Upgrading car engines

As more and more people keep old cars and with the era of games such as need for speed. Do people upgrade car engines and transmission?

E.g. A 2002 Toyota Altis engine vs 2016 Toyota Altis engine

The latter will be more efficient

I think take the money buy new car better.

If mod enthusiast car, I can understand.. but for such average family sedans, you mod liao also no residual value later on.

irelegal leh

It's illegal to change any parts of the car? What if you declare to LTA and do the necessary paper work?

It's just like upgrading your Ram on your laptop

As more and more people keep old cars and with the era of games such as need for speed. Do people upgrade car engines and transmission?

From VVT-i to dual VVT-I.  No much improvement le.

Might as well get 1ZR-FAE (go & google if u don't know) if u can find it.

It's illegal to change any parts of the car? What if you declare to LTA and do the necessary paper work?

Change ram no need skilled technician.. anybody can do it. No implications on safety as well.

But car modifications esp on the core component like engine internals are different.

Change ram no need skilled technician.. anybody can do it. No implications on safety as well.

But car modifications esp on the core component like engine internals are different.

How difficult it could be?  We always overcomplicate things here.

Ah Beng Ah Seng shop in Malaysia also can do it.

Entire engine + gearbox has to be swapped.  In addition, front axle might also need to modify slightly.

School holidays... Haiz.. All types come out. Got study la.. Exams coming when school starts..

Edited by BenTong

Oh ..... It is NOT ILLEGAL to change engine and GB.  But you must find the SAME replacement part.  For Engine, you can buy a NEW SAME ENGINE or Use the SAME ENGINE model from a SCRAPPED CAR.  

Please note that for the latter, the scrapped car engine must be harvested, installed, tested and registered with LTA within 90 Calendar Day from the days or DE-REGISTRATION 

The reasons for NOT ALLOWING YOU to upgrade the ENGINE, could be :

a) The Mount Points are different and improvising an alternatives without professional supervision compromised the safety of the operator/user and even the general public.

b) Too much effort, the Body or Other part of the Vehicle may no longer meet current standards.

c) There is no law for used vehicle to re-validate its performance while it is still registered.

All in all, you ARE DEFINITELY better off heading to Borneo Motors for a BRAND NEW COROLLA ALTIS.  Very Good, Very Reliable and VERY AFFORDABLE than trying to Upgrade the Engine.  It is also GREASE FREE on You.

Buy NOW to enjoy S$200 Taka Voucher - Whilst Stock Last.

What are you waiting for ? MaiTuLiao.

Oh yes, this bring to another interesting point.  For buyer of 2nd Hand Vehicle, please take a serious effort to ENSURE that the Body Chassis Number and Engine Number is the SAME as registered with LTA.

If not, your PARF will be FORFEITED and you could be charged for illegal modification of vehicle. 

Oh ..... I innocent ...... It must be that SECOND HAND Dealer or the Previous Owner.

Ya ..... right .....

Anyway, Malaysia shop do not change the whole engine in, they transplant the whole engine less the engine block, which have the Engine Number lor.  BTW, are you sure they know how to mount the crank-shaft properly ? It is a very precision thing lor.

Entire engine + gearbox has to be swapped.  In addition, front axle might also need to modify slightly.

Oh yes, this bring to another interesting point.  For buyer of 2nd Hand Vehicle, please take a serious effort to ENSURE that the Body Chassis Number and Engine Number is the SAME as registered with LTA.

If not, your PARF will be FORFEITED and you could be charged for illegal modification of vehicle. 

Oh ..... I innocent ...... It must be that SECOND HAND Dealer or the Previous Owner.

Ya ..... right .....

Anyway, Malaysia shop do not change the whole engine in, they transplant the whole engine less the engine block, which have the Engine Number lor.  BTW, are you sure they know how to mount the crank-shaft properly ? It is a very precision thing lor.

Engine number can be sanded off & re-done.  If crankshaft is not mounted properly, the engine will uplorry 1.

In Malaysia, engine swap has been done for decades and there are ppl who knows how to do.

Edited by Davidtch

Need to do quite a few things even if can find a qualified workshop to do it for ya. Then the paperwork to submit.. if go stealth mode then have other sort of worries. Another thing is budget.. all these not cheap if do in SG, already can buy a new faster car. Last thing is the car gonna fall apart or not, since the car may not be built for high performance in the first place.

But if despite all these, people still choose to mod, nothing wrong at all, pls go ahead.

The last I heard was 2 years ago.  The shop dare not change in the whole engine - which is easiest to do lor. LTA problem.

Anyway, when it come to wheel alignment and engine repair, there is always 2 versions in JB.  LTA or Non-LTA ......

In 2012, the AG reported that NParks has 300 Trees missing, I am just wondering do AG PHYSICALLY go and count the trees.

But don't worry, tree can count, are you sure LTA check EVERY De-registered car ?

Anyone want to try ?  Report here.

Engine number can be sanded off & re-done.  If crankshaft is not mounted properly, the engine will uplorry 1.

In Malaysia, engine swap has been done for decades and there are ppl who knows how to do.

Need to do quite a few things even if can find a qualified workshop to do it for ya. Then the paperwork to submit.. if go stealth mode then have other sort of worries. Another thing is budget.. all these not cheap if do in SG, already can buy a new faster car. Last thing is the car gonna fall apart or not, since the car may not be built for high performance in the first place.

But if despite all these, people still choose to mod, nothing wrong at all, pls go ahead

Altis is high performance car? LOL.

If it fall apart, means ws cmi.

With LTA restriction, we have lost ppl who are good in these handiwork.  This is the hardcore mod NOT for mere mortal.

Can guide on how to go about doing it?