Sub-woofer / Amplifier Combination Query

Kwongwing

Hi Folks,

Kenna poisoned, [:/][nod] so considering either of the following ADIRE AUDIO Subs:

Brahma 12D2 / Brahma 12D4

Fs 19 Hz / 25 Hz

Qes 0.41 / 0.49

Qms 11.6 / 11.3

Qts 0.39 / 0.47

Vas 92.3 liters / 92.3 liters

Re 2 x 1.4 Ohms / 2 x 2.8 Ohms

Le 2 x 0.5 mH / 2 x 0.8 mH

BL 12.8 N/A / 16.0 N/A

Xmax1 28.5mm /28.5mm

Sd 436 cm2 / 436 cm2

SPL2 83.8 dB / 83.7 dB

Pmax3 600W / 600W

Anyone else has any experience with the above subs?

Also was recommended the following amp (apparently a local Singapore product):

PERFORMA ZD 2200 - any views on the amp ? Specs and wed address as follows.

www.performa-audio.com

full mosfet class D power amplifier

2 input / mono channel input

low current consumption

low heat generation (performance more than 85%)

fully 1 ohm stable operation

two speakers operation

RCA line out and input jack

crossover slope (24dB per Oct)

super bass control : 0-12db

variable subsonic flter (15Hz-40Hz)

variable low pass filter (40Hz-250Hz, 24dB per Oct)

wired remote control (optional 5 meter volume wire)

thermal, overload, short circuit and dc off-set protection

transparent power and speakers terminal

Technical Specification

4 ohms maximum output @0.03%: 2200W RMS/1 ohm

4ohms bridget mono output @0.02% THD: 1500W RMS/2 ohms

2 ohms WRMS output @0.1 THD : 800W RMS/4 ohms

Low pass filter: 40Hz - 250Hz

Subsonic Filter: 15Hz-40Hz/Subsonic

Frequency response: 20 - 500Hz

Signal to noise ratio: 100dB

Input sensitivity: 150mV - 2.5V

Input impedance: 10Kohms

Operation voltage: DC 12.4V

Speaker impedance @ stereo driven: 1 Ohm

Fuse rating: 25Ax3

Dimension (WHD) mm: 380x50x244

Headshok,

If u r out there - if i install the above can compete with you for SPL liao [:p]

[thumbsup][pirate][nod]

haha..

wanna compete with me ah.. come we compete watt to watt.. heheh..

aiyah.. at most i convert over to sealed box lor.. then get another T1 and 1 more T2.. then we come fight.. hahahahahha

or next time i bring baseball bat to the meetup liao.. hahahaha..

or i next time so audition your car.. "accidentally spill water".. HAHAHAHA..

i was lookin at the RE audio.. damm nice.. but too ex.. sian diao man..

really look like brax leh..

haha.. u go and poison him ah.. hahahaha.. tsk tsk.. he got kids leh.. later he SPL in the car.. then not good for kids lor.. hahahahah.. then all cry.. hahaha

Slonez and I did take a look at Re Audio - felt the Brahma was a better choice. Anyway options still open - any recommendations would be welcome and considered [:|]

Just more [dizzy]

BTW you have the website addresses for:

1. Rockford Fosgate Amps; and

2. Re Audio ? [shakehead]

rockford:www.rockfordfosgate.com

www.reaudio.com

heheh.. the adire audio site don have pic leh.. heheh..

aniway.. RE audio damm ex man.. damm sian.. heheh.. and with my amps. looks like the other suttable sub for me to wack is the rockfords lor..

the oz one.. dam tempting.. but i wanna keep my RF..

u wanna go SPL.. mai tu liao.. go for the OZ power series!!! or RE audio MT sub.. or the cerwin vega strokers!!! hahaha.. u get that one... ur car become "boombus" liao. haha

Edited by Headshok

No need BoomBus lah [;)] BangBus good enuf liao [thumbsup]

Anyway for the Re Audio we were looking at the SX or XXX only lah [pirate] Looked at their specs again - the Brahma have lower extension leh [:|]

Max I can spare is abt 1 cubic feet for the enclosure. [:/]

For the Brahma I need about 900w of juice - so looking for amp with that requirement in mind. PPI (but big size leh), Performa (ZD2200, 1500w @2ohms), Rockford, Lightning Audio (Storm X1.2000.1D, 1100 w @2ohms), etc. are in consideration [:/][dizzy][crazy]

Any other recommendations welcome - 2nd hand lobang also can [:)] Hoping to spend max abt $1K for the amp.

Thanks for the web addresses [thumbsup]

Never realized that the Adire Audio got no pics until u mentioned it [:p]

Edited by Kwongwing

1 cub feet ah..

means u playin sealed ah.. 1 woofer ah.. how to SPL like that?

aniway.. for the amp wise.. hmmmm... 900 watts of juice ah.. hmm.. look for the RE audio one.. 1200 watts..

rockford.. for that requirement.. is madness.. damm hard to find amp with that power at a low price..

u can try helix monoblk .. almost bought it last time.. heheh. for rockford.. sure not tat cheap one.. heheh..

I PM u!

I am planning for a sealed box - do not to compete w/ u for SPL lah [laugh]

I am going Beijing end of the month - maybe come back w/ cheong Rockford [:p] or some other chinese amp [;)][bounce1][bounce2]

Anyway the Performa fits my bill for size/price/power. The amp is quite small sized against its power rating unlike the PPIs which r quite big!

Will check out the Helix amps; Re - I think too ex lah [:|]

u goin china ah?

go bring back some neon tubes. haha.. damm cheap.. prob like $5 for small ones.. haha.. mine 36 inch one, water proof and everything, only $12.. haha..

You got things to order just let me know. [;)]

Photos + budget please - I have contacts over there [thumbsup] and vessel coming back end of the month [pirate]

I go quite regularly - end of the month is Company trip which I am extending for a few extra days [cool]

beside brahma, i think JL audio 12W7, DLS sub also can take a look,

for amp, i still like the JL 1000/1, my dream anyway...

can smuggle back for me china chio bu or not? hahaha.. tthen i setup marriage agency marry them out for $$.. then can do more ICE. hahaha..

aniway.. cool cooll.. do enjoy yourself.. ask u. u been to yunnan region?

Thanks for the recommendation [:)] Pocket not that deep lah [:p]

Anyway - JL Audio's sub is apparently more SPL than SQ [:p] and require enclosures that r rather big - [:/] I have limited boot space [:(]

SQ more impt for me - will ask around about the amp though - any idea how much? [confused]