looking behind a very very thin veil like that. Things are clear, but not that clear. Aiya, dunno how to put across clearly.