COEs prices and overcrowded car population solutions

Lengendcf

Everyone complain about the high COEs prices and overpopulated car ownerships in Singapore, but there seems to be no solutions. I hate people who likes to complain but offer no solutions. So I propose some ideas of mine..

1. COE.

Scrap the current, all successful bidders will pay the minimum COE price for that bidding.

New changes, for example, there are 1000 COEs but 2000 bids for them.

So 1000 successful bids will pay the COE prices accordingly to what they have bidded.

Some will pay few dollars for their COEs while some will pay tens of thousands for their COEs.

This will keep the COE prices in check.

2. One household/address can only own 1 car.

If within that same household/address, want to own a 2nd car or third car, can..

For the 2nd car, pay 1.5 times the price of the more expensive car.

The 3rd car, pay 1.75 times.

4th, pay 2 times.

Of course you may say, register the address to another address, where there is no car ownership, can.. no problem, just pay $$$ to keep the bugger from exposing the deed. But when dealing with $$$, sure will have some arguments and most likely will kenna exposed..

Thanks for reading, how's my solution to the overpopulated car ownership in Singapore?

It is never the government's responsibility to keep COE prices low.

It is their responsibility to keep traffic smooth. Which they're trying to achieve through COE, without success.

Time to plug in the gap somewhere else.

What you mentioned have already been take about donkey years ago ...

1. Before the launch of COE system, they were comtemplating between adopting the Dutch bidding system i.e. present system - pay the lowest successful bidded price or Yankee system i.e. pay you successful bidded price. Of course, thru history, they think that Dutch system is more effective. Up to you to believe.

2. Very communist - like one house one child system. This will help the govt increase their revenue on taxes. Rich people doesn't bother about extra charges. Those not so rich and families who has 3 person who needs car to make a living e.g. salesperson will hv a problem.

no lah! like dat not fair.

Fairer to allocate x COEs ( where x = total COE available per year/number of eligable NSmens) to each Singaporean male/female who completed 2.5yrs of Fulltime NS ( those who completed only 2 years can volunteer for another .5 yrs) and completed full reservist cycle. NSmen can resell COE on the secondary market.

People who suggest cars per household are retarded. Some households are just 2 persons. Some 20 persons.

On the other hand, serving NS is a fair and equitable measure of contribution to Singapore.

1) resale car value will be messy. Many ku ku car buyers will kebab conned.

2) not equitable in this fair world. Poor family will rent out their cars to rich family. Even more messy.

To me car is a luxury but at least let 1 household have the ability to own 1 car.

So those wealthy families who want to have more than 1 car, they pay more lor.

Come to salesmen's side. I thought they have a car/petrol allowance?

So the more they travelled, the more fuel they burn, but also equate to more sales commissions..

no lah! like dat not fair.

Fairer to allocate x COEs ( where x = total COE available per year/number of eligable NSmens) to each Singaporean male/female who completed 2.5yrs of Fulltime NS ( those who completed only 2 years can volunteer for another .5 yrs) and completed full reservist cycle. NSmen can resell COE on the secondary market.

People who suggest cars per household are retarded. Some households are just 2 persons. Some 20 persons.

On the other hand, serving NS is a fair and equitable measure of contribution to Singapore.

like that hor... everyone will try to give birth for son.. why? cause in 19 years time, when they serve army, they will get allocate wif COE..

serving NS how to be fair? some chiong until face blue and black.. some just storeman and waiting for time to pass..

the only solution to ALL our problems is to stop mass importing FT!

FT is the cause of ALL our problems! high car prices, high hdb, high medical costs, high public transport utilization, high cost of living

there is no solution when your infrastructure which was built to maintain a population of 4million suddenly needs to accommodate a population of 6 million

thus any solution that any brilliant mind can conceive will only cover the problem until the population grows out of control again and an even more brilliant mind will be required to conceive an even more brilliant solution to cover the problem that is quickly spiraling out of control

for how many years our population was <3million? and for how many years did we not have so many problems?

how can it be coincidence that when our population started to spiral, all the problems started coming in?

if you want a solution, i have 1 for you...

don't think like 60% of the current population!!!

