Surbo lost power?

Boyboy

I know the Surbo works for sure. before n after installation have power boost.

a few weeks later, no power liao. cannot "activate" [furious]

i was thinking of charging over to Surbo Heng's and shoving it up his...

just joking, he offers a lifetime warranty (lifetime of the vehicle u installed it in)

just yesterday, I decided to try to fix it myself. According to him, there must be no air leakage after the surbo, and since my surbo is at the entrance, there's plenty of potential for leakage.

so i went over the air pipes n found a 2-3cm hairline crack, fine but deep. took some kitchen sealant and use finger to rub it generously into and around the crack, like how mr Heng did when he was sealing my air intake.

open up air filter cover, lined the circumference of the airbox with sealant. left it to stand for abt an hour or so, then screw back the cover.

Voila! power came back! [thumbsup][thumbsup]

there are many people who say surbo no power. no power immediately after installing? money back gurantee wad, you should have taken it! return that useless thing to the inventor! if initially have power but after awhile it's gone, then something must have gone wrong after installation and it may be fixed.

anyway, it's not the mod for everyone, my power delivery comes in spurts, so it's very jerky when i try to activate. but boy is it fast. and no i am not "conned" because of the jerkiness. either this surbo causes it for my van, or my right foot spastic, or simply no skill. [crazy] . but one thing it does deliver is power in the low mid range to higher mid range. peak power (by butt dyno) dun seem to improve a lot. maybe 5% or so?

if ur surbo lost power, check out the air pipings n anywhere air can leak. even dipstick must be airtight! if not just go back to mr Heng and ask him to sort it out. [;)]

so how does surbo work? gets more air into the engine for combustion?

sure-bo dipstick also must airtight, might as well run the whole engine in a vacuum setup.

Edited by Mits_jc

very basically like tt.

if u are the technical or engineering inclined sort, u listen to Mr Heng explain u will [shakehead] . tt said i am not very technically inclined and i sort of wanted to experiment with it.. so i can either condemn this product or tell its detractors "hey it works".

i believe it has sth to do with backpressure. the inventor cud really use someone who is engineering trained to craft a proper explaination of how it works.

www.surbo.netignore the hyperbole but the effect is there. for only $80 or $140 i consider it quite worth liao. but if u wanna zhng ur car then i must say it may not be very compatible with other mods so u shd give it a miss

Surbo works well for me. In my stock airbox, it did generate sufficient pull at mid range to give me acceleration at 90km/h and above. Took it out recently after I have changed to Simota Carbon Charger and have yet to put it back. Can feel that the mid-range acceleration is lost.

Yes, it is very effective if the seal for the entire air intake system is maintained. [:)]

Edited by Silencedge

I have installed Surbo quite a long time ago and I can't remember the "technique" in fully maximising its use..

Can sort of tell me how? something like step throttle alittle then release a little then throttle again...

yep.. kind of.

for my kangoo the throttle is already quite responsive, as in when i step there is almost no delay in engine revving (naturally like this, not because of surbo). so it is quite easy to activate. i step, maintain, let go a bit and step again. if cannot feel the boost than repeat. but damn jerky la.. haha. usually can get it in first or 2nd round. can also drive normally. no boost, smoother ride.

but if u install some time ago then maybe leaking liao?

i wud liek to install on my dad's camry but it has a "retarded" throttle. so i think activation not so easy. [:/]

Reply to Srixy

but high end shd be more powerful than surbo alone right?

surbo more for daily use. very good for traffic lights. for tracking i dun think it is good. a practical mod i must say. [thumbsup]

Edited by Boyboy

what mods do u have in ur car? how do *u* verify (i'm sure u don't dyno for every little thing)

how u verify is how i verify. im guessing ur butt dyno can tell u something, though it cannot be used as conclusive to say "XX improves power by 6.5% and torque by 8.9%"

i sometimes go sungei tengah to do 0-XX timings. tt is one way. but my launching is inconsistent. so again it's just agar agar.

i just checked out the surbo site. they have dyno readings now, if u believe them. i didn't see the dyno readings before i installed. [:p]

tell me how u feel about the power two week later when u drive.....

then 1 month later take out the surbo and try driving arounf for a month

u may get the hint [:p]

maybe u never read my first post. i suggest u read it carefully.

i have been driving this van for a few mth before the surbo. after tt i can feel increase power.

a few weeks ago, i realised tt the power was gone. not suddenly but kind of gradually.

yesterday i plugged the leaky areas. was prepared tt i may miss some n no improvement. i seem to have gotten them all.

i no need to take out the surbo. just do normal driving, or have surbo leaking, then u can feel the diff between surbo n non-surbo.

