ERP at Lorine Rd to Adam soon?

Snookium

Today I had saw another cameraman standing at the overhead bridge taking picture.

I believe they are going to implement this ERP there soon..

By that time, it will totally cut off those people bypass CTE to the city. Those travel to the east using that route is a gonner. then by the time all will rush using the Mandai route. I just can't imagine if Mandai is setup with ERP then whole north driver will be trapped.

Yes, we are being surrounded and we got no where to breathe anymore.

All thanks to the beloved housing planners who keep trying to increase popluation density in the northern area while the LTA is hardly doing enough (except increasing ERP charges & gantries) to ease the overloaded road infrastructure.

Basically, if you stay in the north and u drive, u're [furious][bounce1][rifle][shakehead][bigcry]

the cameraman has been there for a few years already

but, please implement the ERP asap. i cant wait!

the route from upp thomson-lorine-adam-farrer is a dead road now in morning and evening. that happened since June after CTE increased ERP charge. most of the traffic are from North, ie, Sembawang/Serangoon/Yio Chu Kang/AMK/Bishan. they should go by CTE but now they going by this routine to save ERP charge and as a result it basically kill the routine in peak hours. on the other hand, the CTE these days has much less traffic and is super smooth. what a waste!

implementing ERP on lorine/adam will definitely push some traffic back to CTE if not all. i cant wait for this day coming.

yup, i see some standing along a few bridges at one go.. tot it was mata.

i feel the congestion is caused by the circle line MRT construction. Cuz all clear immediately after that at both directions be it morning or evening peak hours.

You guys still don't get it - you're either going to pay more, or use public transport. the noose is slowly being tightened - Lornie Road is the last practical non-ERP route for the north.

It could be extrapolated to to be a representation of a future island-wide pay as you use system.

Dear friends, be prepared to pay!

Even if u stay in the north, give up driving and take public transport, u still will have to squeeze yourself into jam packed sardine cans on tracks. Take cab? Either option also [dead] . Good luck to them.

This is only a matter of time. Remember what our minister said, only 25% of the motorists pay ERP nia. I am sure they also can't wait to plug that hole at Lornie.

All thanks to the beloved housing planners who keep trying to increase popluation density in the northern area while the LTA is hardly doing enough (except increasing ERP charges & gantries) to ease the overloaded road infrastructure.

Basically, if you stay in the north and u drive, u're furious.gifbounce1.gifrifle.gifshakehead.gifbigcry.gif

nope.. one drastic act they could take is restric COE for pple who lives north. sollie for the pun intended but with such high congestion, it make sense to release more COE to pple living in other estate tat is less congested. this is like housing control to prevent too many of one race staying to gether. of cos such a suggestion will become flamebait, unfeasible,etc and get lamblasted but surely if just too many cars owner there and just too many cars using same stretch of road at the same time, a chirper way is not to add any more cars, instead of upping the ERP and make every1 else suffer.

You are right, i am one of them who stay in Northeast. I know it is only a matter of time ERP will come close to my doorstep. My hope now is they will not plug the hole in TPE so soon.

Reduce COE price and increase ERP charge is a win win situation for gov. In this way more ppl can fulfill their dreams of owning cars, hence making them happier. HDB can collect more revenue from season parking as well, gov can have excuses to erect gantries in many areas to generate more $$. Win win.

no, i means the COE distribution sud not be merely a blanket policy but to be disbursed thru a more complex structure based on car population density in each sector.

if west got less car owners compared to north, then they may have more allocation. whereas if north got too high car ownership, the additional COE sud b capped to bring down the ownership level.

This maybe a good idea but definitely not easy to implement. Different areas have different resident profile, some old estates have lesser cars due to more elderly or retiree residents while some new estates have more cars bcos more younger families etc. I personally like the current system, let the market determine COE value, afterall this is an open bidding system and gov should not manipulate it. Just my humble opinion. [:p]

implementing ERP on lorine/adam will definitely push some traffic back to CTE if not all. i cant wait for this day coming.

dangerous this statement is. using ERP as a control means they should lower CTE till traffic on both sides are smoother. unless gahmen wans ppl to really give up their cars or recover silver medal $.

ERP up lornie --> Traffic shifts to CTE

ERP up CTE--> Traffic shifts to lornie

ERP up lornie--> and the only winner is we know who....

LOL it's valid for you to say that too. that may show that the current ERP charge on CTE is overdone rather than balancing the traffic between CTE and the alternative route. it does require some fine tune but the truth is once it goes up it can hardly go down.

ERP up lornie --> Traffic shifts to CTE

ERP up CTE--> Traffic shifts to lornie

ERP up lornie--> and the only winner is we know who....

If I could add to this, I believe the day will come where ERP gantries set up along every conceivable major road in Sinkapore will NOT change anything. Then they will move on to the next phase - charge you ERP the moment you turn on your car engine. [gossip]