The first suggestion will push COE prices slightly higher compared to the current system whereby successful bidders pay the lowest bid price. so this idea is pretty crap.

Second idea does not affect COE prices. so it is pretty crappy as

well. sorry for being frank.

overcrowded roads?

build more then. we pay COEs for it.

and u bid more u pay more lor. that one is fair. prevents all the taxi coys from bidding a very high price to price out the genuine buyers

High wages, low interest rates and liberal lending policies by banks are the root cause of high COE prices.

isnt that what a bank is for?

u need money, u borrow.

then pay back

before u ask about this island, what is the problem here? land

so what shld gov do? more land

if no land how? less people la, so easy

less people how? less driver la

u see, who to blame for coe?

The first suggestion will push COE prices slightly higher compared to the current system whereby successful bidders pay the lowest bid price. so this idea is pretty crap.

I should think that you are wrong here.

The problem here now is because car dealers are the ones bidding that's why they also influence the price of the COEs.

At any one COE allocation period, a paticular car dealer may REALLY need to secure 5 COEs, could do with another 3 to bring forward the closing of another 3 deals. So they could jolly well put up 5x$1million bids for to secure the 5 they want and throw in rtheir luck with a $50K bid, $40K bid and a $30K bid.

Like that they are certain to secure the 5COEs that they need, and may end up getting more if the lowest qualifying price is lower... either way, car dealers gain.

BUt if

1. It's a pay-as-you-bid system and

2. Car dealers are NOT allowed to bid.

Then we can truly have a market(demand)-based COE pricing..So the idea is not 'pretty crap" :D

Another thing to think about: Why the Fark is Taxis fighting for COEs in the first place? There should just be another fixed quantity/quota of Taxi COEs to be allocated amoungst Taxi companies.... they scarp 1 taxi => free up 1 taxi COE into the Taxi pool for all to bid ....

I should think that you are wrong here.

The problem here now is because car dealers are the ones bidding that's why they also influence the price of the COEs.

At any one COE allocation period, a paticular car dealer may REALLY need to secure 5 COEs, could do with another 3 to bring forward the closing of another 3 deals. So they could jolly well put up 5x$1million bids for to secure the 5 they want and throw in rtheir luck with a $50K bid, $40K bid and a $30K bid.

Like that they are certain to secure the 5COEs that they need, and may end up getting more if the lowest qualifying price is lower... either way, car dealers gain.

BUt if

1. It's a pay-as-you-bid system and

2. Car dealers are NOT allowed to bid.

Then we can truly have a market(demand)-based COE pricing..So the idea is not 'pretty crap" :D

Another thing to think about: Why the Fark is Taxis fighting for COEs in the first place? There should just be another fixed quantity/quota of Taxi COEs to be allocated amoungst Taxi companies.... they scarp 1 taxi => free up 1 taxi COE into the Taxi pool for all to bid ....

lol. that one will get even more out of hand. esp when those "rich despos" who cannot afford to wait, will just throw in a high bid pricing out the rest of the people.

before u ask about this island, what is the problem here? land

so what shld gov do? more land

if no land how? less people la, so easy

less people how? less driver la

u see, who to blame for coe?

road may not necesssary to built on the land... it could be built above and below the land as well... the question is, who should pay for the additioonal coss?

Scrap the COE.. it doesn't help to improve traffic flow during peak hours. Why should there be a curb on the car population? Why can't I buy 3 cars and only drive 1 at a time?? If the intention is to improve traffic flow, then we should look into car pooling. there are so many cars on the road that carries only the driver during the peak periods in the morning and evening. If we can car pool and put 1 more person on each car, then either the number of cars on the road would be reduced (assuming a driver car pools) or there will be fewer people on the crowded public trans port system (assuming the public transport commuter car pools). Cars with less than 2 persons (i.e 1 driver and 1 passenger) has to pay a significant fee, e.g. $10 or $20.

However, this would not happen as this would reduce revenue from ERP and COE... and reduce the profit of "public" transport companies