Where to get Liqui Moly Engine Oil?

Fastfive1

Is there a wholesaler that we can get this oil from?

I noticed that a lot workshops carry this stuff but are charging exorbitant prices for an oil change. Most won't bother selling you the oil by itself or if they do, they would charge you a high price for the oil. What is really messed up is that we only get the 4 litre bottles here instead of the 5 litre ones you can get in the states.

Check the marketplace of this forum.....

I noticed that a lot workshops carry this stuff but are charging exorbitant prices for an oil change. Most won't bother selling you the oil by itself or if they do, they would charge you a high price for the oil. What is really messed up is that we only get the 4 litre bottles here instead of the 5 litre ones you can get in the states.

Many years ago, I saw Giant @Sembawang Shopping Centre selling.

They might not be selling anymore, I dunno.

Oil distributors here are quick to protect the brand name, local market and maintain high price.

If you're able to get from Amazon at a low cost, do it quick.

Once, the local distributor starts complaining, Amazon will be forced to stop shipping.

I only managed to get 2 bottles of Liqui Moly from Amazon before they stop shipping here...KNN.

I did managed to get from JB before.

just did a liqui moly high tech 5w40 oil change at jeep chee for $95 with free checks

Check the marketplace of this forum.....

Been there done that.

No one sells the product on its own. All of the listings include a service with dunno how many hundred point checks.

Many years ago, I saw Giant @Sembawang Shopping Centre selling.

They might not be selling anymore, I dunno.

Oil distributors here are quick to protect the brand name, local market and maintain high price.

If you're able to get from Amazon at a low cost, do it quick.

Once, the local distributor starts complaining, Amazon will be forced to stop shipping.

Hmm I doubt they still sell. They mainly stock up mobil 1, shell, BMW oil and schnell now.

That's the very reason why I'm looking for cheaper sources here. The Liqui Moly engine oil is so cheap from the states but these workshops are charging such a high price to do servicing.

I tried Amazon, I can add it to my cart but they won't ship it out to singapore.

I only managed to get 2 bottles of Liqui Moly from Amazon before they stop shipping here...KNN.

I did managed to get from JB before.

KNN. Have to get a freight forwarder to ship it to me.

Which part of JB did you get it from and how much did it cost? I figure that the price isn't that much different from what you'd pay here since it is imported.

just did a liqui moly high tech 5w40 oil change at jeep chee for $95 with free checks

Do you honestly think I'd want to pay so much for an oil change and let these workshops make money?

Free checks? Is there any real use in them doing such checks? These "free checks" are done to make it seem that the customer is getting a little extra for the amount of money he already has to pay for an oil change. Nothing more than a gimmick if you ask me.

Been there done that.

No one sells the product on its own. All of the listings include a service with dunno how many hundred point checks.

Hmm I doubt they still sell. They mainly stock up mobil 1, shell, BMW oil and schnell now.

That's the very reason why I'm looking for cheaper sources here. The Liqui Moly engine oil is so cheap from the states but these workshops are charging such a high price to do servicing.

I tried Amazon, I can add it to my cart but they won't ship it out to singapore.

KNN. Have to get a freight forwarder to ship it to me.

Which part of JB did you get it from and how much did it cost? I figure that the price isn't that much different from what you'd pay here since it is imported.

Do you honestly think I'd want to pay so much for an oil change and let these workshops make money?

Free checks? Is there any real use in them doing such checks? These "free checks" are done to make it seem that the customer is getting a little extra for the amount of money he already has to pay for an oil change. Nothing more than a gimmick if you ask me.

I don't think workshops make a lot of money servicing with Liqui Moly engine oils. Using unbranded synthetic oil yields better margins.

One of my reg ws told me that some ws have stopped carrying LM oils due to constant increase in cost prices. Guess the fat margins goes to the local distributors.

If u try to freight forward using Comgateway... the shipping cost is more than the oil. [hur]

Edited by Glyuen

I don't think workshops make a lot of money servicing with Liqui Moly engine oils. Using unbranded synthetic oil yields better margins.

