Mean76

RE: Accidents involving performance cars  

86 members have voted

1. 1.

• Should set a age limit minimum 30
    • Should have special permit/ license
    • Should pay a minimum downpayment of at least 50% for performance cars
    • Longer ban from driving when found gulity
    • Parents must sign for the purchase of the car and made accountable for mishaps
    • Modifications must be approved first by LTA before can be installed
    • Extend probation period for P plate drivers to 2 years and ban for life if caught during the 2 years.
    • Forget about F1 or IR, just build a track for us
    • Fcuk lah, people's problem, not my problem as long as I don't get caught
    • No problem for me, I can live with that

Too many, way too many.

This morning ... those going to Tuas or PIE via KJE should know.

A white EVO (If i'm not wrong) totalled and caused unnesscary jam early in the morning.

When will those jokers learn?

Good cars becomes "bad name".

True blue drivers of performance car becomes target of 'bengish' remarks.

Good roads becomes rough due to uneven patches here and there.

Garment to spent $$$ to touch up accident areas and off goes our tax $$$$.

And we are all late for work somehow or rather.

[shakehead][shakehead][shakehead]

lucky there isn't evo as many as the toyotas. otherwise, you won't get work at all. :)

just kidding. singapore, $$ is everything. perhaps insurance premium can be a deterant to younger driver who wish to get their hands on high powered cars.

indeed , the risk is higher. there is always room for argument as some younger ones at not necessary high risk driver. :)

Personally I feel higher $$$ doesn't work.

If you're a richie, what is $$$?

I do think setting higher age limit and making parents to be accountable works more.

Thou I doubt it'll work with elites but at least they will be more wary due to 'face'.

LTA will send the bill to the car owner for the repair. It's EXPENSIVE... I heard that one of the most expensive thing to crash into is a tree!!

That's only for the billing.

We pay tax $$$ for them to prepare admin charges for the billing, get it? We can never siam it [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop].

so don't assume that by peeping at the totalled vechicle cost nothing, we are indirectly looking at our own $$$. [laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh]

It's an Evo.

Saw the cutting edge of the backside. Lancer don't have.

I cannot be sure as I saw it on my way down from CCK Way flyover to KJE-PIE (Tuas)

Heard on the news that there was a 'major' accident on KJE ... didn't know it's an evo. [laugh]

It is major .. at least to me.

The front bonnet is filled with soil and grass, front portion flatten ... must have hit the grassland hard besides the flyover.

My colleauge commented that she saw it facing opposite direction in the morning before the tow truck takes it away.

It is a tricky problem. similar to building a casino and also put in measures hoping to prevent gambling related social issue.

u can ban chewing gum, trivial, say all u like, u won't die.

same formula can't work with selling certain cars. u can ban the car from getting into SG shore on risk basis, that is not sound as well. If the best car I can buy in SG is a 1.6L saloon, what can stop me from driving it into the ditch? oh yes, bar me from driving. and who to say i am not fit to drive? I can pass all the aptitude test.:)

Parents is already accountable for mishaps, they suffer losses, $$ and children. losing face is the least of their problem when it happens.

The viable action is thru public campaign, thru ppl like you and I, thru platform like MCF, to raise awareness of the risk of reckless driving.

LTA will send the bill to the car owner for the repair. It's EXPENSIVE... I heard that one of the most expensive thing to crash into is a tree!!

Yes... U r charged according to age of the tree, the older it is the more [sweatdrop] it will be.

So how they calculate the $$$?

Count the number of bark ring around the tree to determine the offence $$$$? [laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh]

The things they do ... [sweatdrop]

Yup, saw the wreckage. Roof quite smashed up, driver/pax sure quite jialat in terms of injury.

On your poll above, I wld look into issuing of different licenses, similar to tat of motorbikes, Class 2B, 2A & 2. If motorbike licenses are issued based on engine capacities, why not cars in terms of such performance cars?

Eh, evo leh. Ppl dun buy a car like this to drive slowly right?

U can buy a Ferrari drive slowly and wear a T-shirt with the words "Look At Me" on it.

When ppl buy evo means he/she is sth from the FnF, got abit smelly beng/lian look. [laugh]

These ppl where got learn one? Trash this car today, get a "better" one tomorrow....and trash it again... [laugh]

Use the bark ring to determine the age of the tree.

Ask the tree whether it was hurt emotionally.

Count the number of leaves that dropped off due to the crash...one leaf equals $1K!

Order the farker who crashed into the tree to prune and water it for the next 24 months! [sly][laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh]

Campaign don't work so well here, not in my opinion.

People don't feel it till they get it.

That's the sad thing thou.