OPC Car Number Plate Seal Bracket Detached

En0203

Dear all,

I am driving an OPC and got hit from behind recently in KL, Malaysia. As a result, the rear panel and bumper were dented and the OPC car number plate bracket was detached. Note that the number plate seal is fine, just that the metal bracket (a rod) connecting car plate from inside the bumper which was welded to the car body got detached at the welded part.

Since the accident happened in KL, the other party has offered to pay for a workshop to repair my bumper at her cost. However, I would like to know if its ok to just weld back the car plate bracket without applying the permission from LTA since I do not need to break the car plate seal. Also, is there any standards governing the bracket welding? I don't want the LTA to say that i have tempered the car plate in my next inspection when they see that the welding is new.

Appreciate if any bros or sis here can advise on this matter if you happen to know about the car plate seal bracket welding. Singapore workshop has advised me to replaced the whole bumper and that requires approval from LTA to break the number plate seal while malaysia workshop can just patch the bumper crack for me but they have no idea how to handle the car plate seal. The other party is a Malay auntie, and she didn't tailgate, it just happened that she was observing the main road traffic while trying to filter out but failed to check whether I have already filtered out. So I don't want her to pay so much. It'll be a lot cheaper for the other party to pay for the damage (SGD1k vs RM600).

Any advise is very much appreciated. Thank you.

why dont u call LTA directly instead of asking for 3rd party opinion. Dont put yrself at risk with law.

New bumper and respray to your colour should cost less than S$500 (S$1k seems to be too high).

Bro cannot well back yourself.

you got to inform the LTA 1st, that time my car seal was slanted and almost breaking

got to send it back to them cannot remember how much i paid already . if you weld it without their consent its like considered cheating offence.

why dont u call LTA directly instead of asking for 3rd party opinion. Dont put yrself at risk with law.

New bumper and respray to your colour should cost less than S$500 (S$1k seems to be too high).

thanks. because I am still in Malaysia that's why I did not call. think cannot avoid the international call fee already.

my car's rear bumper itself is around sgd600 alone. include panel beating and spray painting would amount to close to 1k as informed by the workshop. will probably ask them to try to patch the bumper if possible rather than changing it.

Bro cannot well back yourself.

you got to inform the LTA 1st, that time my car seal was slanted and almost breaking

got to send it back to them cannot remember how much i paid already . if you weld it without their consent its like considered cheating offence.

thanks. seems like I must repair it in sg then otherwise Malaysia workshop doesn't know how to handle the seal.

I fixed that bloodly bracket before.

Don't bother to go to LTA and check, that $10 is a waste of money.

The laojiao officer took a look and ask me go outside to fix it n then come back he jus took a 2 sec look and finalised the $10 checking.

Most impt is tat seal is not tampered or broken.

The ah pek who fixed the bracket for me asked me why I went to LTA and waste that money...

I fixed that bloodly bracket before.

Don't bother to go to LTA and check, that $10 is a waste of money.

The laojiao officer took a look and ask me go outside to fix it n then come back he jus took a 2 sec look and finalised the $10 checking.

Most impt is tat seal is not tampered or broken.

The ah pek who fixed the bracket for me asked me why I went to LTA and waste that money...

wow bro thanks for the info. if that's the case I'll just ask them to weld back instead. the seal is perfectly alright.

however, for the sake of record I may still send my car for seal inspection after that. the problem is, however, did u have to write in to tell them about the aaccident. or u just go those sta inspection center and ask them to check directly without having to inform them about the accident first?

thanks!

if u 1 2 pay safe, just report the incident to LTA with the workshop receipt and seek their advice and obtain a report for proof of record if case closed. That will keep yourself trouble free rather than being 'fine' next time when go for inspection. [bigcry]

Thanks. still considering where to repair it. may top up myself to repair in sin [bigcry]

If it's just the bracket broke ... 200% no need to report.

They only see the seal not tampered can le

My2cent

Thanks bro. Since you are so sure I may just do it over here to save both $$ and time [thumbsup]

Prior to going down to the inspection, I called LTA hotline, the lady just read from the script asked me "just go for inspection and they will fix it for me"

So upon going down, queue bit, and they say they dun fix this bracket thing, cos 'its just the bracket and not the seal, so i need to go to some carplate workshop around there to fix it n come back for inspection'

I didnt know where to go, so drove around n asked around, n this shop refer me to this old ah pek who charged me $20 for the welding.

i tink i kena carrot cos that welding job is just a 2min job, that ah pek didnt do a good job either, he welded with some white paint, then spray water on the bracket... and left alot of paint dots on my bumper...

i told him to seal the carplate tightly he haolian says he knows.

but because when the bracket broke, the carplate will be loosen, so unless u push in the carplate tightly n then weld, the carplate will appear to be bend at the side..

so bro, do take note n make sure the welder push in tightly n the carplate is straight when he weld that bracket.

bit tulan but was already in the blackshop n that cynical ah pek oso quite lao lan so i lan lan pay up $20.

i suggest u go fix ur bumper n everything first then fix ur carplate then if 'on the way' go check the seal jus for record purposes but LTA is always not on the way for me so i will only go there during next seal checking. :P

I had the "L" bracket broken before (the part that was welded to the chassis). It's like the plate seal had free-play, can twist but can't pull out.

When I went for the annual plate inspection, the inspector told me to go have the bracket welded back. But passed my inspection anyway.

Got it welded for free when I did some welding works on my exhaust. Should be about $15-20 at most workshops with the welding torch.

Prior to going down to the inspection, I called LTA hotline, the lady just read from the script asked me "just go for inspection and they will fix it for me"

So upon going down, queue bit, and they say they dun fix this bracket thing, cos 'its just the bracket and not the seal, so i need to go to some carplate workshop around there to fix it n come back for inspection'

I didnt know where to go, so drove around n asked around, n this shop refer me to this old ah pek who charged me $20 for the welding.

i tink i kena carrot cos that welding job is just a 2min job, that ah pek didnt do a good job either, he welded with some white paint, then spray water on the bracket... and left alot of paint dots on my bumper...

i told him to seal the carplate tightly he haolian says he knows.

but because when the bracket broke, the carplate will be loosen, so unless u push in the carplate tightly n then weld, the carplate will appear to be bend at the side..

so bro, do take note n make sure the welder push in tightly n the carplate is straight when he weld that bracket.

bit tulan but was already in the blackshop n that cynical ah pek oso quite lao lan so i lan lan pay up $20.

i suggest u go fix ur bumper n everything first then fix ur carplate then if 'on the way' go check the seal jus for record purposes but LTA is always not on the way for me so i will only go there during next seal checking. :P

Thank you! Guess I'll give the inspection a pass then, save me trouble and time [thumbsup]

I could have wasted another $20 inspection fee + $20 OPC coupon if not because of u bro :D

I had the "L" bracket broken before (the part that was welded to the chassis). It's like the plate seal had free-play, can twist but can't pull out.

When I went for the annual plate inspection, the inspector told me to go have the bracket welded back. But passed my inspection anyway.

Got it welded for free when I did some welding works on my exhaust. Should be about $15-20 at most workshops with the welding torch.

Thanks bro, your case double-confirms that they don't really care for the welding so my problem is solved. Thank you so much!! [bounce2]

seriously they didn't even to bother check the welding bracket when i went for inspection for newly converted to opc.. :wacko:

lol I think they must did, probably you didn't see [laugh]