One of my reg ws told me that some ws have stopped carrying LM oils due to constant increase in cost prices. Guess the fat margins goes to the local distributors.

If u try to freight forward using Comgateway... the shipping cost is more than the oil. [hur]

Really? I feel that workshops will still make quite a bit. Most of them are charging over 100 bucks for an oil change. If they order in bulk, it shouldn't cost more than 60 SGD. I can get the oil from the states for around 50 SGD as an individual. It's 5L not 4L which means I get even more bang for my buck. It also includes free shipping to my doorstep in the states. That already factors in the profit that the seller makes. I don't see why it should cost more than 100 bucks to do the oil change here in Singapore. Oil filter is less than 10 bucks for most cars.

Perhaps you're right, the local distributor is deliberately marking up the price cos the product is from Germany.

Actually I got lobang to ship things in from the states just that I don't want to hassle with the wait time. It can take more a month to come in.

I've tried idemitsu oil and the prices of oil are generally reasonable from the distributor or the wholesaler. But the workshops mark it up like crazy. So that's why I was hoping to find something similar with LM engine oils.

Really? I feel that workshops will still make quite a bit. Most of them are charging over 100 bucks for an oil change. If they order in bulk, it shouldn't cost more than 60 SGD. I can get the oil from the states for around 50 SGD as an individual. It's 5L not 4L which means I get even more bang for my buck. It also includes free shipping to my doorstep in the states. That already factors in the profit that the seller makes. I don't see why it should cost more than 100 bucks to do the oil change here in Singapore. Oil filter is less than 10 bucks for most cars.

Perhaps you're right, the local distributor is deliberately marking up the price cos the product is from Germany.

Actually I got lobang to ship things in from the states just that I don't want to hassle with the wait time. It can take more a month to come in.

I've tried idemitsu oil and the prices of oil are generally reasonable from the distributor or the wholesaler. But the workshops mark it up like crazy. So that's why I was hoping to find something similar with LM engine oils.

the price is definitely marked up.. but not at the workshop end...at least this is what one ws tells me. many ws dont like to do simple oil change as they dont earn much.. they like bigger repairs.. best is accident insurance claims.

idemitsu made in singapore. that's why it is very cheap. ws like these kind of oils... good profit margin.

I believe amazon is losing money with all the free shipping of heavy items. i got charged gst once and i got to see the invoice DHL charged to Amazon.. the shipping cost far exceeds that of the item prices. this is crazy business. [hur]

liqui moly sibei tok kong? i have used several times ... ok la ... not bad

then tried Mobil 1 0W-40 ... cheap and good when there is lelong at Giant

and worry free of Mobil fully synthetic oil quality ... [thumbsup]

Anyone use Liqui Moly before ? How is this as compare to Mobil, Caltex or Shell ? Please share with us. I only used Caltex Magnectic which is a Semi-Syn oil. So far so good, so never try other brand

Liqui Moly is actually very good. Much better than Shell. Slightly better than Mobil imho. You mean Castrol? No Caltex Magnectic oil leh. Caltex oils are rarely seen only at their petrol stations and they seems to be from China.

If you can get your hands on Made in Europe Caltex, i would say they are as good or even better than Liqui Moly. Did not have positive experience with Made in Malaysia Castrol that is sold locally. Just my personal opinion.

Red line and Motul 300V FTW. (cant do a fair comparison as the viscosity i use is one grade thinner).

made in malaysia castrol got two type locally

1) the real one from castrol agent, u open the bottle cap inside have a hologram seal

2) the fake one sold at many places, especially sin ming / downtown those stocklists, the seal is no seal / no hologram

3) the ntuc 0-40 one is also fake, actually other than cocklube, shell helix and castrol at ntuc is fake oil (no holgram/legit marking/seals)

Edited by Furrynadz

Liqui Moly Top Tec 4100 i think its good. Im trying Motul to see the difference but I think LM get my vote