Horrible road works = Bumpy roads

Sunnycrowe

There has been an increase in road works recently.... there was so much digging here n there to lay/maintain underground cables causing lane closures n jams......... but the worst thing is the road reinstatement..... Most were not done properly and caused very bumpy roads..... generally the poor reinstatement are all over the island, but one of the most obvious one i encountered was Somerset rd (near 313)..... ANd there was this HUGE depression when i drive out of prince edward carpark towards ECP city....

To tink that CH 8 just telecast the variety show with Brian Wong working with LTA on the roadworks and showing how they lay the road etc......

Edited by Sunnycrowe

There has been an increase in road works recently.... there was so much digging here n there to lay/maintain underground cables causing lane closures n jams......... but the worst thing is the road reinstatement..... Most were not done properly and caused very bumpy roads..... generally the poor reinstatement are all over the island, but one of the most obvious one i encountered was Somerset rd (near 313)..... ANd there was this HUGE depression when i drive out of prince edward carpark towards ECP city....

To tink that CH 8 just telecast the variety show with Brian Wong working with LTA on the roadworks and showing how they lay the road etc......

Dun you think singapore roads are more comparable to JB roads now? Sometimes i wonder whether are we degrading or is JB upgrading? Been going JB quite alot recently, i got to admit their roads are better looking as compared 10 yrs ago.

Yup, our roads are filled with too many protruding metal covers and joints that jot you whenever you drive through it. Putting on safety belt has another meaning now. If you don't put it on, you will be jotted out from your seat. :D

Edited by Kangadrool

So sorry I missed that episode. However, I like to believe somehow he is not responsible for the poorer workmanship of the road re-instatements around.

By right the gaps should be filled with proper rocks and layers of hard material, before layering the final asphalt in a smooth flat manner.

But many cheat, dump whatever rocks and debris into the hole, and super over compensate the sinking possibility, with a super high hump layer of asphalt!

I hate these humps! LTA never seem to check, or did LTA believe in overcompensating hump-like repair works?

Nowadays there is really a lot of road works going on everywhere, and the road is getting more and more bumpy! Whenever i sit in a taxi, really make me want to "puke"! [:|]

and it seems that newly surfaced roads are not spared. either, PIE changi, at kallang, you can see holes on the joints on newly surfaces roads...apparently "DUG" up by some heavy veh. isnt our road designed for such vechicles...

lousy road. knn dig here dig there. road so uneven everywhere. nb

By right the gaps should be filled with proper rocks and layers of hard material, before layering the final asphalt in a smooth flat manner.

But many cheat, dump whatever rocks and debris into the hole, and super over compensate the sinking possibility, with a super high hump layer of asphalt!

I hate these humps! LTA never seem to check, or did LTA believe in overcompensating hump-like repair works?

They might be forced to. I rem many years ago they said they are using some recycled materials to lay the road, not sure if they are still doing that right now.

lousy road. knn dig here dig there. road so uneven everywhere. nb

Not only uneven but also many potholes, esp during raining season! :wacko:

I believe it is the lack of Foremanship in the industry. Many workers knowing next to nothing about it. Contractors awarded based on pricing alone, or previous track record not updated yet. No one keen to check if the contractor(s) able to employ skilled and knowledgeable Foreman to lead the workers. Just blame on materials/machinery.

Yeah, that one is the most headache one, the one right after Keppel Road and before the twist and turns, 2nd lane got one gigantic one. Can see the scratches on the road, alot people kana already. It's been there since Feb and nobody go and repair it..

it now spread to the 3rd lane liao.