BMW 116i Road Trip

Guys and girls, this is going to be a lengthy post so please bear with my typing, punctuation, english and all, pardon if my thoughts are presented a little disorganised, i try my best nonetheless, set? here goes nothing [;)]

Background

Im currently a student doing an overseas exchange programme in Germany, Stuttgart. The programme just ended, so i had a few days to kill in Munich (where I currently holed up at, where i got the car [sly] ) Also knowing that some stretches of the Autobahns here in Germany have no speed limits, man, i got to get in on that!

Car Pick-Up

Went down to Sixt Car Rentals at the Munich Hauptbahnhof (main train station) only with the intention of getting some wheels; only one requirement: sat nav, so i put myself down for the cheapest set of wheels i could get for 1 day, WITH sat nav, lady told me "something along the size of a VW Golf? Opel Corsa?" i thought ok, that would have to do i guess, after a check on the computer, lo and behold, "the cheapest we have readily available at the moment with sat nav is a bmw 1 series"

KICK ASS! "manual or auto?" "manual"

ok, that would have to do, since i was used to MT anyway

"petrol or diesel?" "petrol, benzin" (kanasai, i was wishing for a diesel, more economical given the prices here are roughly same, petrol or diesel also EUR 1.50, for the uninitiated, EUR 1 = SGD 2.12 thereabouts)

ok let's go!

First Impressions

The car was sweet, seeing a 1er for the first time in the flesh (metal?)

first things that i noticed, and took some time getting used to:

- keyless engine start/stop (press button)

- auto engine off!! ok, when you stop at a light or something, jam maybe? the engine shuts off, electronics and air-con stays on, the engine fires back to life again once you depress the clutch; of course there is a button to manually toggle off this feature