is this good enuff? [;)]

anyway, it is [thumbsup] tt u do not first thing come n condemn this product. only those who have tried it are qualified to comment. i can understand ur doubts cos i have heard a lot of comments before i tried it. it was an experiment so to speak and i was prepared also to test out the money back gurantee [sly] if it did not work. now i know tt it works, AND that those negative comments DO have some basis cos of leaking after installation etc etc. if really dun work there is a money back gurantee. just return it dun paiseh. [;)]

if this guy chut stunt and dun honour the guarantee also can post here. then everyone will know.. this forum is for open discussion provided u stand by wad u say [;)]

I know the Surbo works for sure. before n after installation have power boost.

a few weeks later, no power liao. cannot "activate" [furious]

i was thinking of charging over to Surbo Heng's and shoving it up his...

just joking, he offers a lifetime warranty (lifetime of the vehicle u installed it in)

just yesterday, I decided to try to fix it myself. According to him, there must be no air leakage after the surbo, and since my surbo is at the entrance, there's plenty of potential for leakage.

so i went over the air pipes n found a 2-3cm hairline crack, fine but deep. took some kitchen sealant and use finger to rub it generously into and around the crack, like how mr Heng did when he was sealing my air intake.

open up air filter cover, lined the circumference of the airbox with sealant. left it to stand for abt an hour or so, then screw back the cover.

Voila! power came back! [thumbsup][thumbsup]

there are many people who say surbo no power. no power immediately after installing? money back gurantee wad, you should have taken it! return that useless thing to the inventor! if initially have power but after awhile it's gone, then something must have gone wrong after installation and it may be fixed.

anyway, it's not the mod for everyone, my power delivery comes in spurts, so it's very jerky when i try to activate. but boy is it fast. and no i am not "conned" because of the jerkiness. either this surbo causes it for my van, or my right foot spastic, or simply no skill. [crazy] . but one thing it does deliver is power in the low mid range to higher mid range. peak power (by butt dyno) dun seem to improve a lot. maybe 5% or so?

if ur surbo lost power, check out the air pipings n anywhere air can leak. even dipstick must be airtight! if not just go back to mr Heng and ask him to sort it out. [;)]

What can I say? If this "passive" gadget works by weaving in more and smoother air into the engine and it works, then what do you say about those active air-charger like E-RAM and ADM2? The experts here will tell you these things won't work and its purely in the mind. Well, it is a cheap mod but I will spend a bit more and go for Active air-charger at least you can use car battery to generate the airflow.

Regards,

those mods u mentioned i cannot say cos i never try n dun intend to.

when i comment, it's only on stuff i have experienced. if it's sth i heard abt, i will say so. [;)]

anyway, for those mods u mentioned, it will sap power although there might be net gain. for surbo, unless ur air intake is smaller, it shd not sap power at all. not in my case at least, cos my pipings are not so big [sweatdrop]

those mods u mentioned i cannot say cos i never try n dun intend to.

when i comment, it's only on stuff i have experienced. if it's sth i heard abt, i will say so.

anyway, for those mods u mentioned, it will sap power although there might be net gain. for surbo, unless ur air intake is smaller, it shd not sap power at all. not in my case at least, cos my pipings are not so big

======================================

Yalor, that is the thing we're talking about. If there is no active power how to blow sufficient air to the engine? Surbo works by ciriculating turbine into the engine "PASSIVELY". I was kena terlok here, as no one believe that aircharger of any kinds work in giving performance to the car. People here only believe in the turbocharger and supercharger. [:p]

Regards,

this kind of things has benn discus countless times in mcf....

i also spend $$$ to try to get more power for my car....

u name it ,capsule.....etc [lipsrsealed]

my conclusion for more power;

-piggy pig ur ecu

-change engine

-turbocharge

-super charge

while the rest is just bull s h i t

no offend

well in the end is ur $$$ not my.......

have fun driving [thumbsup]

Ya, to each his own. At the end of the day, it's still the person who spends the money, the person driving the car who can really comment on the effectiveness of his gadget. Even if it's only as good as to give the butt-feel, the happiness he gets may be worth more than the money spent. [laugh]

Guess those who have installed Surbo and managed to get it to work to their benefits are happy with their 'budget' mod and hence are here to share. So whoever is interested and wish to find out more should do so, and then decide based on their own deduction whether or not the theory behind the device works lor... [sweatdrop][;)]

depends on what you want?

low end improvement, yes

mid to high end, bad to worse

saw a website (cant remember where) which calculated the amount of vacumn , a 1.6l engine generates when its at different rpms.

it shows the mathematics equations and results that a 1.6l engine creates XXX amount of vacumn (ablity to suck air) that at around 2000+ rpms, the ability for the engine to suck air equals/matches most popular ELECTIRC AIR CHARGES that runs at 12v.

Thus the result shows that it begins to RESTRICT (Hinder the ability) of the engine to continue sucking air at higher rpms. The restriction varies from low (at mid rpms) to very high (at high rpms)

if you're free, go search the website in google. cant remember where i saw it.