Views on BMW 528i

Piyopico

A 2 litre sedan with sticker price of S$257,800.

Looks like a gem although many will say it is not an inline 6. Fast enough for me plus lower rd tax than the 535i that PML is selling at above S$360,000 for the M-sport trim. Thatz like a 100 grand difference.

I do see PI selling 535i for S$267,000 but I dun think I will take that route.

Any bros willing to share their take on tis car? My ride left a few months. Seems buying new car must have an old car to trade in for best value. Hope PML offers good over trade and if you know of any good PML SE that can offer a great package, pls PM me.

Cheers.

For PI F10 535, if it is the same spec as PML, why not? There are plenty of BMW workshop out there.

Any issues regarding software updates or recalls? The PI route ok or not?

First of all, the price difference has to be like for like (spec or OMV).

F10 is launched in 2010 & this is the 4th year, which is half way point of its product life cycle. Most of the software will be relatively updated now.

Product recall has to be resolved by PI unless it close shop liao.

I know 1 workshop which started off by BMW specialist coder.

Where is WT_KNOW??

Edited by Davidtch

for the same price and top up abit can get f10 535i from PI (same or better specs than PML) ... what are you waiting for?

rule no 1 is to find a trustworthy PI

rule no 2 to 100 is still find a trustworthy PI

once you get a trustworthy PI there is no problem whatsoever

you can get the latest software outside even faster than PML ... dont say i say one ... lol

I happen to test drive the facelifted 528 just 2 weeks back. Not bad and some said, the power vis a vis the road tax is an attractive consideration.

Lower rd tax quite attractive. About 1.2k savings. Just nice to pay insurance premium. No Park Assist though. Not a cheap option.

I may go for the new C250. Some consider it one class lower than 528i but the specs and price quite close.

Ride difference dunnoe cos have not tested either. Reviews indicatethe new C Class requires the additional airmatic damping system before it can match the BMW ride. However the option costs about 5k.

245bhp/350Nm is indeed [thumbsup] to drive

I happen to test drive the facelifted 528 just 2 weeks back. Not bad and some said, the power vis a vis the road tax is an attractive consideration.

There is a 25K difference between the business and the luxury edition, be interesting what the differences are?

As for your 528 vs 535 comparison, I think you first of all have to decide how long you want to drive the car for, how increase in maintenance you are comfortable with (Road Tax, Insurance, Petrol consumption etc) and work out whats the best car for you.

Also you have consider how long you want to keep the car for, (not forgetting PI cars fetch a lower price resale) and if long term again have to consider long term maintenance cost.

Also are you someone very particular about warranty? And if you intend to upgrade the cars internals like install a Harmon Kardon system the PI would likely come with a lot options included as compared to PML car that usually requires adding of options. There are people who buy the car and upgrade up the Audio system (OEM) and it cost almost 40% more than factory fitted.

I suggest you review what you really want first then decide which model is for you, they are different beast altogether and different TLC is required.

A 2 litre sedan with sticker price of S$257,800.

Looks like a gem although many will say it is not an inline 6. Fast enough for me plus lower rd tax than the 535i that PML is selling at above S$360,000 for the M-sport trim. Thatz like a 100 grand difference.

I do see PI selling 535i for S$267,000 but I dun think I will take that route.

Any bros willing to share their take on tis car? My ride left a few months. Seems buying new car must have an old car to trade in for best value. Hope PML offers good over trade and if you know of any good PML SE that can offer a great package, pls PM me.

Cheers.

if want to buy bone stock car ... PML [thumbsup]

if want to soup up your car with high specs ... PI [thumbsup]

finding a trustworthy PI is upmost challenge

a PI that can deliver, do not shortchange you by giving you cock and bull story delay shipment reluctant to bid coe bla bla bla

after getting the car then have to worry about PI or workshop close shop ... leaving car owner high and dry

if PI can offer so much difference from PML, then worth to check the OMV and spec diff....

if u gonna mod ur car then going PI route may not be so undesirable afterall.

Lower rd tax quite attractive. About 1.2k savings. Just nice to pay insurance premium. No Park Assist though. Not a cheap option.

I may go for the new C250. Some consider it one class lower than 528i but the specs and price quite close.

Ride difference dunnoe cos have not tested either. Reviews indicatethe new C Class requires the additional airmatic damping system before it can match the BMW ride. However the option costs about 5k.

I would choose to pay the road tax anytime between the 28 and the 35.

PML price can get a lot of discount de, so list price is at least a good 10-20k more than selling price.

Anyway, if you can afford it, just buy a pi 535i.

PI 535i is quite low spec compared to PML...that's why PI is so much cheaper. PML 535i usually come with comfort seat, 4 zone climate, top hifi, hud, high beam assist, adaptive led headlights and electronic dampers...which many PI don't have. I think these options alone are already 30k. Plus this one is m sport pricing which is probably another 20k.

Then again, PI 535i has about same amount of option as a pml 528i...so if price is near, buy the 6 cylinder.

Do note that PI 528i can be quite low spec...don't have 6wb, adaptive led, electric tail gate, and even don't have comfort access.

I could be wrong, but bmw park assist can only do parallel parking.

http://www.sgcarmart...=424913&DL=1264

this is the deal breaker ... sibei small idrive ... 99% no SAT NAV

to add in this option ... at least $10k

the front seat is normal not sport seat ($5k?) ... no HUD (another $10k option)

this is a shame for 535i ... just these 3 options alone ... already $25K specs lower from PML 535i

don't look at PI 535i is cheap ... their specs is much lower than PML specs ... must look at the specs closely ... open eyes big big

424913_6b.jpg

245bhp/350Nm is indeed [thumbsup] to drive

Wow, the numbers on cars these days doesnt make much sense anymore. I thought 528 is a 2.5L or 3L straight 6 NA engine from the number but no... its a 2L turbo. After checking on carsales, 180kW, 6.2sec 0-100kmph. Very impressive.

I'm too used to old imports to even notice how much has changed. I must say that those figures are very good for a 2L turbo. Down side is the gear stick looks gay. But if you're ok with them, the 5 series are quite good.

I would choose to pay the road tax anytime between the 28 and the 35.

Ok lah... based on the numbers, it'll be worth it if the 28 is so much cheaper. Unless he plans to mod it. I've seen people running over 300wkw on the N54 engines. I think it wouldnt be much difference to the N55.